11/08 - Tyler | AMPS 100 | +2: 75 | PMPS 104 | +2: 77 | End of last pen

Status
Not open for further replies.

Brian & Tyler

Member Since 2014
10/07's Embarrassing Condo

Hello all. So, I am near out of my last pen, and I need to get more. He's so close, I feel just like riding it out and not getting more, but I don't think I can do that to him! I don't think he's ready. But I feel that the more experienced users should scold me on my lack of regular posting and will point us in the right direction!

I found out why I've been feeling depressed, unmotivated and fatigued lately. Had blood work done and found that I have hypothyroidism; yay! The meds haven't really changed a whole lot except the first week I had more energy and motivation, but then it kinda faded away. I read that it can take up to a year or more to get on the right dosage. We'll see on my follow up visit.

Anyway, back to the real issue at hand. I have less than 10.0 units left, and even though he's on 0.01 units per dose, I still draw a tad more than I need to get the air out. I can't seem to take a dose from pen without air. Probably because I am using the shortest needle? I push the plunger in as hard as I possibly can before inserting into the pen.

So what are the thoughts? Is he close enough to see how an OTJ trial goes, or should I get another pen? We all know it's expensive, so I thought I would check with the world's finest kitty caretakers.

- B
 
Hey Brian!! Nice to see you and Tyler!!

I think you're right that he seems to not quite be ready to throw away the insulin just yet....how old is your current insulin?

I think with the number of blue PS's, it's better to plan on keeping him where he is a little longer though

Sorry to hear about the hypothyroid too but at least you have a good reason for feeling the way you have! And yes, it can take quite awhile to get the dose right. I remember they put me on thyroid and I felt better for about 7-10 days too and then blahhhhhh

Hope you and Tyler are doing well otherwise and your life has settled down to some kind of normal routine!!
 
How old is your current insulin?

The pen is rather new, purchased in April of this year. It expires in 2018. But it's almost gone!! I'll be purchasing a new one!

Good to talk to you Chris. You're the first person to ever reply to my first post, and invited me to the tight regulation board! Always a big help and positive influence. Thanks for that!

B
 
The pen is rather new, purchased in April of this year

That's still 7+ months....since he's on such a tiny dose, it lasted that long but it may be running out of poop at this point....even pens go bad after a certain length of time once they're opened

Good to talk to you Chris. You're the first person to ever reply to my first post, and invited me to the tight regulation board!

Awwww...thanks!! I remember your first post too!! You and Tyler have come a long way since then!!
 
I don't think he's ready either. He's got lots of blue tests in there . . . I just pulled up this post for someone else, maybe it will help you.

Also the fact that he was in remission and has come out is an important factor. Often people will make it harder for a kitty to start a second OTJ trial because they are not as easy to get into remission once they are a long-term diabetic. I wouldn't rush it, but would keep him on insulin for now.
 
I agree with Chris and Julie. Sorry, 'cause I know you were hoping to hear otherwise. I also know you didn't really expect to get your wish! ;)

I am sure you want a strong remission, if Tyler is indeed going to have another crack at it, so we need to do everything to make sure that happens. I think the investment will be well worth it.

Sorry about your diagnosis, but as the others said, at least you know what's going on. I hope they get your meds adjusted properly soon so you start feeling better. With your schedule, the last thing you need is low energy!

 
Brian! About time you posted! How's your new meter working? I figured out that mine (same kind) starts being stupid when it's battery is low...GRRR!

Unfortunately I must agree with Chris, Julie and Tricia - I don't think Mr. Cutie is quite close enough to trying OTJ yet. :(
 
I'm working on getting a new pen. Hopefully I can get one before I run out.

Thanks for all the information! I knew he wasn't ready, just needed to get confirmation!

B
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top