11/12 Jenn'sCrew Shadow is OTJ

Status
Not open for further replies.

JenniferF

Member Since 2014
last thread

Cassius- AMPS 172 I have a hard time "fattening" the dose because I feel like that's what I give them already, or maybe I just don't visually understand what "fattening" the dose means? I increased before I read the thread :(

Abby AMPS 324 - She has NOT been tested for IAA/acro. She is a rescue cat that I am fostering so it's not my decision to make. I would love to get a work up done on her on my dime but I just spend $3000 on a few of my cats the past 3 weeks so I really don't have the extra to work her up right now. I had already mentioned it to the rescue vet and she disagreed (that was when she was on 6u) and now that she's going so low I'm not so sure she wouldn't just say she's a high dose cat.

Rose AMPS 78 - The dental I thought went well and it's nice to see her so green but something is still bothering her. The vet had said it looked like stomatitis and she's acting like it could be. Any food she eats bothers her mouth. They gave her covenia (she is a nightmare so I'm not sure what I will do if I have to medicate her) so I have been hesitant to give anything else but Monday I will call and see what I can do. I don't feel like it's "part of the recovery" more like the dental was not enough to fix her issue.

Tigger: AMPS 125 I was thinking the 0.75u is not enough. I know someone in the last post suggested going back to 1u. I might do that?

Shadow AMBG 103. scared me for a second there on his DAY 15 OTJ but tonight he was 77! He was much nicer when his BG was high and he wasn't feeling well. He's on a mission to break out of our house, he actually did a few weeks ago. Right out of the window the AC unit was in.


Oreo AMPS 103- Can I possible have another OTJ kittie??? How many more days before I can try him with no insulin?

Mikey AMPS 306- This dental really did him in. He is just today looking a little better but his third eyelid is covering most of his left eye. I feel like it's drying the eye out. Vet said to leave it alone. Should I increase him to 1u?
 
No dose advice, but yay foe Shadow :otj:!!!
Gussie throws low blue BG in the morning and at nite pretty regularly and then drops into low numbers, sometimes even as low as 55 by +3 or 4. Freaks me out too but I'm learning to just roll with those blue numbers!
Congratulations again!
Vines for your other Kits, especially Mikey:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Oreo - I would give him 7 days in all green.
Sending healing vines to Mikey and Oreo and Rose.
Congratulations Shadow! And behave yourself, please :)
 
Congratulations to Shadow. :otj::otj::otj::otj::otj::otj::otj:
How exciting with Oreo.
Tigger - Since you're not seeing any green, I think it's safe to increase his dose back to 1.0 units, unless you see green today.
Cassius - Do you use calipers? They were a big help to me with fattening doses.
Sending prayers for Mikey and Rose.
 
Happy OTJ Shadow!!! So exciting!

Jenn, I am amazed at how you can take care of all your kitties. Thank you for loving them so much! I love watching your videos on FB and it is amazing to see PP getting stronger!
 
Congratulations to Shadow. :otj::otj::otj::otj::otj::otj::otj:
How exciting with Oreo.
Tigger - Since you're not seeing any green, I think it's safe to increase his dose back to 1.0 units, unless you see green today.
Cassius - Do you use calipers? They were a big help to me with fattening doses.
Sending prayers for Mikey and Rose.
What are calipers?
 
Happy OTJ Shadow!!! So exciting!

Jenn, I am amazed at how you can take care of all your kitties. Thank you for loving them so much! I love watching your videos on FB and it is amazing to see PP getting stronger!
That's so cool you found us on FB! I love PP he is just so awesome! Thanks for following and enjoying them as much as I do!
 
I'm so happy you've got your first one :otj: concatulations to you and Shadow, hopefully with Oreo to follow soon :cat:

Poor Mikey :( if he were mine I would go ahead and increase. Hopefully he heads straight back down again when his jaw starts healing.

Last couple of days aren't in for Tigger but if you haven't seen any green yet I would increase him too.

Pity they didn't take all of Rose's teeth if she has stomatitis, that is your best chance of a permanent fix.
 
I'm so happy you've got your first one :otj: concatulations to you and Shadow, hopefully with Oreo to follow soon :cat:

Poor Mikey :( if he were mine I would go ahead and increase. Hopefully he heads straight back down again when his jaw starts healing.

Last couple of days aren't in for Tigger but if you haven't seen any green yet I would increase him too.

Pity they didn't take all of Rose's teeth if she has stomatitis, that is your best chance of a permanent fix.
I think the vet wasn't 100% sure about Rose. I'm sure it will lead to that but I have 2 others with stomatitis and it took almost 8 years before all one's teeth needed to come out. The other still has the majority of hers in and is ok for the most part. I just started her on zyrtec which the FB stomatitis group recommended. The vets that I've gone to in my area are not keen on taking the teeth out. Not sure why.
 
Marje has a very good post on dosing with calipers: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dosing-with-calipers-updated-w-videos.79851/
I don't know how I could ever draw up an accurate dose without calipers.

Congrats to Shadow!! :otj::otj::otj:

Lots of vines for Mikey and Rose, hugs for you, and scritches for all the kitties,

Ella & Rusty
Maybe because it's so late but I will have to watch the caliper video another time. Right now with a few sick cats and the 2 going OTJ and Abby all over the place I don't know if I could add the calipers into the mix. I'll have to think about it and get used to the idea.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top