11.16 Asia AMPS 390, +1 323, PMPS 207, +1 174, +3.5 80

Status
Not open for further replies.
Moving this to today's condo:

That's whey we hold the dose 6-10 cycles after the last green. If no more green, it's time to increase. The only thing we have are the numbers so follow the numbers. If she continues to give you nadirs in the range you're looking for (green) then it's still a good dose.


We say green time is healing time. Although think most of us would be happy with some green and mostly blue. It's easier said then done though.

You're doing a great job with her. Keep asking questions and we try to help. Most of the time our crystal balls are broken :( As far as comparing human to AT meters. Please read this post AT vs Human Meter_Post By Jill . I understand your concern about renal threshold which again is why the more green the better. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Just for anyone reading this, I always check what the markings on the syringe says when I'm using calipers to measure the dose, today's 2.25 shot measured on the syringe as a 1.5 unit shot! Not so disastrous as a shot measuring over the dose you want to give, but a huge difference as far as regulation goes, that would have been a large reduction if I wasn't using calipers and I wouldn't even have known (until her numbers shot up, and then I'd start thinking she needs an increase). o_O
 
Just for anyone reading this, I always check what the markings on the syringe says when I'm using calipers to measure the dose, today's 2.25 shot measured on the syringe as a 1.5 unit shot! Not so disastrous as a shot measuring over the dose you want to give, but a huge difference as far as regulation goes, that would have been a large reduction if I wasn't using calipers and I wouldn't even have known (until her numbers shot up, and then I'd start thinking she needs an increase). o_O

What kind of syringes do you use, Stacy? And what brand of calipers? I'm using the insulin ruler right now and the BD 1/2 unit syringers, but I'm thinking of giving calipers a go. I know that I was shocked at the dose difference according to the markings on the syringe vs. the insulin ruler, especially as Girlie's doses have always been so low from the start. Scary, eh? There's no way she was getting a consistent dose from just the syringe markings alone, as you said. Yikes!
 
What kind of syringes do you use, Stacy? And what brand of calipers? I'm using the insulin ruler right now and the BD 1/2 unit syringers, but I'm thinking of giving calipers a go. I know that I was shocked at the dose difference according to the markings on the syringe vs. the insulin ruler, especially as Girlie's doses have always been so low from the start. Scary, eh? There's no way she was getting a consistent dose from just the syringe markings alone, as you said. Yikes!
Very scary, and even if the calipers don't actually measure a proper 1 unit dose on the dot, if you make your measurements off maths alone using the calipers (say up and down in .25 increments from the original 1 unit you measure with the calipers) the dosing will always be consistent and that matters more than an arbitrary unit marking.

I use the BD u100 3/10mL cc 8mm 31 gauge with half unit markings and the calipers everyone in the states seems to get from Harbor Freight (I bought mine on Amazon though).
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top