12/08 Mačka AM 177 stalled for 2.5hours, +1 225

Penelope and Mačka

Member Since 2019
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...-soon-airplane-questions.222552/#post-2488148

AMPS 177, never in his life of a diabetic cat.
I know I have to shoot low to stay low, but I am terrified. I fed him, and only after realized I should have stalled and tested him again, but now it's too late.

It's 6 am and I usually go back to bed after the shot but this time I have to stay awake to monitor him, poor baby's ears.

Wish me luck

ETA: I have not shot yet at +1
 
Last edited:
If you can monitor and have all the necessary supplies, I would shoot. You can do it, Penelope!!!!

Get a +1 and +2.
I have the supplies but nothing tells me he'll be hungry in an hour or 2? Also, how much can HC save a cat if he's going too low? I have no idea as he never did this to me before! I am losing it
 
If he does need HC before +4, do you think he’ll eat it? Sometimes cats will like the HC more and eat.

If you do need to “save” kitty from a hypoglycaemic episode, then rubbing honey on the gums is how we treat cats who aren’t eating or can’t eat. Although paws crossed that never happens. But it’s good to be prepared.
 
If you’re not comfortable, Penelope, you can shoot a reduced dose. I was hoping Macka would be higher to make it easier for you to shoot.

I don’t think the dose needs to be reduced by half though. I’m a little undecided about the reduced dose. Sorry!
 
If you’re not comfortable, Penelope, you can shoot a reduced dose. I was hoping Macka would be higher to make it easier for you to shoot.

I don’t think the dose needs to be reduced by half though. I’m a little undecided about the reduced dose. Sorry!
I understand, I have no idea either.

I can wait a little more.
 
I do agree with @LizzieInTexas. I'm only recommending the reduced dose because you're not comfortable, Penelope, which sometimes is also something we take into account. To me and IMO, 166 essentially is the same as 177. He might be a cat that doesn't have much of a food bump or needs longer/an hour for food to take effect.
 
A 177 is very safe. We tell members brand new to TR to ask for help if numbers are below 150. It's fine to shoot if you are going to be home to monitor, have strips and high carb food if it's needed.

At some point, you have to bite the bullet and shoot lower. Just an FYI, the 241 that you shot on 11/16 is not significantly different than the 177 when you factor in meter variance.
 
A 177 is very safe. We tell members brand new to TR to ask for help if numbers are below 150. It's fine to shoot if you are going to be home to monitor, have strips and high carb food if it's needed.

At some point, you have to bite the bullet and shoot lower. Just an FYI, the 241 that you shot on 11/16 is not significantly different than the 177 when you factor in meter variance.
That's what I keep telling myself, but I feel like a little chicken right now :oops: How fast can a cat drop? within a 1/2 hour? 1 hour? 2 hours? How fast can I catch a drop and keep him safe?

Okay, I'll do it.

Thank you all for being so kind and helpful.
 
Penelope --

Most cat's don't drop within a half hour. It doesn't look like Macka has an early nadir. My Gabby did have an early nadir and as a result, her numbers could drop early in the cycle.

One way for you to have a good sense of how your cat is responding if you shoot low is to get early tests. It will allow you to see what happens and if numbers are dropping, you will know and can intervene. If you'll be reassured, get a test after a half hour, at +1 and then go from there. I doubt you'll need to test every 30 min but it's up to you. If Macka's numbers do drop, then look at this post on how to handle low numbers.
 
I was still debating and tested again at 8am (AMPS +2.5) and he is back at 164.
Still not sure what to do, even though you're all kindly telling me to shoot :eek:
 
nothing tells me he'll be hungry in an hour or 2? Also, how much can HC save a cat if he's going too low?
That's what the karo/honey is for.

My thoughts. Eventually, you are going to have to shoot a blue number. It's a Sunday. You are home. Better now than when you are in France and have a time difference of 9 hours. There may not be as many people online at your AM shot time. (I am assuming since you are there for 5 months that you will be adjusting Mačka's shot time.)
 
I have a couple questions, in your signature you have got human and pet meter. You have dry food in there, and says you are doing TR. This is confusing to me because I am unsure about where your number come from and also can't do TR with dry food. Any way to clear that up?
 
That's what the karo/honey is for.

My thoughts. Eventually, you are going to have to shoot a blue number. It's a Sunday. You are home. Better now than when you are in France and have a time difference of 9 hours. There may not be as many people online at your AM shot time. (I am assuming since you are there for 5 months that you will be adjusting Mačka's shot time.)
Thank you. Yes I will adjust his time, slowly forward by 3 hours to reach the 6am/6pm schedule again. There will be less people online for sure, because when you guys will be sleeping I'll be awake and vice versa :)

I am in panic mode right now. I know I have to get used to shooting lower numbers, that's the goal. But still....

Karo and all kinds of MC and HC are ready just in case.
 
I have a couple questions, in your signature you have got human and pet meter. You have dry food in there, and says you are doing TR. This is confusing to me because I am unsure about where your number come from and also can't do TR with dry food. Any way to clear that up?
Yes, I went from AT to Human meter (I could make it clearer in the signature, thanks).
I give Mačka a few dry kibble after each shot, as a reward. He eats Fancy Feast classics (sometimes with dry topping if he does not eat much, to encourage him, like this am).
I only feed him LC dry food when he is sick, as he won't eat anything else when crummy, or has an upset tummy.
 
Last edited:
Back
Top