11-19 Moey AMPS=49/56 +1=61 +2=78 +3.5= 84 +5=87 +7=96 +10.5=116 PMPS=116 +2=91 *Pics*

Briere Fur Mom

Member Since 2019
K...what to do with this #???? Stall and retest in 15 min to 30 min with no food????

I'll add pics after this low # dilemma is settled.
11-18 (Yesterday) Good morning. Kitties be good and surf safely! Everyone have a lovely day!
Moey is really working the juice. I think he's going to get a reduction on his terms....by dropping below 50 on 3 separate days. Not the way I'd choose the reduction but, no one can argue with old fur pants! He's all knowing....wiser than Yoda!:rolleyes: With a reduction looming....I hope it doesn't interfere with his beautiful progress lately. I would have propped his # at +3 yesterday, if he would have given me a clearer signal. But, no...of course not, my name is Moey...look at what I can do!o_O Is he signalling for a reduction or am I just managing the curve poorly? I def don't want to rush this boy into anything being that he's long term diabetic. Thoughts?
Just a couple pics today. One showing what I endure, just trying to get a seat at my own computer desk. Well really, I just borrow the desk from the kitties...they own it!:facepalm: And the other pic of Ittle reaching out to touch me. If I don't acknowledge him he really gets touchy feely! No that's not exactly true...he's always touchy feely!!!! Love my boys!:kiss:
 

Attachments

  • 100_1121 (2).JPG
    100_1121 (2).JPG
    124.9 KB · Views: 75
  • 100_1138.JPG
    100_1138.JPG
    222.4 KB · Views: 67
Briere - on the reduction, I would say it's YOUR call, but if I were you, I'd want help making that call!

On feeding -- I used to wait until +3 or even +4 for the first snack after brekkie. No longer -- if I don't feed closer to 2, I could "make" a reduction happen. Don't want to do it that way. You are doing great - will see if you rise Mr. Moey!! Look forward to pics when you get back to it!
 
It's tricky with lows at the end of the cycle.
They can continue to drop due to lack of food.
If he is still hanging out in the 40's when you check try him with a teaspoon of LC.

From the handling low numbers sticky

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...y-to-shoot-handle-lower-pre-shot-numbers.147/
Some general rules when stalling (ECID):
  • 50s or higher – don’t feed. The number will bump up on its own soon due to the insulin wearing off.
  • 40s or lower – you have a couple of choices.
    • When 40s occur at the end of the cycle, it can be beneficial to withhold food and test in 15-20 minutes to determine if kitty is on the rise or hasn’t reached nadir yet.
    • If they are hanging in the 40s for a while, or if they are still dropping, it is ok to feed a tsp or two of LC and retest. This is very tricky. You want to avoid feeding too much while you’re waiting for them to go over 50, because you don’t want to artificially inflate the number with food.
      • Example: if kitty is 43 and you feed a whole meal, or feed some HC, and the number bumps up to 52, is that the cat’s natural end-of-cycle rise, or is it food spike? What if it is food spike? Then if you shoot the 52, when the food wears off he might drop back to the 40’s (and when insulin kicks in a couple of hours later, you might have a problem). If the 52 is the cat’s natural rise, then he will probably keep rising for the next few hours until insulin kicks in. If you can’t tell whether the number is food spike or natural rise, it’s safest to wait. Your data will help you here. Study the spreadsheet. How much food spike does the cat usually get? How many hours after the shot does the insulin’s onset usually occur in this cat? At what number is the cat likely to be when onset occurs? If the cat does drop, how easy/hard is it to regain control of the numbers? How carb sensitive is he?
 
Just saw he came up. Yep go ahead and shoot.

You can try the reduction if you want.
It's not a reduction earning number for a long term diabetic, as Wendy commented some days ago.

You can try the reduction, if it doesn't hold, then you will need to call a fail reduction if you see his nadirs creep up. I would have liked him to go a week in normal numbers too, or give you a definite 'I need a reducie Mom!'
 
Just saw he came up. Yep go ahead and shoot.

You can try the reduction if you want.
It's not a reduction earning number for a long term diabetic, as Wendy commented some days ago.

You can try the reduction, if it doesn't hold, then you will need to call a fail reduction if you see his nadirs creep up. I would have liked him to go a week in normal numbers too, or give you a definite 'I need a reducie Mom!'
I'm not reducing just yet. He needs to give me one more below 50 or just one below 40 right? Or a week in normal numbers. Sorry for being a broken record.
 
You've got this Briere! That Moey is certainly looking great too! Love the pics of your babies!! Yes, they own the whole house - in case you forget - they're just letting you stay there so you can take care of them :rolleyes::joyful::facepalm:
 
Back
Top