11/30 Jack amps 214

Status
Not open for further replies.

saltycat

Member Since 2016
yesterdays condo

Looks like Jack finally broke his blue/green streak. A full week with no yellows! I'll put the patience pants on for a day to see if this is just a bounce or if I decreased the dose too much.

I'm tired, a few late night tests can really wear the bean down. I swear it used to be easier to stay up or spot check in the night. I guess a lot of work and some interrupted sleep can be a bad combo.:D

I called the vet yesterday and they were able to see in the chart that the vet had recommended prednisone if the AB didn't help. I politely mentioned we had discussed using budesonide since it is more selective to the GI tract then a general steroid. They checked with the vet and I'll have the script today with no need for a vetty visit.... yet.

Next step is seeing where I can get it at a reasonable price. I have seen everything from $30ish a month to goodrx where a month supply is a few hundred dollars. I'm going to check with a local compounding shop first and then move to wedgewood or diamondback if the price is still in the clouds.

He took a dip on the weight during the last weigh in, but it can be hard to tell with him since he eats so much. I'm guessing a single big poop can be almost half a pound judging by the size compared to a 6 oz can of food. Overall it is still pretty consistent with him in the low to mid 11's. I should plot it out to get a curve.

Happy Thursday
 
I hope the yellows today are just a bounce and Jack gets back on track. I'm glad you got the budesonide. I hope you can find a good price for it and it helps.
 
I like this compounding shop I've been using. The owner about gave me a heart attack when he said his cost for a 30 day supply was over $300 for the generic. He did a little work and found that strangely, the same mg of medicine compounded is only $60. The only difference is the pill form has a coating to help get past the stomach before releasing the medicine. With a cats short digestive tract they thought it would be fine using a compounded version. It might not be quite as effective, but a whole lot cheaper. Picking up tomorrow and hopefully we will get some meat back on the boy.
 
Hi there!! I hope you can get the bup reasonably, anytime I have bought it from the vet office it was quite spendy.

Hope the reduction holds.
 
Last edited:
Sorry Jack is varying his colour scheme, but after the shark visit last night I wouldn't be increasing anytime soon.

I found compounded chicken flavoured budesonide both easier to give and cheaper than pills from the vet. My cost difference was nearly so dramatic though. Maybe 25% cheaper. Good luck. I hope it helps Jack as quickly and as well as it did Neko.
 
Yep, certainly no room for an increase and Jack confirmed it. Glad you didn't get trigger happy over 1 pink ;) Hopefully the bude helps his GI issues and he puts some weight on.
 
first pinks in a while, maybe 2.25u?
Giving it a day to see if he is bouncing... otherwise he gets more juice

Looks like just a bounce, even a pink at shot time had me up during the night to watch the bounce clearing. We will see where he ends up in a day or two after the depot stabilizes a bit more. He might end up at 2.25u, but letting him make the decisions for now.

But for both drugs, getting it from a compounding pharmacy is much cheaper. The only issue with compounded budesonide is that it would only last a month.

Yes, MUCH cheaper at a compounding shop. It went from over $300 a month for pill form(generic) to $60 for a month of compounded budesonide.

The pill form is the little beads in a capsule, they time release after getting past the stomach. They were a bit hesitant about compounding at first due to concerns about effectiveness of a compound versus the pill form. Since it is for a cat they were not sure but the consensus was with the short digestive tract in kitties it should be ok.

Glad you didn't get trigger happy over 1 pink
:pThose patience pants can pinch occasionally, but after his run of nice colors it was easy to hold off and let him decide... Plus I *thought* I had a safe night to sleep but Mr. Unpredictable had other plans:rolleyes:.

Pharmacy just called and his bude is ready for pickup (happy dance)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top