11/25 Asia +5 30, +5.5 45, +8 52, PMPS 114, +1 141

Status
Not open for further replies.
Look at all that healing time yesterday :woot::woot: I don't think it'll be long before she heads back down....her bounces are short lived these days. Sorry about the ouchy shot, it happens :(
 
Could be a high before a low...hopefully she'll surf!
Karen, your crystal ball is on point today! +4 56! :joyful: And here I thought her ears were going to have a nice break...

:D:D:D

I was/am so afraid her age is working against us, I wasn't sure if she could do this, but she sure is on a good path right now! :cat:
 
Look at Miss Asia go!!!
Surf now little one.
I agree with Karen a little snack to help her surf might be a good idea.
Just the gravy part?
Will she eat if you mix the 12% with a little of her regular food?
You could try a small amount of honey with her regular food.

The gravy is good for bumping the numbers, but a little solid food can help sustain them a little longer and encourage the surf, rather than bobbing up and then dropping back down when it wears off.


Seems she likes wearing her green bikini better than her pink tutu.:D
 
Look at Miss Asia go!!!
Surf now little one.
I agree with Karen a little snack to help her surf might be a good idea.

Will she eat if you mix the 12% with a little of her regular food?
You could try a small amount of honey with her regular food.

The gravy is good for bumping the numbers, but a little solid food can help sustain them a little longer and encourage the surf, rather than bobbing up and then dropping back down when it wears off.


Seems she likes wearing her green bikini better than her pink tutu.:D
She will eat her regular food, but it's pretty much no carb, does that matter? She eats a lot between am shot and about +6 to +7 when I take up her food after nadir anyway. She wouldn't eat the gravy on her regular food before, but I could always try again. She doesn't seem to notice the honey, so she does eat that.

Is it more important that she eats in general, or eats higher carbs? This using food stuff to manipulate the curve really confuses me. :confused:
 
Well none of that matters for today, but I'd still like to know in the future.

+5 is 30, asymptomatic, I gave her FF gravy lovers 15 carb (teaspoon) will test again in 20 mins
 
She inhaled the FF (even the few bits of meat in there) and went over to polish off what was left of her Rad cat, which I put a drop on honey on. 30, really?! :confused:
 
Seen that coming:banghead: Don’t fill her up in case she needs more carbs. The HC can wear off. Up up and surf Asia.

Make a note on how much and what HC you fed so it can be adjusted if needed in the future
 
This is sad, she cleaned her bowl and wants to eat more. :(

I'm more apt to trust her body and give her more food, but I shouldn't, right? I need to keep her hungry for the next time I need her to eat?
 
3 mins until next test, I can feed her some more if she's low, right? She's giving me sad puppy eyes wanting food.
 
See where she is next test to make sure she’s out of the 30’s. You may need to give her more carbs with the food.
 
I'd feed some more now with the FF. You're leaning how Asia responds to carbs. Doodles needed a lot of HC to bring him up and sometimes it was an all day affair. ECID. Glad she's up a bit now. You'll need to test her every 30min until over 50 then go from there. Either more 30min checking or if she rises enough at next test you can wait an hour after that. Luckily it's getting later in the cycle but with that bounce break she could have extra momentum.

I have to run but will check back in an hour or so.
 
She inhaled the tsp of FF and is meowing at me standing near her bowl asking why I won't give her more food. This is the face I'm dealing with.
 

Attachments

  • IMG_2664.JPG
    IMG_2664.JPG
    70.3 KB · Views: 78
So the theory is, with the reduction, her body should keep doing what it's doing on 2.25 units (staying in nice blues and greens, hopefully minus the hypo), just with 2 units now instead (assuming it's not a failed reduction)?
 
In theory yes. See how her cycles go the next few days. It can take 4-6 cycles for the depot to drain just like it takes that time for it to fill on an increase. I’d expect bouncing because of the big drop more then from the low numbers. Be patient and who knows she might prove us all wrong and not bounce
 
Have to run out, older daughter is monitoring Asia and my husband has a forum login in case of emergency. Will update SS in a couple hours
 
Stacey, I'm so sorry, I never got a notification of new posts and I missed all the drama.
You were in good hands with Karen.

I don't know if you'll see this and be able to communicate with DH, but it might be an idea to give her a teaspoon or two of her regular food at +10 especially if she is still in dark green, just to keep her surfing till pmps.

Try not to feed after +10, unless it's necessary because she is below 50.
 
+11.5 106. I'm pretty sure this is food influenced, I left my daughter with instructions to keep letting her eat as she pleases because I figured food was better than being too low.

Now the dilemma, what to shoot tonight? She earned a reduction, but with how low she has been today, would it be reckless of me to shoot 2 units? I definitely do not want to skip a shot, she has always proven to go sky high when that happens and just don't trust it wouldn't happen again. If I shoot less, say 1 or 1.5 unit, perhaps it would drain the depot a bit?

Have plenty of strips, can monitor, have tons of honey and food and all that good stuff.

Thoughts, opinions, insight?
 
I'm thinking 1.5 units at the moment, going to wait another 20 mins or so to see if any more experienced eyes show up, since there is a 911 on the board.
 
1.5 seems safe to me. but that's just a gut feeling.
Thanks for the vote of confidence, I just wish I had slightly more seasoned guts in these more urgent situations ;)

Whatever Asia did today threw me for a loop and it's a new thing for her, so new to me too. I haven't come across it on other threads either, so I'm stumped. Looking for older threads with similar experience, but I'm at a loss on what to search for. It should have a name, like "super momentum inverted bounce" or something! :bookworm:
 
OK, Asia, enough fooling around. You know what might be a good idea right now? A nice, classic, regular bounce-- hit some high numbers so mamabean can get some rest tonight, OK?
 
When you shoot a reduced dose it may not affect the cycle until the second half or even the next cycle. Next time, if you can stall longer and get off schedule that's another option for shooting the full new dose of 2u. I hope it's uneventful and you both get a break after todays pokey session.
 
Sorry Stacy, I just got home. Whether you shoot a BCS or full dose you'll need to monitor like you have been.
Oh believe me, I know! And now I know that this can happen. I feel like she dropped big early in cycles before and nothing like this occurred. Can we please name this phenomena if there isn't a name already? It would really help so people could search for it.
 
Can we please name this phenomena if there isn't a name already? It would really help so people could search for it.
There is no name for it except that Asia decided to clear the bounce with momentum. You'll learn how to steer the cycle with carbs over time and how Asia reacts. Next time could be completely different...it's part of the dance.
 
There is no name for it except that Asia decided to clear the bounce with momentum. You'll learn how to steer the cycle with carbs over time and how Asia reacts. Next time could be completely different...it's part of the dance.
So that's what I'm confused with, when people say offer a snack to help surf, they don't mean just regular food (because I already free feed regular food for a good half the cycle). They mean food with higher carbs? Could that include regular food with honey? I don't mind firing all cannons for a hypo, but if it's a day to day situation, I'd rather not feed a completely different food consistently. I give a small preshot meal (tsp to tablespoon) and then give the more substantial portion at +2 when insulin kicks in. Was planning to give her a dab of honey in the +2 tonight just to keep her from repeating what she did in the am cycle (depending on her numbers, obviously, she could be pink by then, I'm sure).
 
The "surfing food" is every cat is different. You have to learn how your cat reacts to said lc, mc, hc. For instance when phoebe starts for the low 60s or high 50 I would stir with lc/mc mixed. That usually does it for her as she goes up, hopefully, I will go back to the lc. If she stalls at those numbers I feed mc only ect.. but we know every cat is different. They like to keep us on our toes. :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top