11/4 SHEBA AMPS 203 +5 430 here is the expected bounce, after night in lagoon

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bron and Sheba (GA)

Member Since 2015
Last condo
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...164-4-88-4-5-54-5-68-5-5-49-6-56-8-85.146869/

AMPS 203
Another action filled night after coming off yet another bounce of 2 cycles.
Sheba dropped very fast from PMPS to +5.....329 points
LC and honey was not enough to stop her dropping so I gave her honey and 16 carb each half hour 3 times just to maintain the numbers. After the third time she rose.
I was tempted to lower her dose again this morning............this is the 5 th cycle.........but decided to see how she went today.
I am sure she will bounce after dropping so far and fast last night.
 
Yo Sheba,
You've got to stay out of the deep end so that your mamabean won't have to pull you up with fuds. Tell her that the waterwings are always at the ready in the lagoon.


I think that you should hold this dose at least for another cycle and let her settle in. At least you know her liver is working!

Ella & Rusty
 
Thanks Ella
I would rather hold the dose as I want to maintain momentum. Just wish she was a calmer and slower dropper! It is exhausting when she drops like this because I can't trust her to not drop too low.

Thanks Rusty.........I haven't had waterwings on since I was a kitten! They might be fun. I'll twy and stay out of the deep end but it is hard not to go dere!
 
Sheba certainly likes an exciting life, poor mamabean would much prefer flatter and calmer days, and nights. Hang in there Bron, perhaps one day she will give it all up for a quiet life :bighug:
 
Hi Bron. I hope Sheba's bounce in numbers is not too high and that it doesn't last too long and I hope you are not too exhausted this morning. I was up every few hours testing Lucy's glucose levels too. Our schedule is off schedule due to a late dose the other day so the AM dose yesterday was given in the afternoon and the PM dose early this morning. Lucy enjoyed the snacks every few hours. Hugs to you and pats to Sheba too. I don't know how you do it with everything you have to do.
 
Thanks Carla, Suki and Voula for visiting.
Well, no slide today.........here is the expected bounce after that Big Dipper dive last night.
+5 430
I am going to have to go back to what I was doing before and monitor the drop more closely. Last nights drop got away from me completely.
At least she chose a good day to bounce. I have school pickup and it is pouring with rain so parking will be bad and the roads not much better, so I could be held up.
Yesterday afternoon the kids nanny (who does the early mornings and gets them off to school) was in a head on car smash and is in hospital. Her husband said she was OK.
 
Goodness! And I thought Miss Meows was enjoying some nose dives a little while ago. Do you think these bounces a sign of flare ups of pancreatitis? Or just Sheba being bouncy? Honestly, I wouldn't know, I'm just curious what you think.

Crazy about the kids nanny. Glad that her husband said she's ok. Must be scary!
 
Thanks Carla, Suki and Voula for visiting.
Well, no slide today.........here is the expected bounce after that Big Dipper dive last night.
+5 430
I am going to have to go back to what I was doing before and monitor the drop more closely. Last nights drop got away from me completely.
At least she chose a good day to bounce. I have school pickup and it is pouring with rain so parking will be bad and the roads not much better, so I could be held up.
Yesterday afternoon the kids nanny (who does the early mornings and gets them off to school) was in a head on car smash and is in hospital. Her husband said she was OK.
Bounces can be very convenient sometimes. That is good that the children's nanny is okay though it must have been a frightening experience to be involved in the accident and hopefully anyone else who may have been involved is okay too and that everyone recovers from the shock very soon.
 
Goodness! And I thought Miss Meows was enjoying some nose dives a little while ago. Do you think these bounces a sign of flare ups of pancreatitis? Or just Sheba being bouncy? Honestly, I wouldn't know, I'm just curious what you think.

Crazy about the kids nanny. Glad that her husband said she's ok. Must be scary!
@missMeows
No I don't think the bounces are anything to do with pancreatitis. When she has a flare up she doesn't want to eat and she looks sick. With the bounces you would not know there is any change in bsl.
The first time she needed insulin, she was a dream kitty and went into remission within 3 months. She was fine for over 2 1/2 years until she got sick and she fell out of remission. Since then she has been a very bouncy cat..
If I monitor the drops and minimise them the bounces are better, but it is extremely time consuming and doing it day after day is just not feasible. But I am going to try and do it again to see if I can make a difference. When I did it back in May, she started to get great numbers for several weeks.
@Voula
I haven't heard how the nanny is after the initial phone call to DIL after the accident. Apparently someone ran into her head on and the car is a write off.
 
If I monitor the drops and minimise them the bounces are better, but it is extremely time consuming and doing it day after day is just not feasible. But I am going to try and do it again to see if I can make a difference. When I did it back in May, she started to get great numbers for several weeks.
Does sound terribly time consuming indeed! One other thought, and again I'm just curious and forgive me if this has been discussed before... Even though Sheba isn't an acro kitty (that I'm aware of), do you think she could benefit and even out by getting some R? From what I'm understanding so far with using R, is that you can use less Levemir with it to help bring down the initial numbers resulting in more even cycles. Perhaps something like that would help even her out and be less time consuming for you?
 
Sheba, Sheba, Sheba you've got to slow down little girl, you'll enjoy a much longer swim if you haven't tired yourself out racing to get there!
 
Hang on, Sheba. I'm sending Cinco and Harvey down with the ropes! They'll get you down from there!!

How awful for the nanny (and not great for you dil, either). I hope the injuries are not serious. Sending vines for her. Are the kids upset about it?
 
Thanks Gabrielle, Tricia, Serryn and Marilyn for your support.
Tricia....haven't heard how the nanny is yet. Not answering their mobiles. She was hit while stationary at lights. Kids are very concerned...she is very popular with them. And thanks for the ropes Cinco and Harvey...-a mighty job! Hope Sheba comes down tonight.
@missMeows.
Gabrielle, I have had no experience with R at all, but as far as I am aware R is only used when you need to bring down the BSL so the Lantus or Levemir can do its work. Sheba doesn't have a problem with the levemir not bringing down the BSL....her problem is with bouncing. And I have never seen R used for bouncing. I would think it wouldn't be safe as you don't know when the bounce will break and if you gave R when it was breaking it could be very difficult to control the drop I would imagine. But it is very kind of you to think of us and try to help. Thank you!:)
 
Gabrielle, I have had no experience with R at all, but as far as I am aware R is only used when you need to bring down the BSL so the Lantus or Levemir can do its work. Sheba doesn't have a problem with the levemir not bringing down the BSL....her problem is with bouncing. And I have never seen R used for bouncing. I would think it wouldn't be safe as you don't know when the bounce will break and if you gave R when it was breaking it could be very difficult to control the drop I would imagine. But it is very kind of you to think of us and try to help. Thank you!:)
Ah, that makes sense. You're doing an awesome job by the way! Sheba is lucky to have picked a bean like you :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top