11/21 Sootie amps 190, pmps 156

Status
Not open for further replies.

HWright

Member Since 2016
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...5-9-5-164-pmps-188-3-129.168450/#post-1826298

Good morning all, and thinking of LL 'era in upper New York State. Lucky here so far with a surprise early morning dusting of snow. So adding clean off the car before heading out with Azalea at 8am northward to the OV.

Sootie's Amps 190, appy good, shot skinny 0.25u. yesterday (or his morning!) finished Sootie's first curve in SLGS, hoping I did it ok. Appreciate eyes and suggestions on what it reveals and how best to proceed tonight, dose wise.!

Crossing paws for our civvie Azalea and for all LL'ers and their beans going through rough patches. And our gratitude for your kindness, fellowship, caring and sharing of your knowledge, experience and guidance for all including, FD'er or Civvie. All family.❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️

Will update soon as know how to best proceed after OV's one week follow up exam this morning.❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️
 
Last edited:
I'm glad Sootie is eating for you this morning. Good job on the curve yesterday. According to SLGS, since you got a 129 you would hold the dose for another week.

I hope things go well with Azalea today. Sending prayers. :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Leaving OV now.
Glaucoma pressure in right eye was around 60 a week ago, was 37 today, high range of kind of ok.
Cornea still a pretty Much same but not worse. Could not see enough into eye to assess lens but it is pressing against cornea.
He thinks azalea's recent dizziness might be a side effect of the cosopt combo glaucoma drops that includes beta blocker that can slow heart rate.

Thinks could continue to try drops on week by week basis and evaluate. But she will never get vision back and will likely be constant source of irritation/infection bc of lens pressing on cornea. And there is the potential risk of ocular sarcoma.

We discussed pros, cons, QOL , and my concerns that long term strain of feeling with the pain etc would likely drain her and she'd be less likely to survive surgery.

Last blood work by reg vet 1 1/2 months ago. We did new blood work at OV today. Results in tomorrow morning. OV will re-evaluate b/w and call in am with results and whether azalea safe surgery candidate
Another fast at 8am tomorrowjust in case go forward with surgery.

On way home we're both exhausted.
Hugs and hearts,
 
Oh Sina my heart goes out to you and your ongoing state of flux:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:im so sorry you are in constant two steps forward then wait, two steps then wait..that is such a hard dance, even without trying to follow Sugar Dance choreography at the same time..and your OV vet is not right around the corner..I know you were hoping for resolution one way or the other today so this has to be trying..:bighug::bighug::bighug:
I'm sorry poor Azalea keeps having to fast and is so uncomfortable :(...:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hope so too. All this bouncing all over the place (yes, Sootie I'm taking note of your bounces anti-jinx, too!)...is wearing.

I think it's my turn for BTB for a little bit, then should be better able to articulate!

Thanks again, all for all. ❤️❤️❤️Nappy time here I come (alas no graham crackers and milk)....
 
I don't know if you've already done this, Sina, but when I'm faced with a major decision about my babies and am having trouble deciding, I always ask the vet: "what would you do if this were your cat?" I've found that to be very helpful, as my vets are all great animal lovers that, like me, would do anything for their pets. They've always given me honest answers.

You didn't ask for my opinion, but I'm going to give it anyway. Feel free to ignore it. If the OV feels that Azalea is a good candidate for surgery now, and if the eye is going to be a continued source of discomfort if you keep it, I would go for the surgery. That's just me. You might have reasons why that isn't the right choice for you and I respect that. Whatever you decide, know we are all here to support and help you in any way you can.

I'm also interested in why your OV chose to test for Bartonella. As well has the ocular herpes condition. Azalea has had intermittent runny eyes most of her life, subsides for a time with AB or homeopathics, then returns. had been clear of it for awhile.
All cats have the Herpes virus in them, but in many it never surfaces. If a cat is sniffling and/or has runny eyes, Herpes is the most common culprit. Many of us give our cats L-lysine to help ward it off. There is some question as to its efficiency, but both of the OVs I've taken my cats to have recommended it. 500 mg 1-2 times a day in their food.

My OV tested for Bartonella because is is a common cause of blindness and of diabetes in cats. Since Cinco had both, it seems likely. He tested all my other cats, too, and they were all negative. Bartonella is the bacteria that causes Cat Scratch Fever. It is treated with a specific antibiotic. It's unlikely that Azalea has Bartonella, since her blindness was caused by an injury, but Herpes is very possibly an issue.

Sootie, no bouncing! We want nice, smooth, non-bean-stressing surfs from you right now!

:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Oh Sina, I am so sorry that you are still in limbo with Azalea. ugh.......I agree with Tricia about doing the surgery if she is a good surgical candidate. It is a tough decision but to get her out of pain is the best thing for her. The surgery is worse on us than them. The vets said that to me and I didn't believe them. It was true.

Sootie, you are being a love and holding nicely to take worrying about you off Momma's plate.

Keeping you in my thoughts and prayers. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I don't know if you've already done this, Sina, but when I'm faced with a major decision about my babies and am having trouble deciding, I always ask the vet: "what would you do if this were your cat?" I've found that to be very helpful, as my vets are all great animal lovers that, like me, would do anything for their pets. They've always given me honest answers.

You didn't ask for my opinion, but I'm going to give it anyway. Feel free to ignore it. If the OV feels that Azalea is a good candidate for surgery now, and if the eye is going to be a continued source of discomfort if you keep it, I would go for the surgery. That's just me. You might have reasons why that isn't the right choice for you and I respect that. Whatever you decide, know we are all here to support and help you in any way you can.


All cats have the Herpes virus in them, but in many it never surfaces. If a cat is sniffling and/or has runny eyes, Herpes is the most common culprit. Many of us give our cats L-lysine to help ward it off. There is some question as to its efficiency, but both of the OVs I've taken my cats to have recommended it. 500 mg 1-2 times a day in their food.

My OV tested for Bartonella because is is a common cause of blindness and of diabetes in cats. Since Cinco had both, it seems likely. He tested all my other cats, too, and they were all negative. Bartonella is the bacteria that causes Cat Scratch Fever. It is treated with a specific antibiotic. It's unlikely that Azalea has Bartonella, since her blindness was caused by an injury, but Herpes is very possibly an issue.

Sootie, no bouncing! We want nice, smooth, non-bean-stressing surfs from you right now!

:bighug::bighug::bighug:

Thank you, Tricia :bighug:both for the info about Bartonella, feline herpes and wise guidance. And Bobbie Gill and Les of course!!!!

OV and I had the kind of discussion today you suggested. Though not couched in the direct 'if she were your cat..' question, it was with QOL in mind and with the realities that the longer she struggles to cope with what is now chronic pain, the harder it is on her body and spirit, making surgery later on much more risky or impossible, putting us in the position of the then hardest decision of all. Very clear in body language and discussion that he was with me and felt this as deeply as if she was his kitty. Azalea was listening and watching and fully engaged, watching me throughout though still in her carrier. Every time I looked at her, I sensed from her, her concentration with us and her intensity of being: "I'm not giving up and not saying goodbye. all the pain and wobbliness and eyedrops stuff is not me. We've given that enough of an effort. Let's do what we need to do so we can go home and so I can be me again." I'm not articulating any of this very well...but OV on board. I sensed from him a deep appreciation of Azalea, her feistiness and all, and of our relationship and lifetime together.

Also, I was relieved to understand more about the surgery itself, and that they do not use fentanyl or transdermal patches. She will come home either with more Onsior or bupe (the latter new to me but rang a bell bc of this group).

Much as I haven't completely embraced the prospect of surgery, I have come to more of an acceptance of it and that continuing to pursue non-surgical route is becoming more detrimental to Azalea and with more risks later on than going for the surgery now. Yes never an easy or uncomplicated choice but it's all wrapped in love and respect for her and keeping with the deep lifelong promise/pact we each and all make with our beloved kitties.

Without your guidance and that of Les, Bobbie and Gill, I doubt I'd be as close to acceptance as I am now. ❤️❤️

Now it's a wait and see what Azalea's bloodwork results are this morning, what OV indicates about proceeding, and we go from there. Even though new bloodwork not in-house and a bit of a wait, I am relieved that we did it (and probably just as well that they don't do in-house blood work).

Had a solid nap this afternoon but awoke feeling like lead. Time with kitties and their evening routines and then, after reading your evening posts, started to reply but so heavy-tired, words to 'paper' were a jumble. Thought I'd take a little nap, then woke up in wee hours. That's why the pre-dawn reply, and no pm post shot Bg's fur Sootie!

Sootie has been sweet, stalwart and patient with all that's been going on. I think too much relieved for a reprieve from all the curve tests on Sunday! Her pmps last night 156, :cool::cool: super yay! And her appy was good. And pm shot holding at skinny 0.25u.
I've run out of her freeze dried minnows and have to hop to it to replenish her stash, she misses them. Other freeze dried treats a mere substitution for her!

About to bring late night fuds for Sootie and Azalea, cuddles and then this bean maybe another nap before the dawn.

Sweet dreams, healing vines and gentle times and with thanks in every way, :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Love and hugs
Sina
 
Sina ~ It was a process for me as well with the decision and it sounds like you are making peace with it. Keeping the best thoughts and prayers that Azalea's BW comes back okay for you to proceed and get her into a better state. :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:

Sootie, you are being a good boy for mamma!

ETA : Bubba was given pain control before he left the vet's office and I was sent home with lots of Bupe to keep him comfortable. And I believe he really was comfy because he never stopped eating through all his post op healing. ;)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top