11/29 Rhubarb AMBG 97 NS, +1 137, PMPS=272, +2 200, +4 187, +5 149

majandra

Member Since 2018
Yesterday's condo

Rhubarb appeared to have fun with that skinny 0.25 that I gave last night. She is still a wonderful green, but I can't shoot that!

It is 6am now (+11.5) I have to leave for work at 7:15 and have nobody to check her in a few hours. My job will be minimum 3 hrs before I will be back through town.

What do I do?
 
Thanks,

Two questions- when I skip a shot, do I put the numbers in title as +12 etc?

Also, is there any way to make sure that she will be high enough at PS? I added only a little bit of food to her bedtime leftovers when I did my 230am test. She ate nothing more overnight. Is that the problem?
 
Oh, and one more question- since I am skipping this shot, can I shoot her a little earlier? 630pm is +24 from last shot. I'd like to shoot more like 530pm if that won't mess things up.

Rhubarb isn't as interested in food as normal right now. Kinda odd.
Edit: she is eating now that I moved dish in front of her. She was likely just protesting that I didn't give her the usual beef chunk after shot.
 
Also, is there any way to make sure that she will be high enough at PS? I added only a little bit of food to her bedtime leftovers when I did my 230am test. She ate nothing more overnight. Is that the problem?
There is no easy way to do this. Eventually you will get a chance to shoot a lower number and then you will be comfortable doing it and won't have to skip as much. But for now, we have to keep Rhubarb safe.
 
Glad you skipped. Eventually, shooting lower numbers will be easier. It's great that he's hitting greens having just started insulin. Hope he gets OTJ quickly:bighug:
 
I would take those low AMPS, Jones AMPS generally are always high...they never really did come down to a nice AMPS.

Hopefully she gives you the chance soon to shoot a green so you can see how she does.

I
 
I plan on doing SLGS, but what if her sugars are never high enough to to actually follow that protocol? So far she has really only been getting one solid shot a day.
 
Tonight should she get the same size dose as I did last night, or the proper 0.25 that I couldn't quite get?

Is there a trick to doing micro adjustments without shooting out too much?

Is where I'm doing the injections making any significant difference? I can show the exact spots on a photo later if it matters. They've been on her sides as vet showed .
 
0.25 U given, and Rhubarb loved the chicken gizzard that I gave her. And it took long enough to eat that I shot while she ate!
 
Is where I'm doing the injections making any significant difference? I can show the exact spots on a photo later if it matters. They've been on her sides as vet showed .
I've read some people say this makes a difference but I'm not sure if it does for every cat.

Tonight should she get the same size dose as I did last night, or the proper 0.25 that I couldn't quite get?

Is there a trick to doing micro adjustments without shooting out too much?
Sorry no one answered you about the dose. You were fine to shoot 0.25 units. A lot of people here use calipers to make dose changes. They really help with small adjustments.
Here is some info on calipers: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dosing-with-calipers-updated-w-videos.79851/
 
Back
Top