11/28 Sootie am and pm's on Ss & pm+2.75/132 +6.5/146

Status
Not open for further replies.

HWright

Member Since 2016
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...-134-pmps-162-5-130-11-eearlypmps-160.168763/

Good morning all and hope everyone's night was gentle.:bighug::bighug::bighug:

Before heading out to early at vet, Sootie's amps (and pm+11.5) was 160. :cool: She ate a little, seemed to be holding it down. Not knowing how long we'd be at vet and concerned that if waited too long to do am shoot, we'd be more screwed up than ever. So I shot 0.25u about an hour early from last nights pm dose time. And brought FD treats to tide us through just in case.

Sootie and I now home. We were there almost two hours (plus travel time). Dr r wanted to do new blood work. Alas Sootie's veins not obliging. So she got 100ml fluids there and I bring her back later this afternoon to try again. Have to say that Sootie is a real trooper.

I'll try to upload some photos from this morning. Martin, one of the house cats, decided to hang out with Sootie while we waited (yes he does know when a bag of treats is in the building ;) but he likes hanging out with us, too). Sootie was ok with Martin's presence and ok with sharing her treats as long as she could have some too...first or at same time!

When we got home, found fresh barf on floor at foot of bed. Which now leads to ..... who else is barfing now (and why/is there a factor-in-common?) or did Sootie sneak in a barf before we left? :banghead::facepalm::facepalm:

At least the sun's shining...and I mean this as glass half full!
 

Attachments

  • IMG_0995.JPG
    IMG_0995.JPG
    86.9 KB · Views: 70
  • IMG_0997.JPG
    IMG_0997.JPG
    82 KB · Views: 74
Sootie's +4.75@60. Several ear stabs to get enough sample to test. Is logey , inappetant , nixing treats she loved this norning, offering fresh Fud.
Glad to see her in green but..
 
Assist fed a/d and baby beef mix. Retested at +5.75, abpit DN hour after +4.75 and about 15 minutes after assist feeding: Bg 92. Quite a jump..?

Don't know for sure if the 4.75# actually 60 or reading lower bc of difficulty getting blood to draw. But she was, I guess you'd say mildly symptomatic, as described above and wobbly, hind quarters lower than front. , too. She is uncomfortable (abdomen sensitive), reclusive (and maybe from so many jabs at home and at vet today too) and still very "pouchey" from morning fluids at vet.

ETA: feeling that I should have followed my instincts to shoot lower this morning bc of shooting earlier to get to the vet.
 
If you shoot early it acts like a dose increase. That could account for Sootie's green numbers. I hope she eats more for you and feels better soon. I hope Azalea's eye is doing better. Sending prayers.

Cute pictures.
 
Thanks Carla.
Sootie's up to 108 just now. I shoulda known better and followed my instincts. Hope you forgive me Sootie: your mama bean pretty stupid lately.

Eta: correcting amps: it was 162 not 160. Not big difference but saw when doing Sootie's most recent check.
 
Last edited:
+9 at vet (4:55pm) in house labwork: 181
Vomited twice between +6.75 home test and leaving to return to vet for b/w.
Bringing Sootie back in tomorrow morning early for barium series.
Can eat tonight and have insulin but no food or insulin tomorrow morning.

Will enter Sootie's b/w as well try to finish Azalea's lab work
(Thank you @Marje and Gracie for creating that tab) tonight.

PM dosing suggestions given Sootie's continuing vomiting, her #s today (and my screw up in dosing am early)? Noting on slgs protocol. thanking in advance.
 
Don't be hard on yourself. All you can do is make the best decision at the time. You're doing a great job taking care of Sootie and your other furbabies. :bighug::bighug::bighug:

Since Sootie is not eating very well and still vomiting, you may want to shoot a reduced dose of 0.1 units tonight. I think it's better for her to have some insulin tonight since she won't get any in the morning.
 
Don't be hard on yourself. All you can do is make the best decision at the time. You're doing a great job taking care of Sootie and your other furbabies. :bighug::bighug::bighug:

Since Sootie is not eating very well and still vomiting, you may want to shoot a reduced dose of 0.1 units tonight. I think it's better for her to have some insulin tonight since she won't get any in the morning.
Thank you Carla. ❤️
 
@carfurby
Just did Sootie's pmps: 137. She is eating but should know soon whether meal stays down.
Still suggest reduced pm dose at 0.1u?
Thanking for your patience with my worries.
 
Sorry, I didn't see the tag. If you haven't already shot, and she's keeping the food down, you can shoot the 0.25 dose.
How late can you feed tonight? Her low point today was at +6, so you want to be able to give food then if needed. It's good that you moved PS up one hour this morning for that reason.
I agree with Carla, but I think that if she is vomiting up her food, you should do the reduced dose.

Many vines for the procedure tomorrow.

Thanks all. ❤️

So far Sootie has kept down supper of which she ate about 1-2 tsps worth. A mix of A/d, Evanger's pork, baby oatmeal and slippery elm with water.

I opted to do the reduced dose Carla suggested earlier. That was at
8:25pm. Right now she's resting with Bella alongside.

I'll continue to watch her and retest in awhile.

Wendy, I'm understanding what you're saying about her +6 today and point well taken....(you meaning low point being nadir right? vs amidst other kinds of low points of the day such as another day of barfing, her bean and vetty bean putting her through all kinds of pokes and seesaws?!)

Vet said she could eat tonight but didn't specify cut off time, this time bc of both the diabetes and the vomiting.

So....if I'm counting with my fingers correctly...the +6 from pm dose would be at 3am this morning. That would make for about 6 hours fasting before I bring Sootie in around 8:30am.

Does that seem appropriate fasting period under the circumstances and for the barium series without sedation?

Thanking in advance,
Sina
 
I didn't know if she was having anesthesia or just sedation. The answer really depends on what the vet expects - I've had different vets give different feeding time cut offs. If she's not having sedation, you are probably fine.
 
I didn't know if she was having anesthesia or just sedation. The answer really depends on what the vet expects - I've had different vets give different feeding time cut offs. If she's not having sedation, you are probably fine.

No anesthesia. Thank goodness. Yes, is interesting how vets' fasting protocols differ. Maybe sometimes it's because of the procedure or type of anesthetic or sedative? Sometimes it's the more empty the stomach the more safe the recovery? other times makes little sense to me.

Sootie's +2.75 was 132. So far, crossing paws and anti jinx, has kept supper down and a few soft fd treats. DH is giving her a +3 (midnight) wet fud dish (about 2tbs worth) and has a second dish ready to feed her between 2-3am, in case I fall asleep (he's Mr night owl).

I'll try to retest during the night. Right now I feel as if my eyelids are at my knees. Can barely keep them open...but that's nothing new to we Beans.

Am grateful for you all and for guiding us through yet another challenge. ❤️❤️ . Hugs and hearts and healing vibes and vibes for a smooth night and gentle day tomorrow for each DMD every one, Beans and kitties.

Sina
 
Sootie's +6.5 (3:10am)@146.
Per DH notes (and what I could see from the two dishes): vomited at 12:15am after eating about 1-2 tsps food. No notes about the 2-3am dish, but looks like a little less in dish.
 
I have not been on in a while so I apologize if this has been suggested --can she take cerenia? ondansetron? both?
sending prayers....:bighug::bighug::bighug:
Thank you Jayla and good morning. NTW, I apologize too for not being as engaged in others' condos as I have been at times.

Yes I've talked to vet twice about cerenia and ondasetron. He only does the cerenia injections and doesn't have the other in his pharmacy. I'm planning to get today either an rx for the ondasetron or a cerenia injection for Sootie. Yesterday they didn't do some of the tests I asked for (such as t3/t4, p'titis) so am restraining my ire exacerbated by sleep deprivation and worry.

Hoping Sootie does ok with today's tests and crossing paws that results will be no blockage.❤️
 
Thank you Jayla and good morning. NTW, I apologize too for not being as engaged in others' condos as I have been at times.

Yes I've talked to vet twice about cerenia and ondasetron. He only does the cerenia injections and doesn't have the other in his pharmacy. I'm planning to get today either an rx for the ondasetron or a cerenia injection for Sootie. Yesterday they didn't do some of the tests I asked for (such as t3/t4, p'titis) so am restraining my ire exacerbated by sleep deprivation and worry.

Hoping Sootie does ok with today's tests and crossing paws that results will be no blockage.❤️
prayers.....
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top