11/3 Boomer AMPS 113 yet another reducie, +3 99 +5 103 +10 124 PMPS 106 +1 124 +3 130

Status
Not open for further replies.

Judy and Boomer

Member Since 2014
Yesterday: Another long night
Good morning!
Another very long night with Boomer who dropped well into shark territory and didn't seem to want to leave. I believe I gave syrup 3 times and broke out the ff with gravy at least twice. Even at +9 he was still only 63.

AMPS 113 shooting yet another reduction of .25 to 2.25. I can't believe how quickly his doses are going down now!

I must admit I was tempted to reduce further this morning down to 2.0. I've had four pj parties with Boomer in the past 10 days and only avoided a 5th when I gave a BCS. If anyone has opinions on this I would be happy to hear them as I could reduce further tonight.

Allen ate well overnight and was very hungry this morning!

On the Bean's agenda today: well a nap is definitely in order...once I finally got to bed last night at 3:00 I couldn't sleep. I was awake at 5:00, heard Boomer's dish turn, saw him laying on the bench (he was tuckered out, poor thing :rolleyes:) so I got him up to eat. I went btb and eventually went to sleep and slept until his AMPS alarm.
 
That was quite a night last night! I'm not feeling like I can offer advice because I've never rocketed down the dosing ladder, but hopefully someone else will weigh in on that. I know sometimes when you hit a breakthrough, the depot can get ahead of you, but again, I'm not feeling comfortable about digging in on that. I'll see if I can round up some eyes for you!

Enjoy the nap today!!!
 
Congrats on the reducie. I hope Boomer surfs safely today and lets you get a nap in. I'm not sure about reducing further. You don't want him to lose momentum.
 
Boomer, you're rockin the juice buddy but remember mama has to take care of your so go easy buddy. IDK Judy about reducing further but I also understand being sleep deprived. I'd almost just do another BCS if needed so you can sleep and keep having him earn the reducies. Hope you get that nappy in today. :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
IDK Judy about reducing further but I also understand being sleep deprived. I'd almost just do another BCS if needed so you can sleep and keep having him earn the reducies
I'm just concerned that one of these times I'm not going to be able to get his levels up....he was rather stubborn about it last night! But on the other hand, I don't want to lose this momentum. So idk.

Another option might be.....when I see him on a downward trend during the day (and had I got a +9 yesterday I would have seen it) to give him the .25 reduction right away at PM instead of actually waiting for the very low numbers to happen. So basically a BCS but only decrease it by .25u. I actually might try this next time.
 
I'm just concerned that one of these times I'm not going to be able to get his levels up....he was rather stubborn about it last night! But on the other hand, I don't want to lose this momentum. So idk.

Another option might be.....when I see him on a downward trend during the day (and had I got a +9 yesterday I would have seen it) to give him the .25 reduction right away at PM instead of actually waiting for the very low numbers to happen. So basically a BCS but only decrease it by .25u. I actually might try this next time.
grab all the rest you can when you can.

The +9s and + 10s are very important during a race down the dosing ladder and will help you immensely with dosing decisions. Beyond that you will need to follow your instincts.

Please remember when using a BCS, the result will most likely not be seen immediately due to depot action so continued monitoring is required. Even with a BCS the cycle may need to be guided.

Hang in there!
 
I agree with Sandy. It's a tough call. On the one hand, you don't want to break momentum, but on the other hand you want to keep him safe. ECID. I've never had this particular "problem". The depot is the wild card here.
I hope you can get in a good nap today.

Yo Deputy Boomer, The shark nets are mended. You don't have to check them out today!
~ LagoonMeister Rusty
 
I agree with Sandy and the other thing you have to watch for is taking too many back to back reductions. If you need sleep and it looks like he’s headed down again at PMPS, I’d rather see you shoot a BCS and then get back to the dose the next day than take a chance of earning a reduction too soon.

To Sandy’s point...and I used to do this with Gracie on Lantus....if you check the +10 and he’s dropping, I’d give him a small, LC snack to try and slow it down and give him a little higher number to work with at PMPS. You don’t want a big increase...just a little bit so experiment with it and see how much bump he gets from a tsp of LC.

The other thing is when his PMPS is lower, check the +1. If you don’t have a food spike at +1, you are likely going to have a long cycle. Feed him some MC if he’s already dropping at +1. The goal is to prevent the drop to prevent back to back reductions.

Any time a cat is racing down the dosing ladder (and we don’t know for sure if he’s doing that or just racing through a few doses), we need to test more.
 
I agree with Sandy and the other thing you have to watch for is taking too many back to back reductions. If you need sleep and it looks like he’s headed down again at PMPS, I’d rather see you shoot a BCS and then get back to the dose the next day than take a chance of earning a reduction too soon.

To Sandy’s point...and I used to do this with Gracie on Lantus....if you check the +10 and he’s dropping, I’d give him a small, LC snack to try and slow it down and give him a little higher number to work with at PMPS. You don’t want a big increase...just a little bit so experiment with it and see how much bump he gets from a tsp of LC.

The other thing is when his PMPS is lower, check the +1. If you don’t have a food spike at +1, you are likely going to have a long cycle. Feed him some MC if he’s already dropping at +1. The goal is to prevent the drop to prevent back to back reductions.

Any time a cat is racing down the dosing ladder (and we don’t know for sure if he’s doing that or just racing through a few doses), we need to test more.
Ok thanks Marje! I've been testing (sometimes) at +9 when I believe he may drop (yesterday was totally unexpected) and he does get a meal at +9. And generally (again when I think he will drop) I test the +2 and historically that has been enough notice that something is going to happen. Lately....not so much and last night he was obviously already too low and I had to give him syrup and food at +2. So yes I will test at +1 from now on.
 
The +9s and + 10s are very important during a race down the dosing ladder and will help you immensely with dosing decisions. Beyond that you will need to follow your instincts.

Please remember when using a BCS, the result will most likely not be seen immediately due to depot action so continued monitoring is required. Even with a BCS the cycle may need to be guided.
Thanks Sandy! Yes I have been grabbing +9 tests when I believe there's a chance he is still dropping. Yesterday's continuous drop was totally unexpected. If I give a BCS (or if I decided to reduce by .25 ahead of the drop) I would still monitor his +2 and +3 and if his +3 is higher than PMPS I would feel ok with not testing for the rest of the night.
I have no problem staying up with him; I will do whatever I need to keep him safe. I'm just afraid that one of these times I won't be able to bring him up. He was stubborn about it last night.
 
I agree with Sandy. It's a tough call. On the one hand, you don't want to break momentum, but on the other hand you want to keep him safe. ECID. I've never had this particular "problem". The depot is the wild card here.
I hope you can get in a good nap today.

Yo Deputy Boomer, The shark nets are mended. You don't have to check them out today!
~ LagoonMeister Rusty
Thanks Ella! I've never had this problem before either! :rolleyes:
 
Boomer, you're rockin the juice buddy but remember mama has to take care of your so go easy buddy. IDK Judy about reducing further but I also understand being sleep deprived. I'd almost just do another BCS if needed so you can sleep and keep having him earn the reducies. Hope you get that nappy in today. :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
Thanks Karen! It's tough to predict what he's going to do these days and to balance keeping him safe with my need for some sleep!
 
I'll see if I can round up some eyes for you!
Thanks Amy! I've certainly had pj parties with Boomer before but nothing like this! Right now my instincts are telling me that it's going to happen again on the current dose of 2.25 and I'll be reducing further within a few days.
I love that he's working the juice now and earning reductions! But it would be so much less stressful if he'd earn it by staying in green for a week:rolleyes:
 
Ok thanks Marje! I've been testing (sometimes) at +9 when I believe he may drop (yesterday was totally unexpected) and he does get a meal at +9. And generally (again when I think he will drop) I test the +2 and historically that has been enough notice that something is going to happen. Lately....not so much and last night he was obviously already too low and I had to give him syrup and food at +2. So yes I will test at +1 from now on.
Honestly, I think a test at +9, for where he is, has little value. It’s fine for a cat that is about to go OTJ to help determine if a little snack will cause the pancreas to work and pull down the PS but the goal for Bommer is entirely different here and that’s why testing and feeding at +10 might work better for him.
 
It's tough to predict what he's going to do these days
Yesterday's continuous drop was totally unexpected.
I test the +2 and historically that has been enough notice that something is going to happen.
The history is in the past. Boomer isn't following the old playbook anymore. It's time to figure out the new rules. When Neko went screaming down the dosing scale (both times after SRT), I had to rethink my strategy for testing. Expect the unexpected. :cool: You may even have to change what foods you give at what time if he's low. You got a 38 early in the cycle last night, I might have reached for the syrup instead of HC gravy.

He's making you work this time. :D
 
Honestly, I think a test at +9, for where he is, has little value. It’s fine for a cat that is about to go OTJ to help determine if a little snack will cause the pancreas to work and pull down the PS but the goal for Bommer is entirely different here and that’s why testing and feeding at +10 might work better for him.
It's always been my understanding that feeding that close to shot time is a no-no because it inflates the PS # so you don't actually know what number you're shooting? At least that's what I understood and of course I may have misunderstood?
 
Like Wendy said, expect the unexpected.

You have entered a period akin to driving downhill with one foot on the gas and the other on the brakes.

When looking at the ss for guidance, remember anything older than 2 weeks is ancient history.

Marje makes a good point about avoiding too many reductions in close succession for Boomer. Always keep in mind that Boomer is long term diabetic.
 
avoiding too many reductions in close succession for Boomer
Yes I know those reductions came very quick! If it backfires and I have to take him back up....well it is what it is. Meanwhile, Boomer's safety is, of course, my first concern and he earned that reduction!
Thanks Sandy!
remember anything older than 2 weeks is ancient history.
Yes I'm getting a feeling for that now lol. Just when you think you have them figured out.....they prove you wrong!
 
It's always been my understanding that feeding that close to shot time is a no-no because it inflates the PS # so you don't actually know what number you're shooting? At least that's what I understood and of course I may have misunderstood?
Feeding after +10. And it’s not a no-no for an experienced member. We don’t like brand new members or members who have little data or do not know their cat or understand the insulin to do it because they don’t have any data and are not familiar with food spikes or how to deal with them. For an experienced member who knows their cat, it’s not a big deal. But if it worries you, feed at +10.

The more experience you have and the more you understand your cat, the more flexibility you have and can potentially take on things like shooting early/late, feeding and shooting within two hours of the shot, whether your cat is a slow responder to a dose change so you need to hold the dose longer, etc. For instance, with Gracie, shooting an hour late or early never affected her numbers. Of course, I didn’t know that at first so I was always on time. As I got more data and knew her better, I’d have times where I might shoot 30 mins late or early. That didn’t have an effect so then I tried an hour (just so I’d have some flexibility if I needed to and I’d already know how it might affect her).
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top