11/20 Yoyo AMPS 208,+2 177,+4.5 130,PMPS 162,+2 149,+3.5 116,+4.5 106

Debra and Yoyo

Member Since 2018
Yesterday 11/19 http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...-153-4-112-pmps-142-2-111-3-101-4-110.221869/

Day 4 @ 2.37 Units Lantus

Good Morning.....a little chilly over here in South Florida, I think the coldest morning yet. Probably low 50's:)

I don't think this dose is doing it for Yoyo. I will increase either tonight or tomorrow morning. It may be the food % of carbs that I am feeding him or maybe it's just this dose, but he needs to visit the lagoon:D

Hope you are all off to a good start....surf safely kitties:bighug::cat::bighug:
 
Oh oh Yo! Better show some green stuff soon, there are rumors going around about a dosecrease threat! :nailbiting:
Have a great day Debra! :bighug::):bighug:
 
Debra - it could be the food, but if that's what he accepts, a little extra insulin to match is fine, IMO. It's almost twice the carbs in what Tina eats (the Weruva pate he likes), but that's what he eats (and you should never tell him it's good for him;)) From what I've seen, a lot of cats don't like the bigger chicken pieces in the Paw Lickin' Chicken. Tina likes it when I chop it up into a semi-pate, I also add a little extra water. Then if she loses interest, I crumble a little FD chicken on top and she cleans it up.
Yoyo, I wish I could hold you and get a hug like you give your mom:bighug::cat::bighug:
Tina really, really, really needs you to come see her in the lagoon . . . something's going on with her lately and she needs to talk to you:cat::cat:

Enjoy your weather today Debra!!
 
I remember that I just recently read on one of the links, it was either by Dr Lisa Pierson or from the link that you sent to me regarding CKD. It mentioned not to get to hung up on the % of carbs. That under 10% is considered low and that since recipes are always changing that the % are always changing from can to can. BUT I really think that by increasing Yo from 2-3 carb %'s to 5.2% and 5.9% that it is effecting his BG. Or he really does need an increase but I really thought he was going to do well at 2.37. So like usual I am confused:confused: and will have to raise him either tonight or tomorrow morning.

Now for Ms Tina, she is doing GREAT. 1 drop and she has beautiful numbers. I am guessing that it won't be long until you remove the 1 drop?
Think about it, 1 drop and she has those green numbers. Is the drop really doing anything? If you have info on this, I would love to understand it better.

Enjoy your day Jan :bighug:
 
Debra - I've also seen we shouldn't get too hung up on the carbs as long as considered low. It's too easy for me to go to extremes, I'll admit. I also don't like that Tina only has one food choice - her special meals are those that don't include meds squished in! She does like the CBD powder now though.

I practiced a lot (still do) on getting a consistent drop - I've always heard the best chance of remission is going down to the smallest amount of insulin possible - I'm imagining a slow glide off - so in my thoughts, by her numbers, that drop is working. Her numbers are normal (between 50 and 80 nearly always), so if her numbers remain normal until the morning of the 22nd (one week on a drop), we will try to lift OFF of insulin! Or, if she goes low, we will stop then. Still not believing this. :)
 
Debra - I've also seen we shouldn't get too hung up on the carbs as long as considered low. It's too easy for me to go to extremes, I'll admit. I also don't like that Tina only has one food choice - her special meals are those that don't include meds squished in! She does like the CBD powder now though.

I practiced a lot (still do) on getting a consistent drop - I've always heard the best chance of remission is going down to the smallest amount of insulin possible - I'm imagining a slow glide off - so in my thoughts, by her numbers, that drop is working. Her numbers are normal (between 50 and 80 nearly always), so if her numbers remain normal until the morning of the 22nd (one week on a drop), we will try to lift OFF of insulin! Or, if she goes low, we will stop then. Still not believing this. :)
Believe it!!! You and Tina are doing GREAT!! :bighug:
 
I agree with the info on the carbs - it's just too difficult to put a fine gauge on those carbs - generally under 10% is considered low carb.

He doesn't look like he wants to visit the lagoon just now...so with a dosecrease threat on the table, is it possible that he'll hear you and go there soon? Tonight is the 6th cycle - I suppose if he doesn't do anything about surfing today or tonight, that dose increase will be what's up for tomorrow morning. Tell him to come and get Luci away from those sharks:rolleyes:...I wish I could figure this dance out too...I think I gave up a while back and I'm just along for the ride ... and cleaning the LB, and feeding her, and buying the food, etc. etc. etc. She just lays around whining about her cast...:facepalm:
 
I agree with the info on the carbs - it's just too difficult to put a fine gauge on those carbs - generally under 10% is considered low carb.

He doesn't look like he wants to visit the lagoon just now...so with a dosecrease threat on the table, is it possible that he'll hear you and go there soon? Tonight is the 6th cycle - I suppose if he doesn't do anything about surfing today or tonight, that dose increase will be what's up for tomorrow morning. Tell him to come and get Luci away from those sharks:rolleyes:...I wish I could figure this dance out too...I think I gave up a while back and I'm just along for the ride ... and cleaning the LB, and feeding her, and buying the food, etc. etc. etc. She just lays around whining about her cast...:facepalm:
I hear you and feel the frustration:banghead:........I started Yo on 11/10 with the new food with the higher carbs of 5%. The food didn't seem to have any effects on his numbers but that was when he was getting 2.5 Units. Then I decreased him to 2.25 units and that wasn't working so up he went to 2.37 units. But with the lower units and perhaps the higher carbs Yo's BG just isn't getting him to the lagoon. So tonight is the 8th cycle and I think I will just increase him to 2.5 units and see how the food and the increase effect his BG numbers:)
 
Back
Top