11/2 Sootie: 276/ambg (SS) 220/+1.5 270/+4.5 295/pm 198/+8

Status
Not open for further replies.

HWright

Member Since 2016
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...5-239-amps-201-4-270-7-5-266-11-233-5.167563/

Amps @ 7:42 amET: 276 :facepalm::nailbiting::facepalm: Again has resumed not eating. Barely touched it even with beloved crumbled freeze dried a top.

"Here we go round the the mulberry bush...." :banghead::banghead::banghead:

Sootie's am shoot window ca 8-9am depending on appy. As of right now, holding off on am shot due to iffy appy. Here we go again.....

Not ruling out my hunch that vial efficacy may be puttering out out even though no signs that it's gone bad. Bringing existing vial to vet this morning and get new rx in case we've got an efficacy issue at play along with everything else.

Suggestions welcome here!
 
Yes and that's my next strategy. Baby fud with some ezc in it. It's beechnut turkey (ran out of beef and it's sold out recently at local supermarkets). Heading upstairs now. Had to feed the others who are eating same breakfast, some consolation that it's not off.
 
ok started eating baby fud but only when on stairs with me teetering mid-way! Then no go, ate a little more when brought dish up the stairs. Now no go. We're talking 1-2 tsps at most. Am now slightly past am shoot window.

Discovered DH did not put last nights garbage bag into a trash can....guess who gets to do the cleanup before vetty visit in an hour?

Some days start out.....
 
Baby fud = 1-2 tsp intake ca 9:15-9:30am then nix.

Retested at 9:30am = 220 without shot and with hardly any fud.

Considering am to be skipped shot? Opted to not dose primarily in consideration of iffy appy , shoot window, and that in an hour and a half, her bg went from 270 to 220 on its own. Will check again when back home from vetty with Azalea and Sootie's current Lantus vial.
 
Last edited:
On way home from vet with azalea...not a mellow girl today.

Re Sootie: doc gave me a Lantus cartridge to replace the vial.said the vial contents looked ok but yes, given that vial been in use since January, let's resume with fresh.
 
Had to be out most of afternoon.
Pmps at 7:24 pm = 295. All yellows today

Skipped am dose primarily bc of appy etc.
Vet gave me cartridge of new Lantus (in case existing one losing efficacy). Noting that we don't know if the existing vial was losing potency or not.

Earlier Carla suggested sticking with 0.1 unit tonight (which was a dose increase last night) even with new vial. Marje's input similar.

Any other input /suggestions given that Sootie's bg today has been in the high yellows with one dip to 220? (Sorry have limited mid cycle data but had to be out).

I'm not trying to be a nervous Nellie about this. Just want to be sure, as best I can given the mysterious nature of these dances, that I'm not making a mess of this for Sootie or screwing up.

Shoot window ca 8pm. Thanking in advance. Sorry if cryptic--like but want to get this posted pdq.
Sina
 
Beyond shoot Window. Skipping shot again. Not eating enough to shoot anyway. erring on side of caution.
 
Thanks. Didn't want to risk it. Will see what the night and morning brings. I have to leave just after Sootie's morning shoot window and will be out most of day tomorrow so kitties will be on their own.
If appy any better in am and depending on ambg, may start fresh at less than 0.1, even if it's a droplet with new vial to be in safe side. Sound reasonable?
 
Sina

I’m sorry I missed you and your request for help.

IMHO, if Sootie were my cat at these numbers, I wouldn’t be skipping shots if I could be there to test. While I think there is a chance she needs more insulin, shooting the 0.1u would at least let you know if you are close to a good dose. My concern is that if there is any potential infection and she is at these high numbers, isn’t eating much, and has no insulin on board, you are risking the development of ketones and DKA. Are you testing for ketones?
 
Hoping things go better for your crew tomorrow:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:

THank you, Les. Greens for Gussie.

Sina

I’m sorry I missed you and your request for help.

IMHO, if Sootie were my cat at these numbers, I wouldn’t be skipping shots if I could be there to test. While I think there is a chance she needs more insulin, shooting the 0.1u would at least let you know if you are close to a good dose. My concern is that if there is any potential infection and she is at these high numbers, isn’t eating much, and has no insulin on board, you are risking the development of ketones and DKA. Are you testing for ketones?

Thank you Marje.

Sootie's pm+8 (at 2:55am) was 198. An improvement for sure.

Haven't had successful effort in testing for ketones lately. and the other ways of getting a clean sample (isolation with litter-less box, etc.) just not doable here now given everything going on. Not ruling out ketones, and yes these 200's and all that Sootie is going through weigh heavily.

Will amps in a few hours, see where we're at and go from there. Unfortunately I'm going to be gone most of the day, leaving soon after shoot time today (Thursday) and will be lucky if I can get home for a few minutes to recheck in early afternoon.

Thanks again and til soon. Sina
 
Hang in there, you can only do what you can do on any given day Sina...that 198 is indeed an improvement! Head out today with that in your heart...:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Thanks Les, I was shocked when Sootie's ambg (which became amps) was 336.
Started new condo for today.

Hey, Gus....stay in the greens and hope you're still saving a surfboard for me.
Yours, Sootie
.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top