11/16 Sootie amps 214,+5.5/99, pmps/162, +7.75/194

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi Carla, thank you and apologies for not replying earlier today.

Been on phone and emails with homeopathic vets about Azalea. Her eye looks worse and the strain is very evident. Just home from grocery shopping this afternoon to get liver shake ingredients to try for her. Bubba's the inspiration.

One vet is glass 7/8 empty, the other is glass 1/4 full, the latter suggesting a remedy to try one dose of today. Luckily I have some on hand.

Haven't heard back from reg vet or the specialist . So we're holding on. I'd upload a photo update from today but it's too depressing.

Good news is that Sootie's +5.5 was 99 and noontime snack appy pretty good. Crossing paws.

Gentle evening and hugs for all.
Sina

Eta: I've been intending to follow up on from a couple days ago about switch Sootie to slgs from the tr effort. I'm thinking it makes most sense To switch/transition to slgs. Appreciate suggestions etc. thanking in advance.
 
:bighug::bighug:Sending vines for Azalea.....:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
Looking good Sootie, now no flirting with those sharks! Your mama Bean is soooooooo tired, give her a sweet cycle with no bitey playmates!:bighug::bighug:
 
Sending you lots of hugs, ugh.....my stomach is flipping for you going through this and the pending decision with Azalea. The decision is tough and you want her not to be in pain. :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:

The Liver shake had to be syringed into Bubba but I found it easier to do than thinned out food. Good luck and did you see the video on it? Maybe you have syringe fed before, I had not......

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/where-can-i-find-________.127890/ Scroll down till you see the video link.

Sootie: You are looking marvelous! :D
 
Sending Azaela Vines, if her eye pressure (ie the glaucoma), is up, which it likely will be if the lens is dislocated and pressing against the cornea (this blocks the eyes natural drainage mech, the trabecular meshwork) it is a condition that is very painful, I've seen human patients who have presented to hospital ER with similar issues and they are usually in a lot of pain and feel very nauseated/ even puking, so that may well be at least some of the reason she is not keen on the food at the moment. Of course I'm sure the vets have given you some meds for that. It's a tough decision to make for your little girl.

Sending healing and comfort vines for your little girl:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Thank you both ❤️❤️❤️

Syringe feeding has become second hat around here. And azalea has had her share of being a recipient.
Azalea is eating today not great though and looks depleted and strained. That's why I thought maybe the liver shake might give a boost and support.

The 'glass 1/4 full" homeopathic vet suggested a dose of silicea 30c.

You're right. azalea not going for the liver shake on her own. She's on my chest right now while i write. Will drop some on paw first , sometimes that lets her know it's ok.
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
Here's this morning's photo. Les, Bobbie, others familiar with eyes?❤️
 

Attachments

  • image.jpeg
    image.jpeg
    81.6 KB · Views: 72
Gill, thank you. Saw yours just after posting above.
No, no anti nausea meds rx'd. But slippery elm a staple here.
Rx'd another packet on Onsior (had some early on too),
Eye drops:
Severins ulcer mix & ofloxacin combo, QID;
Cyclosporine A 1%, BID;
Cosopt (dorzolomide snd timolol), TID
Pain med :
Onsior one every 24 hrs for 3 days
 
The cornea looks very 'cloudy' hard to say from just a photo and without any dye, but it looks ulcerated/oedematous(swelling)/ and some scar tissue there I suspect. I can't really see what's going on underneath that. Poor kittie, it looks very sore. (give her a gentle scritch from me)
I wouldn't expect anti nausea drugs, if they are controlling the pain that should control the nausea.

If she has significant scar tissue, she may always be uncomfortable with that eye if you decided not to enucleate.

Not sure any of that is helpful.
Have a good talk with the specialist when she goes in for her check, I'm sure they will help guide you to good decision, FWIW I think if it were my cat I would want the eye specialist doing the op.
 
Last edited:
Thank you Gill. And yes Azalea says thank you for the extra scritches and everyone's tlc.

Haven't heard back from vets (grrr) but did the new homeopathic remedy dose. (Timed between eye drops).

Thanks too for your observations and FWIF. I'm inclined that way. Local vet has assured that he will be local back up if any post op complications (the specialist is about a 1-1 1/2 hr drive depending on traffic).

Have call in with our AC in a few minutes.

Right now azalea purring on my chest and telling me to be calm!

Sootie (and her tribe) has been terrific and very understanding about azalea's needs.
Sootie's pmps 168, appy ok, I shot skinny 0.25u.

Hugs and vines and thanks
Sina
 
Good morning,
Starting new thread for today but wanted to thank you and reply further where I hadn't suffiently replied above.

Bobbie, thanks for the assist feed video! Really helped! Tips therein made it much easier!

Gill, thank you again for all!

I fell asleep last night after session with AC, slept til about 3am (hence no pm +3 or +4 for Sootie but did get in a pm +7.75 and wet fud snacky).

During AC session: sense of azalea's sensation of that eye area being both swelling pressure extending outward with an inner tautness, and with throbbing. While quite uncomfortable for her, she doesn't indicate extreme pain at the moment, in part because of pain meds/drops, tlc and her own inimitable coping abilities. The energy sense of the eye itself was that it was shifting before the eye puncture injury, exacerbating the developing vulnerabilities.
Preparing Azalea for the two possible outcomes at next Monday's recheck at eye specialist: either a 'thumbs up' exam and we go home or she'll take a little nap and wake up with that eye removed from her body and no longer draining her energy.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top