11/21/17 Squallie AMPS 94, +2.30/39, +3.15/40, +4/77, +5/150, +9/69, PMPS 93, +2/92, +5/79

Status
Not open for further replies.

Squalliesmom

Member Since 2015
Yesterday

Squallie is a happy kitty today, and he ate well this morning. Now he's playing with invisible mice, he's so funny, lol!

Prayers and healing light for all in need.
 
Yikes, 39! :eek: He is completely asymptomatic, it's just dumb luck that I decided to test him when I did. I almost had a heart attack; he wants to play with the laser pointer! :facepalm:I gave him some C food with a bit of Karo, and will retest shortly.
 
Wow that out of the blue 39 is scary! Good catch! Other than that one, I love Squallie's numbers - so consistent! This is my first week, the vet sent us home last Wednesday and told us to give him 1U twice a day for a week then do a curve. I'm so glad that after researching and finding this forum I decided to start testing, b/c otherwise I wouldn't have caught Paws's 40's run last night, and we still had 3 more days before we were planning to do the curve!

That's awesome that Squallie still loves the laser pointer, Paws and Smokey figured out it the laser was coming from my hand and then started attacking me instead. o_O So now it's shoelaces and ribbon.
 
Wow that out of the blue 39 is scary! Good catch! Other than that one, I love Squallie's numbers - so consistent! This is my first week, the vet sent us home last Wednesday and told us to give him 1U twice a day for a week then do a curve. I'm so glad that after researching and finding this forum I decided to start testing, b/c otherwise I wouldn't have caught Paws's 40's run last night, and we still had 3 more days before we were planning to do the curve!

That's awesome that Squallie still loves the laser pointer, Paws and Smokey figured out it the laser was coming from my hand and then started attacking me instead. o_O So now it's shoelaces and ribbon.

Welcome to FDMB! Paws is a cutie!

Lol, those are Squallie's favorites!

ribbons.jpg

It's good that you were testing and caught that drop into the 40s!

When we first started out he was on a different insulin, and his numbers were anything BUT consistent. It's taken us the better part of two years to get where he is now. He's the perfect example of why no one should get discouraged if their kitty takes a while to get regulated!
 
+5/150 Guess maybe I over-corrected a bit on the carbs, lol. :rolleyes: Oh well, I'd rather have him too high than too low. He will undoubtedly come back down, maybe even by pre-shot time, if we're lucky! :cat:
 
Didn't he earn a reducie with that below 40? Congrats!
Hi Sandi! Good to hear from you! How is Shoes doing? Squallie is a long-term diabetic, so he has to have three under-50s before he earns a reducie. Something tells me that won't be long in coming (this was his second). :):bighug:
 
Shoes is hanging in there. I thought that for long-term diabetics that if you went under 40 1 X or 3 X under 50 earned a reduction. Hope you are doing good!

See this link about the 1 time under 40, etc.

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...ng-reductions-and-starting-otj-trials.150160/
Thanks for the link, Sandi! You're right, after one drop below 40 he earns a reduction! I'll start in the AM since he's already had his PM shot. (((Hugs))) to you and scritches to Shoes. :bighug::cat::bighug::cat::bighug:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top