11/27 Floyd AMPS >600, +6 318

Janine & Floyd (GA)

Member Since 2018
Last post

Hello, L & L friends! I know it's been a long time, but we're finally checking in.

The last month has not been great for BG numbers. It all seems to have started with a hypo back on 10/27, which just barely earned a dose reduction. Since then, the greens have been few and far between, despite increasing his dose - up to 6 units now.

Up until yesterday, Floyd was doing great through it all. Feeling good, grooming, good appetite (in acro syle) - I even caught a purr once. Yes, once. Floyd feels purring is beneath him apparently.

We were getting to the end of his cabergoline, so I was wondering if that was part of the issue. We started a new bottle Sunday, so it remains to be seen if that helps.

Yesterday morning, he refused breakfast at first, but ate readily after 1 mg of ondansetron and was fine the rest of the day. This morning, he ate breakfast but refused his +3 meal. Gave the ondan, then he ate. He has been sleeping all day, but perked up and groomed himself about an hour ago. So maybe a mild bout of pancreatitis? No diarrhea, knock on wood. Looks like some blood work will be in order.
 
Hi Janine - I was just stalking Floyd's SS today. You must have felt your ears burning. :p He does look a bit flatter. However, I was noticing, ahem, some shots without preshot tests and no tests at night, followed by a black AMPS.;)
 
Hi Janine - I was just stalking Floyd's SS today. You must have felt your ears burning. :p He does look a bit flatter. However, I was noticing, ahem, some shots without preshot tests and no tests at night, followed by a black AMPS.;)

I admit I haven't been testing every night - but I will get back into that habit. :blackeye:

However, the preshots that were missing were just lack of updating the SS. I have gone back and filled those all in. :)
 
Night time tests are a good habit to get into. Flat blue cycles like yesterday often preceed an active cycle, like last night probably was. Also, not sure what time you shot last night, but I see you had to make up some time after yesterday morning’s stall. If last night was earlier than 12 hours after the PM shot, that would have acted a bit like an increase.

TR is an aggressive, but safe method, if you do increases with appropriate test data. I know you know this, partly writing for any lurkers looking at Floyd’s spreadsheet. But you only had three cycles of test data before increasing from 5.5 units.
On a side note, never trust an acro to do what you expect. :cat:
 
On a side note, never trust an acro to do what you expect. :cat:

Ain't that the truth!

Janine, we started caber in Oct. Olive has done very well with it. When I had her to vet earlier this month for labs it came back with p'titis, something not on our radar. So started bupre. After 7 days she still wasn't herself, glucose still higher than they had been. Kept her on it 10 days then halved the dose. That didn't work so back up in dose and her glucose are coming right down again. I have a feeling Olive will always be on bupre. Hoping at least to get her on maintenance dose. It's a thought for Floyd, maybe he just might need bupre regularly.
 
Back
Top