? 11/28, Last night hit 149 at +7.25, 133 at +9.5, first blues! (New dose help for Fluffy's AM shot?)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Nat & Fluffy

Active Member
Last link to thread: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/11-27-fluffys-amps-254.168764/#post-1830578

FLUFF HAS HIT HIS FIRST BLUE! 149 on his spreadsheet!!!
It's 3 am in the morning. Yesterday I got four hours of sleep. Today, I got three. It's currently almost 4 in the morning where I am, and on his list I scheduled a BG shot at 3:30 am (+7.25).

I am... exhausted. Happy to see a blue, but I need to be prepared if he goes hypo, and I'm still at the beginning stages of collecting data. I am scared he'll bounce, but the first blue is a good sign, yes?

I need help on dosing, for when I shoot him in the morning... should I continue with one last <2.75, or change to 2.5, or any other suggestions?

And as always, thank you fdmb <3 always thinking about your sugar kitties~
 
You need to post up early in the morning, giving yourself enough time for folks to weigh in. Usually at least a half hour before you need to give his insulin. Make sure you have the blue ? Prefix and Fluffy Need Dose Help! in the title
Don't feed two hours before your test in the morning, and wait until ypu get help.
So very happy for you!!:):bighug::cat::cool:
 
Hi Nat.

This is the first time I've visited your condo, so allow me to welcome you to L&L Land. Yes, some people are awake now. I'm a night owl on the West Coast and usually up this late.

In case no one has given you the link yet, here is our Lantus & Levemir Land Slang Dictionary to help you understand some of the unique terminology used here.


Congratulations on that blue. Too bad you weren't able to get a PMPS, so we'd have a better frame of reference for how far he fell that cycle. I'm going to go back through you last few condos to familiarize myself with your situation before I say anything silly. ;)
 
Back now - caught up. You are a wonderful Mama to Fluffy, "rescuing" him and being determined to give him the best care you can.

I see Fluffy had a mostly flat yellow cycle during the day Sunday. For many of us, that is a warning that the next cycle could be quite active, so when that happens, you need to be sure to get a PS and an early test - +2 or +3, to see where he's going. I suspect that's just what happened with fluffy. Since we don't know if that 149 is the lowest point of his cycle during the night, let's assume he might have gone even lower. Either way, there's a decent chance he will bounce today. If he does, don't be discouraged. It's normal, especially this early in the game on Lantus. However, don't become complacent, as you have no data to tell you how long a bounce might last with him. Typically it's up to 3 cycles, but some cats clear them faster and some really aggravating cats take longer. :rolleyes:

I see Sienne mentioned the comments section of your SS the other day. In case you missed the instructions for wrapping text, you just click on the top of the column to highlight it, then go up to the toolbar and click on the icon that looks like two vertical lines with an arrow running through them to the right (above the "O" column"). It will give you three more icons. You want the one in the middle, that looks like a u-turn arrow. That will wrap the test in that column and make it easier to read.

You seem to be very dedicated to Fluffy and to learning as much as you can about FD, so please keep asking questions and we'll try to keep answering them!
 
@Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey it's so nice to meet you! Thank you so much for the info and support! :bighug: I'm hoping we both can get adjusted to living together haha :)

I tested Fluffy again at +9.5, and it was 133 :eek::eek::eek: His numbers keep going steadily down! I have no idea how today is going to be like, so you got it, test, test, and test!

I had a lot of trouble getting blood out of his ears, which is very weird... I had to even bring out to ol' rice sock and heat it up. I noticed it looked like his ear healed so quickly overnight? I remember when his numbers were better, he was healing quicker too.

I'l be sure to fix that spreadsheet on my to-do list today~
 
AH I did get a PMPS test yesterday, but I didn't write it down?? Was my brain that overloaded? It was 283.
 
Last edited:
At the numbers he's at right now, I don't even know whether to keep at <2.75, lower it to 2.5, or perhaps even skipping hmm...

With FD, every day is a worry :facepalm:
 
@Julie and Eleanor thank youuu~~~ I'm so happy to see these numbers! Fluffy looks a little bug-eyed though, I'm guessing he's not used to our apartment quite yet, or his lower numbers either.

I decided to skip a dose and see what happens :nailbiting: testing as much as I can at +2, +3, etc. I hope I made a wise decision about skipping his dose :(
 
Sending a bump and hugs..I know it's hard making decisions right now when it's all so new and confusing:bighug::bighug:
What I found worked fonme was getting that early test and posting early enough to get advice right before I shot, skipped, did a reduced shot..any time I was going to shoot! If I pretty much knew what to do I verified still..I would still do that if Gussie were still getting shots! The folks here never failed to help and if my shot window was closing and I still needed help I changed the title to say NEED TO SHOOT NOW!!
Skipping today if you didn't have help was a safe choice, Fluffy won't go hypo if he did not get insulin so you don't need to worry about that today.
Hoping you have a great day!! Give Fluffy a scritch for me! He's already giving you some great numbers and the fact that they didn't shoot sky high with the stress of moving and all those changes shows how happy he is to be where he belongs, with you!:cat::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Sending a bump and hugs..I know it's hard making decisions right now when it's all so new and confusing:bighug::bighug:
What I found worked fonme was getting that early test and posting early enough to get advice right before I shot, skipped, did a reduced shot..any time I was going to shoot! If I pretty much knew what to do I verified still..I would still do that if Gussie were still getting shots! The folks here never failed to help and if my shot window was closing and I still needed help I changed the title to say NEED TO SHOOT NOW!!
Skipping today if you didn't have help was a safe choice, Fluffy won't go hypo if he did not get insulin so you don't need to worry about that today.
Hoping you have a great day!! Give Fluffy a scritch for me! He's already giving you some great numbers and the fact that they didn't shoot sky high with the stress of moving and all those changes shows how happy he is to be where he belongs, with you!:cat::bighug::bighug::bighug:

Gussie's mom, your kind words give me and Fluffy so much hope and certainty! That sounds like lovely advice! I was going to make an emergency board, but my internet was dead :blackeye:Just my luck! The connection goes on and off where I live so it really does not help in situations like this... Hahah will do, same for Gussie!! :bighug::bighug:

I will be able to take some extra tests when I return from school in a few hours (part of the reason why I skipped the shot because I am unable to watch him for a small time period today, and judging by then, I think I might start on 2.5 tonight if he climbs to the 200s, hopefully that would be a good choice~! You give me too much credit! He's such a needy sugar kitty!
 
Hello ane welcome from me too.:bighug:

I would go back to 2.75 units tonight. Think about how low the dose got Fluffy, it got him to some nice blues. We evaluate the dose based on how low it takes kitty. Eventually green healing numbers will be your goal. If you decide to follow either Tight Regulation (TR) or Start Low Go Slow (SLGS) for dosing, both methods would have you hold the dose - or keep it at 2.75 units. Lantus also likes consistency - shooting the same dose (unless he goes too low) so that the depot can build properly.

I can understand why you skipped today, and it's a good opportunity to gather data as you are doing, for the next time he gives you numbers like this. As for leaving Fluffy during the day, do you have an autofeeder? There are some good tips on how to handle being out of the house in the Sticky Is Tight Regulation Possible With A Full Time Job? You don't have to be following TR to use the tips for keeping Fluffy safe while you are gone.
 
Hello ane welcome from me too.:bighug:

I would go back to 2.75 units tonight. Think about how low the dose got Fluffy, it got him to some nice blues. We evaluate the dose based on how low it takes kitty. Eventually green healing numbers will be your goal. If you decide to follow either Tight Regulation (TR) or Start Low Go Slow (SLGS) for dosing, both methods would have you hold the dose - or keep it at 2.75 units. Lantus also likes consistency - shooting the same dose (unless he goes too low) so that the depot can build properly.

I can understand why you skipped today, and it's a good opportunity to gather data as you are doing, for the next time he gives you numbers like this. As for leaving Fluffy during the day, do you have an autofeeder? There are some good tips on how to handle being out of the house in the Sticky Is Tight Regulation Possible With A Full Time Job? You don't have to be following TR to use the tips for keeping Fluffy safe while you are gone.

Hello Wendy and Neko! :bighug::bighug: It did get him there! This week I may have some trouble testing his BG because of my classes, but I'm taking every chance I can get I'm going to go home and test him. For leaving Fluffy I don't have an autofeeder, but I will try and see if I can get one as a Christmas present. It would really help me out next semester because I have a few 9 am classes.

I need to definitely read more when I get the chance, especially because I don't know in what circumstances to lower the dose.

Thank you for advising me on the dosage! Will do that tonight :)
 
Haha as to knowing what circumstances you lower/raise the dose my best advice is "whenever @Wendy and the other veterans here advise you to consider it!"
That's the rule I followed, I just know their wealth of experience both with their cats and with helping others is knowledge base I can never even come close to!! I always deferred to their advice/suggestions and was never sorry..:bighug::bighug:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top