? 108 at +3!!!! Had a little scare but ok now

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Misterbeesmom, Dec 20, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Misterbeesmom

    Misterbeesmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2016
    folks who know me know how messed up our bg has been
    Just checked him for the heck of it. Twice verified 99 and 108
    This explains a lot!
    Had booked vet appt coming up in 45 minutes due to his recent behavior
    Now i dont know what to do
    And fear of hypo
    Holy ****!

    @Kris & Teasel
     
    Last edited: Dec 20, 2016
  2. Misterbeesmom

    Misterbeesmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2016
    Eating high carb wet food right now....and so is mr b haha nervous laugh
     
  3. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    Put an icon in front of ur thread to draw quick attention
     
    Critter Mom likes this.
  4. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    I'm here, Jen.

    Quick safety check: Vetsulin and Relion meter: is this correct?

    .
     
    Misterbeesmom likes this.
  5. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Looking at spreadsheet. BRB ...
     
  6. Misterbeesmom

    Misterbeesmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2016
    Human meter relion confirm
    Bcp pzi
     
  7. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    FYI - 108 is safe number-wise on both human and pet meters. (ETA - safe at the moment - you need to test again; see below.)

    It's quite a drop from AMPS 348 to 108 (240 points).

    How is MisterB? Anything odd? Any lethargy before you tested?

    .
     
  8. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Glad I checked.

    I don't really know anything about BCP PZI, Jen.

    When is the typical nadir period?

    .
     
  9. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    NB: TEST BG AT 15 MINUTES AFTER MEAL WAS FINISHED then please post result. (Sorry for the full caps.)

    .
     
  10. Misterbeesmom

    Misterbeesmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2016
    My concern is his nadir is usually further out, what if keeps dropping. This is new territory.

    He has been acting odd for a few days. Now i wonder if this had been going on, looking like bouncing of too little insulin when really it was too much.

    No lethargy. He has been sleepless and restless. Lots of drinking and peeing.
     
  11. Misterbeesmom

    Misterbeesmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2016
    Its like prozinc but bovine
    +6 nadir so why i'm worried
    Guess i'll keep vet appt though now i think its moot, but just in case hypo. Have to leave in 15 mins if keeping appt.
     
  12. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Can you test his BG straight away and post the result here, please. (Will help me to know what to suggest about safety for the vet trip.)


    .
     
  13. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Also can you let me know what the travel time to the vet is likely to be.

    .
     
  14. Misterbeesmom

    Misterbeesmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2016
    Staying home unless e need to rush over. I cancelled. Will test in a minute....
     
  15. Misterbeesmom

    Misterbeesmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2016
  16. Misterbeesmom

    Misterbeesmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2016
    Fructosamine tests are useless. Just another example of that fact. Grumbling to myself
     
    MrWorfMen's Mom likes this.
  17. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Still in the safe range.

    How much did MisterB eat of the high carb food. Was it a gravy food? Also, the 98 was at +???.

    .
     
  18. Misterbeesmom

    Misterbeesmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2016
    A tablespoon
    98 +10
    Not gravy. Hills j/d
     
  19. Misterbeesmom

    Misterbeesmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2016
    Removed 911 status
     
    Critter Mom likes this.
  20. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Grumble away. They're helpful for confirming initial Dx because there's no data or for people who don't test. For the likes of us they're useless. It is maddening as frell that some vets will give more weight to a fructosamine test than real-time data and clinical signs. :mad:

    .
     
  21. Misterbeesmom

    Misterbeesmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2016
    Thanks for being here, mogs
     
    MiCo and Critter Mom like this.
  22. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014


    AMPS 348 (fed)
    AM+3 - 108 (fed tbsp high carb/no gravy wet food - Hill's j/d)
    AM+3 hrs 10 mins - 98

    Is the above correct?

    .
     
  23. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Glad I can help a little. (((Jen)))
    .
     
    Misterbeesmom likes this.
  24. Misterbeesmom

    Misterbeesmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2016
    The 98 is more like +3 1/2
    All else correct

    Also, tested twice at +3 when i first got 99 then 108, so the 98 doesnt look like he's going down at this point.

    He's drinking so much.

    Testing ....
     
  25. Misterbeesmom

    Misterbeesmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2016
    AM +4 hrs 99 (not fed)
     
    Last edited: Dec 20, 2016
  26. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Thanks, Jen.

    Story so far:

    AMPS 348 (fed)
    AM+3.00 - 108 (fed tbsp high carb/no gravy wet food - Hill's j/d)
    AM+3.50 - 98 (not fed)

    Test again at +3.75, Jen. If he's still in the safe range or above don't give any more food for the time being. If he's at 50 or lower give a little drop of honey or karo (don't think he will be but just being belt 'n' braces here!)

    Post the result as soon as you can.

    I need to take a 'comfort break', Jen. :oops: Won't be long. I should be back by the time you've done the next test.

    :bighug:

    .
     
    Last edited: Dec 20, 2016
    Misterbeesmom likes this.
  27. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Jen, to help me keep track of when the BG tests are done could you give them to me relative to the dose time, please?

    (Helps me and other readers to keep track of how far along MisterBee is in the cycle.)

    Back soonest.

    :bighug:
     
  28. Misterbeesmom

    Misterbeesmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2016
    Thank u i think we're going to be ok. Just caught me by surprise and i needed to make a decison about whether or not to keep vet appt at the same time i realized this has probably been happening but i didnt know it. I've been up since 2a so i'm jusst about wiped.

    The question for tonight is what dose to give.
     
  29. Misterbeesmom

    Misterbeesmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2016
    I apologize i screwed that up and fixed it.
     
  30. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Pure finest! (And no need to apologise! :) :bighug: )

    Story so far:

    AMPS 348 (fed)
    AM+3.00 - 108 (fed tbsp high carb/no gravy wet food - Hill's j/d)
    AM+3.50 - 98 (not fed)
    AM+4.00 - 99 (not fed)

    .
     
    Misterbeesmom likes this.
  31. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    I know that feeling very well indeed. (((Jen)))

    Looks like MisterBee might surf for you.

    I suggest going with his nibs' regular feeding schedule and testing at 30 minute intervals for the next few tests. If numbers dip a little give some of his regular food (unless he starts heading for the 50s in which case maybe give a little more of the high carb and honey/karo if needed). Also keep an eye on his clinical signs (including whether he may show signs of feeling better in himself.)

    Also, please give your boy a big fuss from me. I have a big soft spot for him. :) (((MisterBee)))

    .
     
    Misterbeesmom likes this.
  32. Misterbeesmom

    Misterbeesmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2016
    AM 4.25 - 137 (not fed)
     
  33. Misterbeesmom

    Misterbeesmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2016
    Will do! Thank you again. I'll give the little goober a hug from you. :bighug:
    He liked that high carb food, "more of that please" he says
     
    Critter Mom likes this.
  34. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Story so far:

    AMPS 348 (fed)
    AM+3.00 - 108 (fed tbsp high carb/no gravy wet food - Hill's j/d)
    AM+3.50 - 98 (not fed)
    AM+4.00 - 99 (not fed)
    AM+4.25 - 137 (not fed)

    Looks like the high carb is kicking in now, Jen. I suggest testing at +5 and feeding as normal with MisterBee's regular food. If all OK do hourly tests till he's safely past nadir.

    I'm sorry I can't help on the dosing side of things. I suggest posting in the Prozinc/PZI group for input.

    Are you OK going forward or do you still need some company?


    .
     
    Misterbeesmom likes this.
  35. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    This is picture framer slang for small, stray lumps of adhesive! :D

    .
     
    Misterbeesmom likes this.
  36. Misterbeesmom

    Misterbeesmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2016
    LOL well he is a big lump and he was a stray who stuck on me so it fits! :p:smuggrin:

    We're good. Thanks again for your help. I'm not worried. Posted in pz forum for dosing help. Thanks again seriously wouldve been a headcase without your presence.
     
  37. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Excellent stuff!

    Know the feeling! :nailbiting:

    I will be eternally grateful to all the members who've helped myself and Saoirse when I've been frightened out of my tiny mind. :)

    Hope you get good help in PZI forum for tonight. Take good care in the meantime.

    :bighug::bighug::bighug:


    Mogs
    .
     
    Misterbeesmom likes this.
  38. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Misterbeesmom likes this.
  39. Misterbeesmom

    Misterbeesmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2016
    I had emailed my vet all about what happened this morning, and that i think his weird behaviors were a result of him going too low/or perceived as too low, and bouncing back up. Somogyi or stored glucose dumping whatever you want to call it.

    She wrote back saying 99 is a normal number and that he shouldnt be spacey.o_O

    Talk about missing my point entirely! The issue isnt that 99 is a bad number, be ause indeed it isnt. The issue is that he went down so fast before nadir, potentially would have and has been going even lower than that, and has probably been doing that for a while, messing him all up.

    My head hurts.:banghead:

    He is finally having a good restful snooze on the chair i was using and the scarf i was wearing, the little stinker. He hasnt napped this well in days. Thankful for todays revelation!
     
    Last edited: Dec 20, 2016
    Critter Mom likes this.
  40. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    I posted on your other thread, Jen. You KNOW he was spacey and that's what counts. Just the rapid drop in BG could have done that. I think he's in a dose transition phase and it can be volatile. You have to stay very systematic in your approach, not too many changes too soon, hold doses, test a lot, etc.
     
    Misterbeesmom likes this.
  41. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    I agree with Kris, Jen. You know your cat. I also agree about the sort of effect a rapid drop in BG may have.

    For info, Saoirse only had one symptomatic hypo. It occurred after a fast, really steep drop in BG level - and her BG was still in the normal range (4.3/77 Alphatrak - about 100mg/dL on a human meter).

    :cat:

    (((MisterBee)))


    Mogs
    .
     
    Misterbeesmom and Kris & Teasel like this.
  42. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Just a thought. I've been learning recently that hyperT speeds up metabolic rate. Is it possible that MisterBee metabolises his insulin very quickly? If yes, it could mean he hits nadir early in general, not just today. It might be a good idea to check him earlier in the cycle from now on.


    Mogs
    .
     
    Misterbeesmom likes this.
  43. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Jen,

    Might be an idea to get a before bed check on MisterBee tonight.


    Mogs
    .
     
    Misterbeesmom likes this.
  44. Misterbeesmom

    Misterbeesmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2016
    There's an idea, i hadnt thought of that and hey big surprise the vet didnt either.
    Will be keeping closer eye on him. Thnx!
     
    Critter Mom likes this.
  45. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    I also wonder if the doses are lasting a bit longer so there's a bit of overlap (=higher dose) early in the cycle which can set him up to bounce by the end of the cycle. Rinse and repeat.
     
  46. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    FYI.... BCP PZI if I remember correctly from researching it ages ago, is more like ProZinc in that it's not as prone to rapid early drops and has longer duration than Vetsulin but it also can have a bit of a "depot" like effect into the next cycle even though it's not a depot insulin so Kris's speculation may be/likely is spot on. That could well explain what went on today!
     
  47. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
  48. Olive & Paula

    Olive & Paula Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    A test before bed is always a good idea so you know he will be safe overnight. I learned the hard way.
     
  49. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    A before bed test saved Saoirse's life, too.
     
    Misterbeesmom likes this.
  50. Callie & Patches

    Callie & Patches Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2016
    I don't sleep without a before bed test. I usually take a sleeping pill, but if Callie's BG is on the low side, I skip it and set my alarm for 1am for a look see.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page