11/1 Rosie AMPS 184 +5 120

Status
Not open for further replies.

Carol in Chicago

Member Since 2017
Rosie is asking for an increase. I'll plan to do that tomorrow unless something changes.

Yesterday was tough. I bought Halloween candy, but didn't buy Kleenex. I can usually prepare for full moon parties, but I didn't know Halloween would be so emotional. Very tough for Michelle and Beenie. I want to offer strength but am reminded of a poem that mentions the grace of a woman vs the grief of a child. I'm still that child clutching my Kleenex. Maybe there is some comfort knowing we are all crying together.

Yesterday.
 
Good morning Carol,
some comfort knowing we are all crying together.
we are..it feels empty or darker without them on today..:(

Maybe Rosie's numbers are up due to infection or is it over? Sorry I missed that info. If she is still on AB maybe wait until she is off, confirmed infection free and then think about increase? You still got nice 81 last night... And I see that WBC is elevated on 10/27...

I hope Rosie recovers and get back to the lagoon soon!
 
Maybe Rosie's numbers are up due to infection or is it over? Sorry I missed that info. If she is still on AB maybe wait until she is off, confirmed infection free and then think about increase? You still got nice 81 last night... And I see that WBC is elevated on 10/27...

I hope Rosie recovers and get back to the lagoon soon!

Thanks @Tanya and Ducia! Rosie will have repeat blood work next week to check progress on WBC and kidney values. That will be 1 week on ABs and SQs. She is feeling better and eating more. It would be good to have progress validated in the blood work numbers. Just got off the phone with the vet. An internist has been called in to consult because WBC is high but the C&S was negative. While unrelated to the infection question, the internist did raise the issue that her blood sugar is too low (IDEXX 86 at nadir) with another problem being no sugar in her urine! :eek:

I have been working so hard to get her blood sugar low and eliminate sugar in her urine! Now they want me to reduce insulin dose. o_O The compromise was I won't be too aggressive in making increases. :rolleyes:
 
An internist has been called in to consult because WBC is high but the C&S was negative. While unrelated to the infection question, the internist did raise the issue that her blood sugar is too low (IDEXX 86 at nadir) with another problem being no sugar in her urine!
:eek: WHAT?
Maybe better to discuss the LABS with Marje... I am sure the internists had good reasons for such concern but you know how often they hold odd ideas too seriously :rolleyes:. The IM lady we went to see sincerely believed that cats are not designed to consume raw whilst "so many wonderful options are commercially available" and that it is good for Ducia to be around 200 all the time:rolleyes::rolleyes:..:joyful:

Good to see Rosie's in good numbers on the reduced dose - I hope when the infection is cleared she will keep up and won't require any increases!
 
:eek: WHAT?
Maybe better to discuss the LABS with Marje...

Yes. Absolutely. I value and appreciate her expertise. I wanted to get a retest before I imposed because Rosie was dehydrated and that can throw off several values. Let me see what the retest next week shows and we can take it from there.

I want to know more about raw because the vet said there are no low phosphorus foods suitable for a diabetic. o_O
 
I want to know more about raw because the vet said there are no low phosphorus foods suitable for a diabetic.
Tiki Cat is low P and 0% carbs.
It's high on proteins so may not be suitable for certain stage of kidney decease but Rosie doesn't have it, right
Marje also fed raw so I think she'd be the best to talk the whole thing over with.
It seems that all vet's nutrition info comes from manufacturers and their sale reps...:rolleyes:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top