11/16 Boomer AMPS 157 dosecrease to .1u, +3 133 +6 94 PMPS 97 .1u +3 106

Status
Not open for further replies.

Judy and Boomer

Member Since 2014
Yesterday
Good morning!
Boomer's numbers are driving me crazy:p

Because he's had a few blue numbers and yesterday's +3 went into the mid blues, we decided a dosecrease was in order.
For some reason at PMPS I forgot to test before feeding. So I decided to draw the dosecrease of .1 but test immediately after Boomer finished eating, before injecting. And he gives me green! So the dosecrease went into the sink and I drew "some" insulin. :rolleyes:
Then at +3 last night he was up instead of down. But still in green numbers. There seems to be a pattern these last few days of his +3 being higher; isn't that a sign that the pancreas isn't working?

Would love to hear everyone's thoughts on Boomer's numbers lately! Does NDW happen with reducies? He's had 7 cycles on "some" insulin; the dose immediately before that was .1 and even with .1 his level went low enough I gave him a bit of syrup.

Also, does any know the carb value of Nature's Variety Instinct Salmon? It's not in Dr Pierson's list :(
 
Does NDW happen with reducies?
This one I can answer, no :)

Can you remind me why you reduced after the second drop into the 40's?? with him being long term diabetic and coming out of remission again I might have been tempted to hold and wait for that 3rd drop, sometimes those extra few cycles can have a big impact on the healing pancreas, just mulling over whether he wasn't really ready for that reducie.....
It's not that he is looking bad on this dose particularly, but he looked better (no blue) on the 0.1.
Everything ok otherwise with Boomer?
 
This one I can answer, no :)

Can you remind me why you reduced after the second drop into the 40's?? with him being long term diabetic and coming out of remission again I might have been tempted to hold and wait for that 3rd drop, sometimes those extra few cycles can have a big impact on the healing pancreas, just mulling over whether he wasn't really ready for that reducie.....
It's not that he is looking bad on this dose particularly, but he looked better (no blue) on the 0.1.
Everything ok otherwise with Boomer?
At the time of the second drop into the 40s Boomer had been on the .1 dose for a week with good numbers. DH and I had been planning on leaving him at the .1 for a while longer until that second drop happened; at that point we decided that we should reduce.
Everything else is fine with Boomer!
 
Nature's Variety Instinct Salmon works out to 4.5% GA or 20% on a dry matter basis. It also contains Montmorillonite clay. There were a number of discussions on this a ways back. I believe @Marje and Gracie had posted some information that it was a somewhat questionable ingredient. The Venison formula does not have this clay in it and works out to about 1% GA 4.5% on a dry matter basis.


I used 2% for ash since it was not listed.

These were the 2 calculators I used. The first for GA % then using those results on the second for dry matter %


You can double check my calculations...taking forever for my brain cells to wake up


http://fnae.org/carbcalorie.html for GA %

http://fnae.org/dmb.html for Dry matter %


ETA Venison formula

http://www.instinctpetfood.com/product/instinct-grain-free-canned-cat-food-venison

Salmon formula

http://www.instinctpetfood.com/product/instinct-grain-free-canned-cat-food-salmon
 
Last edited:
At the time of the second drop into the 40s Boomer had been on the .1 dose for a week with good numbers. DH and I had been planning on leaving him at the .1 for a while longer until that second drop happened; at that point we decided that we should reduce.
Everything else is fine with Boomer!

Thanks, now you say it I remember reading it. It may be worth letting him earn it the 'hard way' seeing as he is being flaky with holding his remission, just that extra bit of support may go a long way in helping mr P get strong enough to hold remission.

I would have taken him up with that amps too. Hope it works out.

29% on a dry matter basis.
29%:eek: or 2.9%??
 
So this mornings amps was likely influenced by it then, but not the previous mid blues. Sorry about the fuds:bighug::bighug:
Yes it would have been. After he had eaten his +3 I put a plate down with some chicken and lots of salmon to cover his +6 and +9 and he started eating it right away and every little bit of it was gone when I got up at +9
 
Nature's Variety Instinct would have had to do some major changes to their formulas for even the venison to go from 0% carbs to 4.5% carbs.

I've said it before and I'll say it again, Feline nutrionists would not use those GA calculators. The easiest thing to do is to call the company and ask for their typical nutrient analysis either as dry matter or as-fed. It takes less than five minutes. Then plug the numbers into Janet's calculator that I think we linked back a while ago. Let me know if you need that.

Yes, there are two types of montmorillonite clay that pet food companies use as a caking agent. One is sodium montmorillonite and the other is calcium montmorillonite. The latter is good as it is known to bind toxins. Unless they have just recently changed their forumla, NV uses the sodium form and they removed from their website that the montmorillonite binds toxins. The sodium form is cheaper. It would be another question to ask the company but I would ask them to confirm it in an email. The last time I asked for email confirmation, two different reps from NV said it was the sodium montmorillonite.
 
Nature's Variety Instinct would have had to do some major changes to their formulas for even the venison to go from 0% carbs to 4.5% carbs.

I've said it before and I'll say it again, Feline nutrionists would not use those GA calculators. The easiest thing to do is to call the company and ask for their typical nutrient analysis either as dry matter or as-fed. It takes less than five minutes. Then plug the numbers into Janet's calculator that I think we linked back a while ago. Let me know if you need that.

Yes, there are two types of montmorillonite clay that pet food companies use as a caking agent. One is sodium montmorillonite and the other is calcium montmorillonite. The latter is good as it is known to bind toxins. Unless they have just recently changed their forumla, NV uses the sodium form and they removed from their website that the montmorillonite binds toxins. The sodium form is cheaper. It would be another question to ask the company but I would ask them to confirm it in an email. The last time I asked for email confirmation, two different reps from NV said it was the sodium montmorillonite.
I have sent them an email so that I have their responses in writing. I cannot use Janet's calculator (I believe it's an excel formula and I don't have excel on my mac) but hopefully there will be someone around that can do the calculations.
 
Wow I have a response already from Nature's Variety! Now that is good customer service! I have populated the information into a tab in Boomer's ss, here is the link Nature's Variety.
I can't use Janet's calculator because I don't have excel on my mac. Maybe someone with excel can do the calculations and populate the spreadsheet?
@Marje and Gracie thanks for the info above!
 
Last edited:
Just tried the link but it doesn't work, says I don't have permission to view it, do you want to check to see if you have shared it?

Also if you have the link for Janet's calculator, I'll have a go at running the numbers for you. I have excel, not promising I'll be successful but I'll give it a go.
 
Julie I've run the Salmon and the Venison (not sure if I have done it correctly, hopefully someone else will run it too, I've used the animal grade food calc, there is a different one for human grade)
Both come out as LC though the salmon only just LC at 9.5% the venison 3.5%
You can take a look I have cut and pasted the results onto Georges ss, on the tab labeled instinct values
 
Hey Judy, I've run them all, results on the tab in Georges ss, I hope someone else can confirm that I have done this correctly, it's the first time that I have used the calculator, and that the values give you some answers to some of the wonky numbers you have been getting.
 
Hey Judy, I've run them all, results on the tab in Georges ss, I hope someone else can confirm that I have done this correctly, it's the first time that I have used the calculator, and that the values give you some answers to some of the wonky numbers you have been getting.
Thanks so much @Gill & George !!!

So.....I know a food is considered "low" carb if it is under 10%. But is that using the % of calories calculation? @Marje and Gracie ?
 
I have sent them an email so that I have their responses in writing. I cannot use Janet's calculator (I believe it's an excel formula and I don't have excel on my mac) but hopefully there will be someone around that can do the calculations.
Tag me and I'll do it for you. Excel is not just for Macs....you can do it on a PC but I'm still happy to do it for you if you tag me if you still decide to get the info.

ETA: I just saw you got the numbers. We are grabbing dinner and then I will double check it for you. BBS.
 
Sorry to just get back. My computer was off and the excel won't download to my iPad so I had to do them by hand. To answer your question, yes, when we talk about the %carbs we are talking about the % calories from carbs.

Chicken is 6.7% calories from carbs
Beef is 6%
Lamb is 4%
Duck is 8.5%
Rabbit is 5.7%
Venison is 3.5%
Salmon is 9.5%
LID turkey is 7%

I didn't do the other LID ones but let me know if you want them. @Gill & George had them correct.
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top