? 11/06/2019 Mowgli AMPS 239 +1 265 +11 254 PMPS 306 Dosecrease question

AmandaE

Member Since 2019
10/30/2019

Hello!

long time no post! It’s been hard since I can’t really check in at work as much ;)

Mowgli has been doing good BG wise. He’s having high ends on his cycles but good mid cycle numbers. I’ve made an appointment at the vet on the 20th to follow up about his diabetes and to check up on a couple other things: his excessive grooming on his belly and he has been puking up just Brown bile from time to time. The combo of these two things have me nervous he might have a blockage or something wrong with his stomach. He is still showing the 5 Ps so I decided not to take him to emerg. It’s so annoying how long it takes to get an appointment in this town.

Nyx finished her metacam and seems to be doing better. She has improved a lot but I still notice a mild limp from time to time... not persistently though. She’s basically feral at the vet so I’m not going to take her back unless I notice her limp getting worse again.

Nothing else really new! It’s 19F here But feels like 10 with the windchill. So. Cold. Hope everyone else is keeping warm ;)
 
Sorry you have to wait to long for the vet visit. I hope you can get some answers. Nice greens last night. I'm glad Nyx is doing better.
 
Sorry you have to wait to long for the vet visit. I hope you can get some answers. Nice greens last night. I'm glad Nyx is doing better.
Thanks Carla! The vet wait is brutal, you can bring them in on the day you're having a problem but you get a huge emergency fee... I think he's ok so we will wait the couple weeks to get in ;)
 
Nice to see y’all! That’s terrible that the wait is so long for the vet. I can get my fur kids in the same day if they’re sick and usually within 2 days for anything else. Glad Mowgli and Nyx are doing well. Stay warm!!!
 
Nice to see y’all! That’s terrible that the wait is so long for the vet. I can get my fur kids in the same day if they’re sick and usually within 2 days for anything else. Glad Mowgli and Nyx are doing well. Stay warm!!!
Thanks Jill! it really is terrible! its a small comfort that at least you can get in if its an emergency but still!

Im currently cuddled in max blankets considering ordering a nice big tea from Rossy-b'y so I don't have to leave my cocoon :P
 
Tonight I gave Mowgli an increase of 0.25u for a total of 1.5u. I made my decision based on the statement in the 'Hold the dose' section of the TR sticky that states:
  • Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
    • if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
    • when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
Mowgli had been on 1u for 13 cycles, with the last low below 50 happening 8 cycles ago. I'm not sure if I did the right thing. When I read this line earlier today I thought for sure Mowgli was due for an increase but now considering the greens we have been having do you think I was being hasty? Just want to make sure that I understand this part of holding and increasing properly. I still definitely haven't built a comfort level around TR yet! hopefully a little common sense will come with it soon ;)

Thanks for any insight
 
Back
Top