11/25 Jerry AMPS 105 /107/87 +1 83 +2 49

Jerry dutchboy

Member Since 2019
yesterday

Jerry had a snack at +9 last night (I was awake) and this morning has decided his BG should be 105/107. I'm stalling right now to see if he is going up or whether I need to just give a half dose.

Advice would be appreciated.
 
Are you going to be home? have you enough strips?

I too would like to see last nights numbers? looked like he was heading down yesterday afternoon, but what happened next???
 
He's flat at the end of the cycle, I take it you have not fed.

Because he is a big diver.
Shooting half a dose will not stop him diving at the begining of the cycle, in fact the cycle will likely pan out just about the same as if you shot the full dose.

Do you try feeding the curve?
 
If this was me and I was home I would shoot..
He looks like he bounced from the drop yesterday morning and has cleared, is clearing the bounce, so if I had to guess, I would expect an active cycle.
 
He's flat at the end of the cycle, I take it you have not fed.


Shooting half a dose will not stop him diving at the begining of the cycle, in fact the cycle will likely pan out just about the same as if you shot the full dose.

Do you try feeding the curve?
I couldn't stall any longer and decided to shoot half a dose (bad or good). I nearly always feed the curve. I tested him again and he was 87. He's having a 5% carb snack right now. It's too early for this....:coffee:
 
I couldn't stall any longer and decided to shoot half a dose (bad or good). I nearly always feed the curve. I tested him again and he was 87. He's having a 5% carb snack right now. It's too early for this....:coffee:
OK sorry my Laptop went on to do an update without asking me sorry.

The half dose as I said above is unlikely to affect the early part of the cycle, it impacts the latter half of the cycle. So really whatever you see this morning will have been the same with the full dose, the difference is that the full dose will act to keep the numbers down at the end of the cycle.

Do you think you could start noting what your are feeding and when on the SS, I used to do that when I was starting out with George, it helped me, and it helped others help me. Those that were more experienced than I were able to look at how/what I was feeding and suggest trying some things that ultimately helped us a lot.

I would get a +1 and if he is the same or dropping give him some higher carbs for a snack. To try and steady him. I don't know if that is what you usually try, as I haven't got that info.
Looking at the numbers it seems like he dives more, if he starts off from a higher point in the first place, something that is common with our lantus kitties.
 
I usually do get a +1 etc. I will be feeding the curve. Sorry for the panic this morning I hadn't had any coffee. When I've gotten lower numbers in the past he was on a much lower dose. I will monitor him this cycle.
He normally gets a little snack as I test, so +1, +2 etc. Thank you so much for jumping in this morning, I truly appreciate it.:bighug:
 
Last edited:
I usually do get a +1 etc. I will be feeding the curve. Sorry for the panic this morning I hadn't had any coffee. When I've gotten lower numbers in the past he was on a much lower dose. I will monitor him this cycle.
He normally gets a little snack as I test, so +1, +2 etc. Thank you so much for jumping in this morning, I truly appreciate it.:bighug:
No Problem, I could see that you had shot much lower before, but not with as much insulin.
I just hadn't visited for quite a while so was trying to figure out if there was something different going on.

This morning will give you data for how he would have behaved had you given the full shot anyways, I hope he's a good boy and lives up to the 'shoot low stay low' mantra

It's hard to get your head round but the size of the dose doesn't matter, as long as you got there safely, and you have plenty of data to support that you haven't missed a good dose.
I hope he stays safe.
 
No Problem, I could see that you had shot much lower before, but not with as much insulin.
I just hadn't visited for quite a while so was trying to figure out if there was something different going on.

This morning will give you data for how he would have behaved had you given the full shot anyways, I hope he's a good boy and lives up to the 'shoot low stay low' mantra

It's hard to get your head round but the size of the dose doesn't matter, as long as you got there safely, and you have plenty of data to support that you haven't missed a good dose.
I hope he stays safe.
Thank you again. I'm actually new to TR and haven't had to apply it as he's been on 1.00IU since I switched from Slgs so its new territory for me. I'm not at my best in the mornings without a gallon of coffee ha ha.
 
Thank you again. I'm actually new to TR and haven't had to apply it as he's been on 1.00IU since I switched from Slgs so its new territory for me. I'm not at my best in the mornings without a gallon of coffee ha ha.
I saw that you had swapped, and did wonder if that was the case. As Jerry i a longterm diabetic you are looking for a single drop below 40 for a reduction. I really hope he surfs for you.
I'm not at my best in the mornings without a gallon of coffee ha ha
I'm the same LOL
 
I'm glad I decided to give half a dose, at +2 he's at 49. FF gravy on board, will test again in 20 minutes.
This still the 1u, dose he has been getting.
You will not see the effect of the BCS until much later in the cycle.

Did you feed at 83? if so what did you feed?

When you do not see a food bump at +1 or if in fact they drop, it's a heads up to active cycle. I found with George I had to feed some higher low carb at least, sometimes even (MC) if he dropped like that at +1 to try and flatten him out.

I've just noticed that this is the fourth time he has dropped below 50 on this dose. I think it would be sensible to reduce to 0.75u.
Check this post about reductions by Jill
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...ng-reductions-and-starting-otj-trials.150160/
 
This still the 1u, dose he has been getting.
You will not see the effect of the BCS until much later in the cycle.

Did you feed at 83? if so what did you feed?

When you do not see a food bump at +1 or if in fact they drop, it's a heads up to active cycle. I found with George I had to feed some higher low carb at least, sometimes even (MC) if he dropped like that at +1 to try and flatten him out.

I've just noticed that this is the fourth time he has dropped below 50 on this dose. I think it would be sensible to reduce to 0.75u.
Check this post about reductions by Jill
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...ng-reductions-and-starting-otj-trials.150160/
Yep I fed 6% carb at 83, ff gravy at 49. He came up to 53 and is due for another test in 10 mins. I'll continue to feed the curve.
 
Hi Deirdre

Good to see you and Jerry. I was hoping even a good teeth cleaning would help his numbers. I see he’s still diving and bouncing :rolleyes:

Gill did a good job of explaining and you saw firsthand why shooting a BCS dose often doesn’t help much early in the cycle. I get the whole :coffee: requirement :woot:

Good luck with the reduction.:)
 
Last edited:
Back
Top