11/12 Ming PMPS=331, +1=301, +2=202, +3=189, +4=205 Uncertain dose tonight

Crista & Ming

Member Since 2018
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...er-or-reduced-dose-for-family-members.206310/

PMPS=331

My mom was giving him insulin but he bit her and ran away with the needle stuck in him. What was left in the needle was around 4.5 units. He usually gets 6.25 units. I got home within 10 minutes and gave him the rest of his insulin (drew a new one with the same 4.5 dose). She didn’t press down before he ran away so I suspect either some of it went inside him or it squirted out when it came off of him.

I hope I did the right thing. What do you all think? I’m able to monitor him tonight so that’s a positive.
 
It's really not a good idea to try to guess how much went in and try to reshoot. It's better to just call it a furshot and try again at the next shot time.

But that being said, I'd get a +2 and see if it gives us any idea what he might be up to tonight
 
Okay got it! Thanks. I’ll be testing quite a bit tonight anyway.

I had doubts and worried too that guessing is a bad idea but what’s done is done. Next time, I won’t shoot and just let it be a fur shot.
 
Crista, Chris has given great advice . She is one of the pros here on the board and knows what she’s advising .So glad to see her response to you . Hope work went ok today with a minimum of unasked for comments from co workers :bighug:
 
Crista, Chris has given great advice . She is one of the pros here on the board and knows what she’s advising .So glad to see her response to you . Hope work went ok today with a minimum of unasked for comments from co workers :bighug:

Of course! If only I had asked before I shot haha :)

Yes, work was actually very good. I just answered with "Ming is doing good" and didn't get any unsolicited advice :) Thanks for thinking of me!
 
+2 = 202

I think this might become a cycle I'll have to guide with food. I will test again in an hour.

I was actually expecting him to drop despite what happened during dose time so I'm not surprised.
 
+3 = 189

No one can monitor after Ming’s +2 tomorrow AM. So I hope... all goes well. I may just ask my mom to leave a little bit of HC food just in case. We just don’t have enough data or experience to predict what he’s like when he’s actually low and flat.

Although I do hope Ming becomes low and flat this cycle. It would be great :)
 
Has Ming reacted to the shot before? Just wondering why he bit your mom and ran away. And whether it's got anything to do with the Lantus sting. :( As for skipping if something happens like this in the future, the one benefit of a larger depot is that it's more forgiving of skips or reduced doses.

Paws crossed for a nice surf tonight.
 
Has Ming reacted to the shot before? Just wondering why he bit your mom and ran away. And whether it's got anything to do with the Lantus sting. :( As for skipping if something happens like this in the future, the one benefit of a larger depot is that it's more forgiving of skips or reduced doses.

Paws crossed for a nice surf tonight.

He usually yelps when I stick the needle in. My mom was wondering the same thing: if the Lantus is stinging him. When I give him his next few doses, I'll be more observant of his reaction.

Otherwise... I'll have to watch how my mom gives insulin the next time I'm able to. Maybe something she's doing is not making Ming happy if it's not the Lantus. His "bites" are not hard bites. They're more like warning bites and he does that whenever we pet him for too long or bother him when he doesn't want to be bothered. He doesn't swipe first. He bites first! :rolleyes:

Also Wendy, I was wondering, since you mentioned that a larger depot is more forgiving of skips or reduced doses (which is GREAT to know!! I'm glad :) ), I was wondering in the event that if Ming produces a low PS number that makes family members uncomfortable to shoot and I'm not available and they don't have the time to wait around, what are our options? Is it better to just skip the shot or give a reduced shot? How much of a reduction is okay?
 
Also Wendy, I was wondering, since you mentioned that a larger depot is more forgiving of skips or reduced doses (which is GREAT to know!! I'm glad :) ), I was wondering in the event that if Ming produces a low PS number that makes family members uncomfortable to shoot and I'm not available and they don't have the time to wait around, what are our options? Is it better to just skip the shot or give a reduced shot? How much of a reduction is okay?
Replying here since I don't see a post for today yet. I know they are later when you are working day shift.

Until you gather more data, a skip might be better in the situation you describe. Though of course, the definition of "low" preshot is important. Even if you give some insulin, the depot means that the first part of a cycle can play out as if you gave a full dose. Once you have enough data to learn his patterns better, and with the help of food left out, you'll feel more comfortable shooting low and not being able to monitor. Data on what happens with low preshots is key. For example, if he's going down into preshot vs. on his way up, that may change how the cycle plays out. I always looked at a couple cycles before the current one to see if I could see patterns.
 
Back
Top