11/3 Hyde AMPS 593 PMPS 482 +4 237 +6.5 331 +9 429

Status
Not open for further replies.
Sorry to hear that, Hyde, you better come back down to those pretty blue numbers soon :bighug:
 
Good morning Anne -

It's difficult when we don't see our kitties responding to the insulin. For high dose kitties, however, the rules are a little different than the standard SLGS or Roomp-Rand protocols. If we're not seeing a significant response, we increase the Levemir/Lantus every 3rd day (6th dose). And I personally found increases of 20-25% to be more effective in fighting the resistance. At a minimum, at least until you start consistently seeing improved numbers. Keep in mind, going from 1u to 1.5u is a 50% increase. But a 1u increase at 13 is only about 7%. (see Grayson's SS tab from May to Dec 2012 when we were climbing).

I see you're trying the R. It looks like you're seeing a residual effect of the R on a later cycle, though that's not usually how it responds. However, Heather's Sneakers did this as well. Hyde apparently needs more, but that increase should be gradual as we discussed previously - R is more of a "wild card". I don't usually encourage increasing both insulins, but rather letting the L take the lead. I'm concerned she's staying in such high numbers. Grayson did that as well, when I found him in the cupboard eating dog and cat Kibble out of sealed containers. The dry food is certainly a factor in Hyde's numbers, but not the sole influence. I know it's hard in a multi-cat home, but we need to get her numbers down to minimize damage to her organs. If the food can't change, then the insulin needs to be aggressively increased.

@suki & crystal - she had a similar experience, perhaps she can share some advice.
 
Aww common Hyde! You can do better! Is she still getting the R? Not sure how that works myself really, but I know Suki does give a lot to Crystal to help bring her down. Perhaps it's just a matter of slowly increasing til you find that sweet spot. Sending lots of good luck vines your way!
 
Is she still getting the R?
Nope - since I cannot be home to test her. Ideally she would get the R after the L nadir and then test every hour for 4 hours to get more data. I could have shot at +8 last night but then not gotten any sleep for the rest of the night:eek::rolleyes:

I will get some more data on her reaction to shooting R this weekend.
 
Nope - since I cannot be home to test her. Ideally she would get the R after the L nadir and then test every hour for 4 hours to get more data. I could have shot at +8 last night but then not gotten any sleep for the rest of the night:eek::rolleyes:
I always wondered how going to work, worked out with giving R. Seems like most people give it a few hours before AMPS and PMPS, but that means I could only give R at night (if I needed to), none of those afternoon +10s or anything. Good luck figuring it all out!!!
 
Once I get enough data and am sure she will not crash, I might be willing to get up and give her a small dose overnight. That would give her less time in the high numbers.

No one is home during the day to give her a shot - now if I could only train her brother, Jekyll to do it :)
 
With Lev, I shot them together, as G was nadiring about +9. Fortunately I work 5 min from home, so I can stop by if need be. I do shots at 10/10, so if he (or Spartacus) was going down too fast I could carb him up. Likewise, his overnight nadir would be when I was waking up and getting ready, so that's how I best could adjust my schedule.

And yes, weekends are best to try R.
 
Paws crossed that you can find the right dose for Hyde soon. I know how hard it is Toby was at 18 units once. Now down 16.
 
Hi Anne, I think my position is different with Crystal, who is a very high dose cat. Firstly, I'm retired so I am generally around to keep an eye on her. Having said that, I now feel confident giving her a dose of R, either her full dose of 22u or a reduced dose, say 11u, if we are going out in the evening, depending of course on her PS number. But this is only because I have collected lots of data and know how she responds to it. In time you will build up your own data and will be able to adjust the dose accordingly. Also Crystal doesn't seem prone to diving (anti-jinx) which makes life easier for me. If you check her SS you will see regular and methodical increases of both Lev and R. However, her Lev dose has been capped at 60u for a while now, which is a financial decision, and I just adjust the R when the dose goes a bit stale and she starts to creep up, as she is currently doing at the moment. I give her R every day, at AMPS and again either at +10 or PMPS, without it the Lev alone isn't able to pull her numbers down. Crystal also got into the dog biscuits and it played havoc with her numbers so i have to make sure there aren't any left out overnight. I've stopped all dry kibble for the civvies as well, just seemed the easier option, and I must say one of the benefits has been that two of the most "heavy" cats have now trimmed down nicely since they are only on wet food.

It's early days with Hyde, don't get too despondent you just have to keep on doing what you are doing, steadily increasing until you find the right dose, and don't be frightened if it's a big number, she needs as much insulin as she needs. Hopefully the regular use of R will prove a very useful tool in getting those nice flat low blue surfs. scritches to Hyde and Jekyll.
 
It's a difficult dance under normal circumstances. With a high dose cat, that difficulty increases exponentially. You're doing the best you can do. And as you keep going with the R trials on the weekends, you'll gather more data. More data will give you more control.

Marilyn and Polly
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top