11/17 Sootie amps/156, +7/117, pmps/143, +5.5/114

Status
Not open for further replies.

HWright

Member Since 2016
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...5-5-99-pmps-162-7-75-194.168252/#post-1823606

Good morning all in LL and with vines all around,

Fell asleep last night after session with AC for Azalea and household. Awoke too late too a mid cycle pm test for Sootie, but did one at pm+7.75 and a little wet fud snacky.

Whether a snack at that hour was a boon to Sootie's amps...dunno...but maybe so...she was 156 :cool: pretty good for lately! Her initial appy spurt was good, so shot skinny 0.25u while in the happy appy window of opportunity.

Stayed with azalea too for awhile after early morning time with Sootie. Azalea had eaten most of her supper by then and ate all of a new wet fud snack I brought for her as well. Was ok with me doing the drops sequence that I'd missed, and was good with the ones this morning, and started her b'fast pretty well too.

Wishing all vines for health, happy and home.
:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hey Sina ~ nice start for Sootie! Perhaps that little snack was helpful. :)

Hope you got some good news from the AC about your gang and household. And glad to hear that Azalea is eating most of her fuds and not minding the drops to much.

Sending lots of hugs and vines :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Sootie must be soaking in all your vines and cheering her on! Her +7 was 117 and ate a fresh snack...Bella of course had to get into the act, but waited for Sootie to be finished. Glimmers of their return to feeding synergy routines brings smiles.

Re last night's session with AC: here's what I wrote this morning on yesterday's condo (I was trying to be consistent to yesterday yet oops'd to relay same in today's. If emojis were working today I'd do the oy vey emoji!)

"During AC session: sense of azalea's sensation of that eye area being both swelling pressure extending outward with an inner tautness, and with throbbing. While quite uncomfortable for her, she doesn't indicate extreme pain at the moment, in part because of painmeds/drops, tlc and her own inimitable coping abilities. The energy sense of the eye itself was that it was shifting before the eye puncture injury, exacerbating the developing vulnerabilities.
Preparing Azalea for the two possible outcomes at next Monday's recheck at eye specialist: either a 'thumbs up' exam and we go home or she'll take a little nap and wake up with that eye removed from her body and no longer draining her energy."

Adding here that AC is stepping up with more intensives throughout the week for Azalea and on Monday morning. And that all in household are fully on board in continuing support for Azalea. And all your healing vines and support are forefront in helping us all. Thank you!!!

Heard from eye specialist today, replying to my email with yesterday's photo (same pic as on yesterday's condo). His reply:

"What is more telling tha[n] the photograph would be the amount of squinting and discharge. If that is improving, than we may be making progress. I suspect that cloudy area in the center is scarring but also the malacic (melting) cornea that will take a while to stabilize. I still think our discussion of surgery is relevant, but if you have considered all the pros and cons and have decided to make a go at it with medical therapy, then I would use squinting and discharge as your main means of assessing progress."

I don't see her squinting, blinking a lot or rubbing her eye (other than normal feline face washing routines). Nor much in the way of discharge. When I woke her up from nap a little while ago, her lids were sticky. That's the first sign of discharge from that eye that I've seen other than tearing from eye drops residue.

She ate a bit more and with 1/2 an Onsior. Now sleeping by window with Pandora radio...Andres Segovia station...playing.

Dear Gussie, Alas, today's not quite a flamenco sort of day but definitely an ...of the genre...day! Yours in guitars, Sootie and her tribe.
 

Attachments

  • IMG_0962.JPG
    IMG_0962.JPG
    62.9 KB · Views: 63
Just caught up on yesterday's condo and what's going on with Azalea. I've had way too much experience with eyedrops! Of course, Gill is the real expert, so her advice is very valuable. Some drops can cause the eyelid to be sticky after it's been closed for awhile, so that may or may not be discharge. I'm familiar with most of the stuff you're giving. Dorzolamide is for glaucoma and Ofloxacin is an anti-biotic, if I recall correctly. I'm glad you're giving the eye a chance to heal with treatment before deciding to remove it, and that the OV is on board with that. Did he say if he thinks she still has vision in the eye? I was thinking that if she didn't, she wouldn't squint, regardless of how uncomfortable the eye might be.

Deciding whether or not to remove an eye is a tough situation, but we based our decision on QOL - we decided that Cinco would be much more comfortable without it - without the pain and all the drops. He kept getting infections and his glaucoma would not be controlled. It was the right decision for him, as his BGs came down afterwards and he was a much happier cat. Of course, he was already blind in that eye and had lost the other due to a tumor, so his situation was different from Azalea's, but just thought I'd share how we looked at it. If there is a chance Azalea's eye can be saved with treatment, and eventually won't need all the meds, then it's definitely worth a shot.

Sootie, you're looking great in blue! :cool:

 
Just caught up on yesterday's condo and what's going on with Azalea. I've had way too much experience with eyedrops! Of course, Gill is the real expert, so her advice is very valuable. Some drops can cause the eyelid to be sticky after it's been closed for awhile, so that may or may not be discharge. I'm familiar with most of the stuff you're giving. Dorzolamide is for glaucoma and Ofloxacin is an anti-biotic, if I recall correctly. I'm glad you're giving the eye a chance to heal with treatment before deciding to remove it, and that the OV is on board with that. Did he say if he thinks she still has vision in the eye? I was thinking that if she didn't, she wouldn't squint, regardless of how uncomfortable the eye might be.

Deciding whether or not to remove an eye is a tough situation, but we based our decision on QOL - we decided that Cinco would be much more comfortable without it - without the pain and all the drops. He kept getting infections and his glaucoma would not be controlled. It was the right decision for him, as his BGs came down afterwards and he was a much happier cat. Of course, he was already blind in that eye and had lost the other due to a tumor, so his situation was different from Azalea's, but just thought I'd share how we looked at it. If there is a chance Azalea's eye can be saved with treatment, and eventually won't need all the meds, then it's definitely worth a shot.

Sootie, you're looking great in blue! :cool:

Thanks, Tricia. I appreciate everyone's experience and insights (pardon semi-pun) about eyes and caring.
The eye specialist (OV, right?) doesn't think Azalea has any vision in that eye, and that even if eye heals, vision likely won't return.
As in all these kinds of situations, it's day at time, moment at a time.
Yes, the morning eye goop stuck to her lids in the injured eye probably was eye drop goop collected while asleep. Interestingly, though today's photo kinda dark, her eye seemed smoother this afternoon. Whether she sloughed off buildup of eye drop gunk, or was part of the process of healing of melting cornea that Gill, @Gill & George , described so well. I don't know.

Thanks for sharing your experience with your Cinco. Yes, surely does come to QOL, weighing all the variables and healing progress, surgery risks at her age. Like Bo (now GA), she has an amazing capacity to takes things a step at a time with strong inner resolve. But, as we all know, strain is strain and it can affect body and spirit in so many ways.

As for Sootie: will be doing tonight's pmps soon. And in mind, now that we're officially SLGS now (!), am thinking ahead about the next steps. Sootie's been on skinny 0.25u I think 7 or 8 cycles now, with few more days to go on that doze. Then I do a curve, and we decide then about next dosage amt. yes?

Healing and loving vines all around and with thanks and ❤️
Sina
 
As for Sootie: will be doing tonight's pmps soon. And in mind, now that we're officially SLGS now (!), am thinking ahead about the next steps. Sootie's been on skinny 0.25u I think 7 or 8 cycles now, with few more days to go on that doze. Then I do a curve, and we decide then about next dosage amt. yes?
With SLGS you do a curve once a week. So you hold the dose 7 days (14 cycles) unless she earns a reduction. You are on cycle 8 today. Since you test a lot, you could do a curve on Saturday, even though that is cycle 12. Then you can make a dose adjustment if you need to Saturday night or Sunday.
 
Thanks, Tricia and Carla. Sootie's pmps just now was 143, and was double checking SLGS printout to see if I missed anything about if/when pmps >90<150. So I hold tonight's dose at skinny 0.25u right?

With Azalea going to eye specialist on Monday (might be a few hours, might be all day with surgery) and not yet knowing outcome, I'm reluctant to do dose change on Sunday night or Monday morning with Sootie. Would I be able to do a curve on Sunday and if dosecrease warranted, start that Monday night or Tuesday morning? Saturday I have to be out late morning early afternoon, so it would be a messy curve on Saturday, even if did 18hr curve.

ETA: opted to do skinny 0.25u tonight,
 
Last edited:
Hi Sina, I hope that whatever treatment you and the vet decide upon for Azalea it will help her and make her comfortable. Lots of vines continuing to be sent.

Nice numbers for Sootie today. Hang in there!
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top