12/10 Chanel AMPS 420

Laura & Chanel

Member Since 2019
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...antus-unable-to-regulate.222686/#post-2489817

Last night she just ran around like she used to. At 5 am she used the literbox and called for me to come and clean. Since she does not have a tail, I clean her little tushy with wet wipes (for pets) and she enjoys that (also raising the leg so I can do my job properly). She wanted her Fancy Feast Chicken&Beef so, the BG testing will not be two hours after but only one. Or maybe wait until 7 am to have at least 1.5 hours?
Today I cannot stay at home anymore, so I may be able to come home at lunchtime to test her BG at 6+ hours.
 
Laura -

We use a standard format for the subject line:
Date....Cat's Name....AMPS-#...+time=BG#, etc. (You can add a comment if needed)

I'm not sure I would call Chanel "unable to regulate" -- I'm guessing we can lend a hand with that.

Please do not feed Chanel a meal within 2 hours of shot time. This can cause a food spike and you will not know if Chanel is in safe numbers when it is time for her pre-shot test. The food spike can give you false confidence. If you need to get her to be less demanding, how about giving her a treat of freeze dried chicken or something similar?

FWIW, it's best to test, feed, and shoot all within a few minutes.
 
Laura -

We use a standard format for the subject line:
Date....Cat's Name....AMPS-#...+time=BG#, etc. (You can add a comment if needed)

I'm not sure I would call Chanel "unable to regulate" -- I'm guessing we can lend a hand with that.

Please do not feed Chanel a meal within 2 hours of shot time. This can cause a food spike and you will not know if Chanel is in safe numbers when it is time for her pre-shot test. The food spike can give you false confidence. If you need to get her to be less demanding, how about giving her a treat of freeze dried chicken or something similar?

FWIW, it's best to test, feed, and shoot all within a few minutes.
She was 420 this morning, one hour after the feeding. I am planning to go for 1U BID for 7 days and will try to get her off the dry food, gradually. This grazing is interfering with the shots' timing. Sorry for the thread's name. Is there any way to change it? The reason I put "unable to regulate" was because it was in the previous thread and thought it will be easier to find the new one.
Could you please advice on the dosing schedule? Also, just curious how other people handle the grazing situation so it would not interfere with the insulin schedule? Thank you.
 
Last edited:
You should be able to change the subject line by going to your initial post and clicking on the "Thread Tools" that is to the right of the subject line. Then indicate "edit thread" and make the change.

I'm not sure if this works the same for you as it does for me. I have other editing options since I'm a moderator.

(@Chris & China (GA) can you let me know if the information I posted is correct?)
 
Dosing schedule is whatever 12-hour period works for you. Everyone has different schedules but do their best to shoot 12-hours apart. My shot time was at 5:00 -- it gave me time to get a few tests before I left for work. Even with grazers, the food was picked up 2 hrs prior to shot time. Many people will use a timed feeder overnight. For the feeders that have 5 compartments, 2 hrs prior to shot time, the feeder container advanced so there is an empty container at +10 and thereafter.
 
Dosing schedule is whatever 12-hour period works for you. Everyone has different schedules but do their best to shoot 12-hours apart. My shot time was at 5:00 -- it gave me time to get a few tests before I left for work. Even with grazers, the food was picked up 2 hrs prior to shot time. Many people will use a timed feeder overnight. For the feeders that have 5 compartments, 2 hrs prior to shot time, the feeder container advanced so there is an empty container at +10 and thereafter.
Thank you very much Sienne for the info, this is really great. I must apologize, I did not mean dosing time but the dose itself. At this point, I am still fighting the old and bad habits of giving insulin based on the current BG and I was hoping that you can help me with an opinion about the 1U plan for 7 days, or maybe until weekend when I can do another BG curve. From what I've read in the postings, it might be that Chanel has her BGs all over the place because I was not consistent with the daily doses nor keeping them long enough.
IT WORKED, to change the title of the thread! Thank you so much :)
Question: How do I calculate the ideal weight for my baby? The vet did not have an answer for me. I was able to find something about Siamese females to be as big as 12 LBS but not sure what will be her ideal weight at her age. I think I saw somewhere here a calculator or maybe I misunderstood?
 
Last edited:
Question: How do I calculate the ideal weight for my baby?

How much does she weigh now? Is she overweight, underweight or about right?

Here's a Body Condition Score chart....where do you think she is?giv

All that being said, if you're doing SLGS, the dose isn't based on "ideal weight" like it is for TR.

I'm glad to see you holding the 1U dose. By giving a consistent dose, we'll be better able to give you advice on the next step once you have done some more testing and gotten a curve in.
 
How much does she weigh now? Is she overweight, underweight or about right?

Here's a Body Condition Score chart....where do you think she is?giv

All that being said, if you're doing SLGS, the dose isn't based on "ideal weight" like it is for TR.

I'm glad to see you holding the 1U dose. By giving a consistent dose, we'll be better able to give you advice on the next step once you have done some more testing and gotten a curve in.
Hi Chris, thank you for the reply. I think she is a 7, does not eat much but she does not like to play and she loves to sleep all day long. We tried to get her toys but she figures out pretty fast how they work and then she just does not care about them. I would actually like to try TR, but since I need to get her off dry food, I guess it would be successful if I can do it gradually? I am already planning to get a feeder so she can have fresh wet food during day. TR works for grazing still, right?
I will try to hold the dose for 5-7 days with a BG curve on Saturday and Sunday. Maybe after seeing the results, we can figure out what to do next.
Since I am trying to get her off the dry food, it is OK to switch from SLGS to TR when the time comes? Or if she starts on SLGS, she needs to stay on SLGS?
Thank you again and sorry for so many questions asked in one posting.
 
Sounds like Chanel had the zoomies this morning :) Luci had them too...so funny to watch them zoom around the house :)

I just saw your question about grazing and TR - I left the auto feeder for Luci this afternoon - wet food every hour while I was out - works well for her - she's a grazer and she ate from the openings - then tried to go back for more - but I had to take it up for PMPS...

You'll get the hang of all this soon :)
 
Sounds like Chanel had the zoomies this morning :) Luci had them too...so funny to watch them zoom around the house :)

I just saw your question about grazing and TR - I left the auto feeder for Luci this afternoon - wet food every hour while I was out - works well for her - she's a grazer and she ate from the openings - then tried to go back for more - but I had to take it up for PMPS...

You'll get the hang of all this soon :)
She does that only at night :) OMG, did not know they are called the roomies, she is a little Formula 1 kind of kitty zooooming :) As for the grazing, I am thinking of buying this:
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07WLJR6NH/?tag=felinediabetesfdmb-20
Let me know what you guys think :) After all the furbaby needs a Christmas gift :)
 
She does that only at night :) OMG, did not know they are called the roomies, she is a little Formula 1 kind of kitty zooooming :) As for the grazing, I am thinking of buying this:
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07WLJR6NH/?tag=felinediabetesfdmb-20
Let me know what you guys think :) After all the furbaby needs a Christmas gift :)

Do you have other cats - so you need the chipped one?

I bought this one: https://www.amazon.com/PetSafe-5-Me...ital/dp/B000GEWHNS/?tag=felinediabetesfdmb-20

Works great as it has 5 slots.
 
I do not have other cats but Chanel likes to see a bowl to eat from. She is not even interested in boxes or things that she can squeeze her little face in. My husband said they tried a feeder before, guessing it was a classic thing, but Chanel did not budge. I am hoping that if actually she sees the bowl, maybe she will get interested. She is my baby, I would do anything for her :)
 
I do not have other cats but Chanel likes to see a bowl to eat from. She is not even interested in boxes or things that she can squeeze her little face in. My husband said they tried a feeder before, guessing it was a classic thing, but Chanel did not budge. I am hoping that if actually she sees the bowl, maybe she will get interested. She is my baby, I would do anything for her :)

Luci likes to hear the PetSafe turn - anytime it turns it makes a little noise and she comes running! There's no keeping her nose out of the presentation - she's a curious one alright - loves her PetSafe feeder - even when there's no food in it - when I forget to turn it off - it turns and makes that sound - she runs to see what's for eats! Crazy, huh? :)
 
With SLGS, you do not calculate the dose based on weight. Since Chanel is still getting dry food as part of her diet, with SLGS, you start at 1.0u. This is the sticky note on dosing methods. Given that you're at 1.0u, just stick with that dose for a week.

It's helpful to remember that Lantus dosing is based on the nadir (i.e., lowest number in the cycle) and not on the pre-shot numbers. This means it's helpful to get spot checks during the AM and PM cycles. At night, we encourage a before bed test every night so you can go to sleep without worrying whether Chanel is in safe numbers (and if numbers are trending low, you have a PJ party with all the folks here who are up late testing and feeding their kitties).

Should you want to switch to TR once Chanel is transitioned to a canned food diet, it's not a problem in the least.
 
Luci likes to hear the PetSafe turn - anytime it turns it makes a little noise and she comes running! There's no keeping her nose out of the presentation - she's a curious one alright - loves her PetSafe feeder - even when there's no food in it - when I forget to turn it off - it turns and makes that sound - she runs to see what's for eats! Crazy, huh? :)
LOL, that is crrrazy :) Chanel does not like noises very much. Since her dental infection, she is pretty jumpy and she gets big eyes and start shivering even when the TV is a little louder. It will take some time to get her to relax or maybe it will never happen. I am an optimistic and I know she can kick the diabetes tushy with your help :)
 
With SLGS, you do not calculate the dose based on weight. Since Chanel is still getting dry food as part of her diet, with SLGS, you start at 1.0u. This is the sticky note on dosing methods. Given that you're at 1.0u, just stick with that dose for a week.

It's helpful to remember that Lantus dosing is based on the nadir (i.e., lowest number in the cycle) and not on the pre-shot numbers. This means it's helpful to get spot checks during the AM and PM cycles. At night, we encourage a before bed test every night so you can go to sleep without worrying whether Chanel is in safe numbers (and if numbers are trending low, you have a PJ party with all the folks here who are up late testing and feeding their kitties).

Should you want to switch to TR once Chanel is transitioned to a canned food diet, it's not a problem in the least.
Thank you for the feedback Sienne. That is a relief:) I will try to get her tested once during day but for me to come home and go back to the office means 2.5 hours on the road. I will probably start working from home in the evenings to put the hours in (I am a contractor so every hour matters). On Saturday and Sunday I will attempt the BG curve, hopefully we can get some useful information from them. I know that there are some tough times ahead with me trying to get Chanel off dry food. The little fluffy one knows she owns me, so she will use every ounce of her will o break me. I might need to hide with the computer in the bathroom so I cannot see those blue eyes full of anger and sadness :(
 
We tried to get her toys but she figures out pretty fast how they work and then she just does not care about them.

China was like this too. She had zero interest in laser toys and once she checked out all the "interactive" toys, she was like "oh well...that was nice" and that was the end of that.

One thing she really loved was Da Bird. Something about the noise it makes really amps them up. It sounds like a bird flying by!
 
Back
Top