11/15 Maggie PMPS=90, +2=42, +2.5=34, +3=42, +3.5=46, +4=53, +4.5=63, +5=70, +6=68

Status
Not open for further replies.

Alicia & Maggie (GA)

Member Since 2017
Have you tried night lights or anything? Is it a can see the box thing or doesn't want to use it problem? Could you add a new box to your room or somewhere easy for her to get to at night and remove it during the day? I know that's a pain, just wondering if it would help. We use the litter robot and it has a light that comes on when it's dark enough.
 
Have you tried night lights or anything? Is it a can see the box thing or doesn't want to use it problem? Could you add a new box to your room or somewhere easy for her to get to at night and remove it during the day? I know that's a pain, just wondering if it would help. We use the litter robot and it has a light that comes on when it's dark enough.
Yes, we leave the light on in the room with the LB. Maggie is mostly blind (lots of cataracts and partial retina detachment from high blood pressure), and doesn't seem to have the spacial memory that I've read many blind cats have. She wears a bell so I know when she is on the move so I can help her, if necessary. Most of the time she locates the LB easily. My DH is a night owl, but not as attentive to her movement, and then when he comes to bed she is on her own. I've tried additional boxes at night, but it didn't help. Thanks for the ideas though. :bighug:
 
Hi Alicia

I’m sorry I ahvent responded to your tags but my family issues have raised their head again.

First, I hope she’s coming up for you out of the 40s. Normally, for a dip in the 40s when kitty is on a drop, we would suggest you start an OTJ trial but, her AMPS are too high. She’s not showing inverted curves which might indicate to me that she’s ready to come off insulin. You are feeding at +9 in the a.m. cycle but +8 in the p.m.

Is it possible to try two things in order to get those AMPS down and let her start a trial?
  • Try the +9 snack both cycles
  • Feed a little bit higher low carb food to try and keep the nadir just a tiny bit higher so she stays above 50.
If those changes don’t work, you should probably start a trial unless you can dose even lower (with calipers, you might be able to).

I saw her UPC is 0.4 two times in a row. I also saw she does not have high BP. On Tanya’s, Helen recommends that borderline UPC of 0.4 should be rechecked in two months but I see you are go8ng the other route of three tests over two weeks. Helen also states:
However, don't panic if your cat's level is over 0.4 because the UPC ratio is not always accurate - for example, blood in the urine, infection or inflammation may give a false positive result. Hypertension may worsen proteinuria, so getting blood pressure under control may lead to an improvement in the UPC ratio. The UPC ratio is often higher if the cat has glomerulonephritis.

If your vet is ok with it, I might stretch the last test out a bit a week or so. I believe treatment with meds like Ace inhibitors is generally not started unless the UPC is over 0.4.

ETA: if she doesn’t come out of the 30s fast, we might hav to start that trial.
 
+3= 42. She's eaten a little gravy and a little Fowl Ball. She is pacing, wanting more food.
Marje, thanks for check on us. I'll try what you suggested. I hope your family issues have improved. :bighug:
You’re welcome.

A drop into the 40s and trying something new to bring the AMPS down doesn’t worry me but I sure don’t like not dropping the dose when the number goes into the 30s. As you know, we don’t even recommend shaving doses for drops in the 30s.

Let’s see what she does but she might have forced your hand with that drop in the 30s.
 
Glad she's feeling more comfortable and not so restless. Goodness, Maggie sweet girl, mustn't startle your momma like that!

Does it make a difference (for dawn phenomenon, or for an OTJ trial for that matter) how long Maggie spends at those higher numbers? I mean, wouldn't it make a difference if she spiked around PM +11 and spent an hour or so there vs. going up around PM +6 or +7 and spending several hours there?
 
Glad she's feeling more comfortable and not so restless. Goodness, Maggie sweet girl, mustn't startle your momma like that!

Does it make a difference (for dawn phenomenon, or for an OTJ trial for that matter) how long Maggie spends at those higher numbers? I mean, wouldn't it make a difference if she spiked around PM +11 and spent an hour or so there vs. going up around PM +6 or +7 and spending several hours there?
Before we start a trial, we like to see a kitty in pretty much all green numbers with just a rare blue number here and there. We are finding that without going into the trial with mostly green numbers, the chances of the kitty falling out of remission are increased.

As a kitty gets closer to remission, the AMPS should come down into green numbers.

@Alicia & Maggie can you draw a half drop dose?
 
I don't know. Don't have calipers. Any pointers on how to do it?
+4.5 = 63. Not feeding anything.
It’s pretty hard to do without calipers. Even consistency with a drop is a challenge.

If you elect to hold the dose, you’ll need to really stay on top of the numbers, feed at +9 at night as well as during the day, and take her carbs up to a higher LC. If you are not able to do these things, I’d stop the insulin.

If you hold the dose, although I’m not a fan of skipping a dose to drain the depot, it might be worthwhile here since she’s still having some pretty high AMPS.

Thoughts?
 
Last edited:
I agree, I wouldn't think pred would effect the AMPS. OK, I'm going to go with no shot in the AM. Thanks for hanging out and helping me & Maggie! :bighug:
You’re welcome.

For anyone reading: this dosing strategy is for Maggie alone and should not be tried with your cat u less an experienced member has looked at the SS and worked with you on options.

Good luck, Alicia. I hope it helps you hold this dose a little longer to skip a shot and make a few changes.

Occasionally....and it isn’t often, we will see a cat that comes off the insulin but has had a bit higher numbers than usual, actually do fine. If she has a green AMPS, we might need to make a different plan so we need to stay flexible.

Good night!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top