11/10 Boomer AMPS 122 +2 113 +3 101 +6 85 PMPS 92 not eating well, reduced dose

Judy and Boomer

Member Since 2014
Yesterday
Good morning!
AMPS 122 shooting 2.5u

Boomer's tummy is still upset and periodically I'm having trouble getting him to eat. He's having several small very wet poops instead of his normal one poop each day. What can I do to ease his tummy upset? I have some Slippery elm which I think I bought for Allen; they are 400mg capsules. Would this be good to give to Boomer and, if so, how much? I'm assuming I mix it with his food so I'm not sure I'll even be able to get it into him. Is there something else I can give him?
 
Hi Judy. I’m sorry about Boomer’s tummy. Glad you gave the slippery elm. Do you have George’s Aloe Vera Juice? If so mix 1/4 tsp of slippery elm into 1/2 tsp of the Aloe Vera juice. It will be thick. Let it set up for a few seconds and roll it into a ball. If you think you can get it onto the roof of his mouth do it that way. Otherwise , just mix it into his food. If you don’t have AVJ , just use water to mix the SEB in.

Or you can do S. boularrdi. mixed into his food , 1/2 capsule.
 
Hi Judy. I’m sorry about Boomer’s tummy. Glad you gave the slippery elm. Do you have George’s Aloe Vera Juice? If so mix 1/4 tsp of slippery elm into 1/2 tsp of the Aloe Vera juice. It will be thick. Let it set up for a few seconds and roll it into a ball. If you think you can get it onto the roof of his mouth do it that way. Otherwise , just mix it into his food. If you don’t have AVJ , just use water to mix the SEB in.

Or you can do S. boularrdi. mixed into his food , 1/2 capsule.
Hi Bobbie. I haven't given the slippery elm yet; had no idea how much to give! So I can put 1/4 tsp in his food?
 
I believe you need to mix the SEB with water or aloe vera juice. You shouldn't just dump the capsule into his food. If you opt for S. boulardii, I'd start with 1/4 of a capsule and work your way up to 1/2 a capsule. Too much of a probiotic can cause some GI cramping.

Has anything changed with Boomer's diet? Any chance there was a change in the formulation of any of your usual foods? You might want to try a day of baby food. It's very easy on the tummy.
 
I believe you need to mix the SEB with water or aloe vera juice. You shouldn't just dump the capsule into his food. If you opt for S. boulardii, I'd start with 1/4 of a capsule and work your way up to 1/2 a capsule. Too much of a probiotic can cause some GI cramping.

Has anything changed with Boomer's diet? Any chance there was a change in the formulation of any of your usual foods? You might want to try a day of baby food. It's very easy on the tummy.
Thanks Sienne. So 1/4 tsp or 1/4 capsule (the capsule is 400mg)? And mix it with water and then mix it into his food?
 
I mix a half of a cap of SEB & add enough water so I can put it into a feeding syringe it's only about a teaspoon. It's quick to squirt it into their mouth.
My cats will not eat their food if I add anything to it. Hope the SEB works for Boomer.

images
 
+6 85
A few minutes ago I gave Boomer his first dose of slippery elm. I made a slurry then put some on the end of my finger and put it in his mouth. I started with a small amount (might be 1/8 tsp). @Bobbie And Bubba how often do I give it?

Oh and he just ate his +6....well most of it. Too bad I didn't write down what foods I put in his auto feeder today because I have no idea what it was he just ate. :banghead::blackeye::facepalm::rolleyes:
 
I give a maintenance dose daily to Bubba of the same proportions you mixed twice a day, every day. I would think sense he is having issues that you could safely do it every few hours today and until the diarrhea is gone.


The folks at Foodfurlife told me the best is to give it right after he has diarrhea so it can get into his empty colon and coat it.
 
I give a maintenance dose daily to Bubba of the same proportions you mixed twice a day, every day. I would think sense he is having issues that you could safely do it every few hours today and until the diarrhea is gone.


The folks at Foodfurlife told me the best is to give it right after he has diarrhea so it can get into his empty colon and coat it.
Ok thanks Bobbie!
 
PMPS 92
Once again I'm having a hard time getting him to eat; he ate just a wee bit. So I'm shooting only 1.5 again. He certainly doesn't appear nauseous. idk. He did have a small poop around +10ish and it was firmer than most poops lately and I gave him a bit more slippery elm right after.
 
PMPS 92
Once again I'm having a hard time getting him to eat; he ate just a wee bit. So I'm shooting only 1.5 again. He certainly doesn't appear nauseous. idk. He did have a small poop around +10ish and it was firmer than most poops lately and I gave him a bit more slippery elm right after.
Hopefully that SEB after the loose pop will help. Poor Boomer. Sending eating vines and firmer poop vines.

I would try the all meat baby food. It’s bland and easier to digest. Don’t worry about it not being a complete meal. An adult cat can go a lot longer than a kitten without unsupported food and it’s actually a good thing to be that bland while there is GI issues.
 
Hopefully that SEB after the loose pop will help. Poor Boomer. Sending eating vines and firmer poop vines.

I would try the all meat baby food. It’s bland and easier to digest. Don’t worry about it not being a complete meal. An adult cat can go a lot longer than a kitten without unsupported food and it’s actually a good thing to be that bland while there is GI issues.
Thanks Bobbie, I may try that tomorrow. I really don't want whether it's that he's not feeling well or whether he's being Mr Fussypants. Or a combination of both.
 
Back
Top