12-09 Small Kitty - amps 358 pmps 329 - A little break

Status
Not open for further replies.

Photorecon

Member Since 2016
Good morning all,

Today will be a :coffee::coffee::coffee::coffee: one... Small Kitty kept me awake up until 2h at the
morning so I could catch a reduction level and, importantly, stop a possible hypo.
Although we barely touched reduction level I strongly consider reducing, this morning
was very costly because of a level that was to low for his comfort.

Yesterday I almost fallen asleep in the afternoon at the office so long was the night,
can't imagine how it's going to be today :facepalm:.

I've sent an email to Dr. Roch yesterday with documents as concise as possible
for a very busy veterinarian.
  1. Small Kitty curve since the beginning
  2. Our page with SLG details
  3. The research with the same strategy in details
  4. Food details given to Small Kitty
  5. A document comparing different insulins and their effect / duration
All documents are less then 10 pages each and going straight to the point,
hope it will help her understand the dynamic of Lantus she's not expert in.
She might switch all her ''patients'' to Lantus looking at our success :)

So what do you think, agree with a possible reduction ? The bounce this
morning was pretty heavy, a reduced dose might let Small Kitty spend more
time at low numbers .

Good day to all of you, wish you get the numbers you need to
progress while still be able to sleep a little bit ;)

Sébastien
Yesterday
.
 
Last edited:
I don't have any dose advise and I am sorry you had a late night PJ party.

Small Kitty, it is so exciting to see you wearing blue and green! Those colors look fabulous on you! Please don't stay on the trampoline too long.

Sending you some extra strength coffee Sebastien. I hope you have a good Friday.
 
SK is looking good. I'd hate to see him lose momentum. Technically you're not supposed to reduce with SLGS unless you go below 90. I'm afraid if you reduce now, he won't get back to green. Did you feed extra last night to keep him from going too low? I was just thinking if you don't have to work this weekend, it is a great time to hold the dose and test and see if he is going under 90 and truly earns the reduction.
 
I would advise holding the dose too at least through the weekend like Carla mentioned. He's still bouncy but overall SK has been looking much better lately. Of course you have to be comfortable so it's ultimately your call.
 
Although the "rule" is not to reduce until you go below 90 with SLGS, this is where not having an equivalent number on a pet meter somewhat "muddies" the reduction number. Since the AT2 reads higher than a human meter, theoretically SK DID drop below 90. I don't know if you have the actual FS Lite meter as well as the AT2 meter, but if you do I would suggest getting another reading using the actual human FS Lite meter to get a comparison reading when SK gets into the lower numbers like he did last night. When I had a reading of 5.6 (101 US) on my AT2 and did a same drop comparison my my FS Lite I got a reading of 3.6 ( 65 US) on my FS Lite meter. Since the only "official" number comparison quoted is 68 US on the AT2 (3.8 mmol) is "equal" to 50 US (2.8 mmol) on a human meter (as quoted for a reduction level in TR) , you can see that there is a definite difference between the AT2 and human meter. Regardless people will often hold the dose after a reduction point for one more cycle if the next preshot number is higher. I think you will have to watch carefully tonight and see what SK has in store.
 
Did you feed extra last night to keep him from going too low?

Good morning Carla,

I tried to give double portion at +2 and +4 of raw food to slow down momentum
but not when he was going down. Wanted to see if I could get a reduction.
Seems Small Kitty has a good alarm system, it triggered right on green and
bounced.
.
 
I was just wondering if you fed extra to slow him down. That can make a difference in your decision. If he surfed safely without extra food or if you needed to feed extra to keep him safe. Are you able to leave food out for him when you're at work or will SK and BB eat it right away?
 
I don't know if you have the actual FS Lite meter

I still have the FS human meter but when I started in the metering business I made several
test and this meter was one of the worst. The AT2 was constant in the curve but side
by side the human meter was going up and down. I lost trust in this meter, it's piling dust
in the medical locker :).
.
 
Although the "rule" is not to reduce until you go below 90 with SLGS, this is where not having an equivalent number on a pet meter somewhat "muddies" the reduction number
Good catch Mary Ann! I over looked the AT meter :banghead::banghead: and therefore I'd be inclined to take the reduction myself.
 
I was just wondering if you fed extra to slow him down. That can make a difference in your decision. If he surfed safely without extra food or if you needed to feed extra to keep him safe. Are you able to leave food out for him when you're at work or will SK and BB eat it right away?

it depend on who's where :). If Small Kitty is close he will eat everything, particularly if he's
on a food madness pass. This is confirm by his weight. When I hold Small Kitty in my harms
he feels heavier then Big Brother. Even at feed time when Big Brother is slow to eat his portion
Small Kitty will ''help'' him getting over what's left... :)
 
It sounds like they eat it right away and it's not possible for you to leave food out for later. I was just trying to think of a way to help you get more sleep and keep SK safe.
 
Don't you find that although Small Kitty is bouncing the SS looks nice ?

It's almost like a rainbow :)
 
Last edited:
I still have the FS human meter but when I started in the metering business I made several
test and this meter was one of the worst. The AT2 was constant in the curve but side
by side the human meter was going up and down. I lost trust in this meter, it's piling dust
in the medical locker :).
.


That is very strange. I have had both the AT2 meter and FS Lite meters give me some wonky numbers, but that can happen with any brand of meter. When I did all my side by side same drop comparisons of the AT2 meter and FS Lite meter the % differences were very stable. Less difference at lower numbers and a much bigger difference at high numbers, which makes sense since the differences are % based and not a set number difference.

I still use my FS Lite as a comparison if if I get an number that doesn't seem to fit what I expected.
 
I too use the FS Lite as a backup and have had no issues with it although I will say that both the AT and Freestyle Lite have given me some pretty wonky readings when the batteries were about to go flat.

From over a year of comparison testing, I would estimate that the reduction point for the AT2 meter using SLGS should be in the 120-150 range. Obviously, it's impossible to come up with a concrete, one number fits all due to meter variance. Knowing your own cat and how they react to insulin is key as some cats hold reductions well while others seem to go up and down the scale a bit before reductions are maintained so this range may be a little high for some and a little low for others.
 
I too use the FS Lite as a backup and have had no issues with it although I will say that both the AT and Freestyle Lite have given me some pretty wonky readings when the batteries were about to go flat.

From over a year of comparison testing, I would estimate that the reduction point for the AT2 meter using SLGS should be in the 120-150 range. Obviously, it's impossible to come up with a concrete, one number fits all due to meter variance. Knowing your own cat and how they react to insulin is key as some cats hold reductions well while others seem to go up and down the scale a bit before reductions are maintained so this range may be a little high for some and a little low for others.

Thanks for sharing this information Linda. I think Mary-Ann explained the discrepancies in
the human and pet Freestyle meter. When I did my comparison Small Kitty was in the high
range. That's probably why there was a big difference. The AT2 remained constant as the
FSL was increasing the results by ?? %

Yesterday and 2 nights before Small Kitty matched the GL of his brother, exact same thing.
Four days ago he want way lower and out of safety range.
.
 
lost trust in this meter, it's piling dust
in the medical locker :).
I tossed my FS Lite in the back of the cupboard too. I started out with that meter, and after comparisons with the Bayer Contour and Relion human meters, I too lost faith in it. But that was 4 years ago, don't know what they are like now.

Since we do not have equivalent numbers between the AT and the human meter (except for 68), people here following SLGS and the AT have still been using below 90 as the reduction point. However, having said that, SLGS is a set of guidelines. You have to decide what feels comfortable as a reduction point for SK and keeps him safe. How was SK acting when you hit that 90 last night?
 
Haaaa.. Just had a very nice evening with my father. We went for dinner
downtown in a unpretentious restaurant. There was music from his time,
like the 60s-70s and he was relating me cars he had at the time the songs
was playing. Temptation was there to grab the phone and see what the car
was but didn't want to break the human contact so I asked him to described
what it was. Just with a little details I had an idea of what the car was looking
like. Once done we headed to my appartment just in time for Small Kitty,
in a bounce.

It's no big deal, he'll get over it but a reduction is probably needed. No
test for the night, it's mine. Tomorrow is another day.

Hope all of you have a wonderful evening and thanks for your precious
help. My understanding of FD would never be the way it is without you.

:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I tossed my FS Lite in the back of the cupboard too. I started out with that meter, and after comparisons with the Bayer Contour and Relion human meters, I too lost faith in it. But that was 4 years ago, don't know what they are like now.

Since we do not have equivalent numbers between the AT and the human meter (except for 68), people here following SLGS and the AT have still been using below 90 as the reduction point. However, having said that, SLGS is a set of guidelines. You have to decide what feels comfortable as a reduction point for SK and keeps him safe. How was SK acting when you hit that 90 last night?

He was actually acting normally, not running away when test was coming and
I even remember, at around +5, having to use treat so he would come back in.
He was playing in the snow on the patio. He jumped inside and started purring
and walk close to me to get his present :).

The 2 units dose will give place to a reduced one. The 68 is my start act now number
and 90 and it's surrounding the reduction. Will depends on the intensity of the bounce
and since how long he's been on a dose.

Thanks for you help Wendy ! :bighug:
.
 
Good to know on SK's behaviour last night. Sound like he was feeling good at those numbers.

I hope you catch up on your sleep tonight.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top