Hi Anne, I think my position is different with Crystal, who is a very high dose cat. Firstly, I'm retired so I am generally around to keep an eye on her. Having said that, I now feel confident giving her a dose of R, either her full dose of 22u or a reduced dose, say 11u, if we are going out in the evening, depending of course on her PS number. But this is only because I have collected lots of data and know how she responds to it. In time you will build up your own data and will be able to adjust the dose accordingly. Also Crystal doesn't seem prone to diving (anti-jinx) which makes life easier for me. If you check her SS you will see regular and methodical increases of both Lev and R. However, her Lev dose has been capped at 60u for a while now, which is a financial decision, and I just adjust the R when the dose goes a bit stale and she starts to creep up, as she is currently doing at the moment. I give her R every day, at AMPS and again either at +10 or PMPS, without it the Lev alone isn't able to pull her numbers down. Crystal also got into the dog biscuits and it played havoc with her numbers so i have to make sure there aren't any left out overnight. I've stopped all dry kibble for the civvies as well, just seemed the easier option, and I must say one of the benefits has been that two of the most "heavy" cats have now trimmed down nicely since they are only on wet food.
It's early days with Hyde, don't get too despondent you just have to keep on doing what you are doing, steadily increasing until you find the right dose, and don't be frightened if it's a big number, she needs as much insulin as she needs. Hopefully the regular use of R will prove a very useful tool in getting those nice flat low blue surfs. scritches to Hyde and Jekyll.