12/10 Lincoln AM skipping shot, PMPS 511, +3 355

Status
Not open for further replies.
The problem with a BCS is that, particularly the first part of the cycle may well play out the same as it would have if you'd given the full shot and subsequent cycles are likely to be affected.

Lincoln does look like he's started to come up and based on past performance I'd expect him to bounce but obviously I can't guarantee that.

How long after his shot will you need to leave and at + what will you be back. Also do you have a timed feeder or are you able to leave food out for him that he will just graze on when he wants it?
 
They always have the worst timing! Lets see what his AMPS is...when was the last time he had any food? What time are you leaving?

ETA: Depending on AMPS, stalling 30-60 minutes might help with a decision too.
 
Wow Lincoln must have read the condo yesterday where we talked of a vetty appt!
Not sure about what to shoot. He will likely start to bounce but I'm not sure we can depend on that his being a cat:cat::rolleyes: When is it you have to leave?
 
ok lol he is sitting so cute watching me right now like hey momma i am doing it and i love that he is

he hasnt had any food after +10...
i can leave food out and it will be grazed on sometimes he binges a bit but stops when he feels full...
i had it worked out where i could check +1 and +2 -- run to grab my brother -- swing back home to test for +3 and then head out
will be gone at least 6 hours i would say....
 
he hasnt had any food after +10...
Was it all LC food that you gave him last night or did you add any HC in there. Just asking to see if he surfed like that with little or a lot of intervention. Lets see what the AMPS is and if needed maybe stalling to see if he continues to rise.
 
at +7 and +8 i mixed a wee bit of gravy in with the LC... very little but the LC alone he wasnt surfing kept dropping

but after +8 that is all him with a little LC :cat:
 
By +3 or +4 you should have a pretty good idea of what he's up to. If you are at all concerned you can leave HC food out for him.
 
i thought with how far and fast he dropped and then how long he stayed in green he would have bounced before AMPS
 
So he hasn't had any food for about 2.5 hours? I would definitely not feed him as we want to make sure his numbers are coming up on their own and haven't been influenced by food.
 
i know... and if this wasnt my only day to get out and spend time with my brother before his heart surgery i would be Lincoln needs me... but brothers surgery is Dec 20th... and today was supposed to be a go for sushi and walk Ikea day... and so really wasnt surprised when last night Lincoln started working the juice.. they really like messing with our minds lol
 
i guess only thing i am not sure if i can get +3 if i wait the hour unless i convince DH and brother... last time that was +1 after shot and food so maybe + 1 was more food raised?
 
Ugh, see where he is in 30 min. Like Vytors Mom said, even if you shoot a BCS the first half of the cycle could still be active. Wish I could comfortably bet he'll bounce. If he's still flat or up a bit in 30 min maybe shoot a 50% BCS (3.25u or even 3u), and if needed mix in some gravy before leaving.

Skipping is another option so you don't have to worry at all. A 6.5u depot is pretty sizable and he will get back on track.
 
Our kitties have the worst timing. I'm glad he's feeling so good. Good luck with whatever you decide. I hope you have a nice visit with your brother. Sending prayers for his upcoming surgery.
 
74 -- he isnt climbing yet... if i skip the shot then when i come home i can shoot early right?? i am so scared cause i know he is going to bounce bad after being this low and the bounces seem to be going higher
 
this just sucks -- he is finally in the lagoon and stayed there for hours... any other day i would be dancing shooting and just keep testing!
 
74 -- he isnt climbing yet... if i skip the shot then when i come home i can shoot early right?? i am so scared cause i know he is going to bounce bad after being this low and the bounces seem to be going higher
Yes, if you skip you can shoot early. He'll get back on track and skipping will let you go without any worry.
 
ok going to talk this out here ...
the shot i give him now wont effect now but in +4 and beyond right.... this is the last shot and its wearing off even if the numbers arent showing it.. my concern is when +4 happens if he is still hanging out down here what will his numbers do

would you guys skip?
 
If it was me, I would skip. You've never shot a green PS after he's been surfing green. There's no data to say what he will do. Then you can visit with your brother without worrying about Lincoln.
 
would you guys skip?
If you want to stall another 30 min that's fine. I've given Doodles a BCS thinking he'd bounce and sure enough he kept me up all night and ended up skipping the next morning. It's hard to say what Lincoln will do. Unless he starts rising I'd probably just skip so you don't have to worry and shoot early. The timing stinks but spending time with your brother is important.

ETA: so yes, I'd skip.
 
you are right i have no data cause this is completely new for him to surf green -- hard to know anything with nothing to look at for his data... ok i will test again in 18 mins and then i might just feed everyone... they are all not happy with brekkie being late
 
i will test every hour and post in a note box so i have the data for sure -- and thank you everyone i know its early lol i was up every hour with my alarm last night cause Lincoln surfing in green is so new and that was a huge dive he took yesterday to get there....
 
Oh boy Lincoln! What is with your timing?! He has shown you he can get into green, so even if you have to skip, he will get back to business. :bighug::bighug:
 
at an hour past his shot time still holding at 74.. so i have decided to skip.. and everyone is now fed... which means happy kitties not eyeing me up lol

will do more testing before i go and i will shot early when i get in... thank you everyone for all the help and understanding this morning...:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Have a good time with your brother. That's the most important thing. :bighug:

Since Lincoln got to greens on this dose, it'll be good to see if he can do it again. That was an awesome stretch of green he had. :D I'm sure he'll give you another opportunity to shoot green sometime.
 
511... my first black :blackeye::blackeye::blackeye: wish i could have done both today ... shot Lincoln 1.5 hours early... i have never tested him this high i hope he starts coming down again soon

had a really good time with my brother and sent home lots of the goodies i have been baking including mini chai latte cheesecakes (he loves chai tea)... now hopefully everything goes right in 10 days and today was just another sushi trip and walk around Ikea
 
he was born with a congenital heart defect ... he wasnt supposed to survive back in 1985... when they did the big surgery he wasnt even 2 and my parents were told 20% chance he survives and if we dont do the surgery he will be gone in two weeks or less... so my parents took the only chance they could... and somehow he survived and up until a few years ago was leading a normal life so kinda always thought they fixed my brother when he was little... but then 3 years ago started having racing heart up to 260 beats per minute out of no where.. no dr wanted to operate.. just putting him on meds that zap adrenaline... so when the heart racing isnt happening he is just so tired all he can do is sleep... he has kept asking for someone to do the surgery... he got a call just over 2 weeks ago saying a dr will do it and dec 20th... so they are saying scar tissue is pressing on a nerve and its causing the heart to beat rapidly... that if they go in there through catheter they can find and zap said nerve and he should back to what he was... of course there is always risks and i just wanted one more sushi date and day with him... i just remember being 8 and saying goodbye to him at the hospital cause my parents told us too... and i am trying to be positive that this is going to give him his quality of life back and i know he wants that more then anything... but i am scared to lose my brother... he is the one that always brings the whole family together and i always find it funny that the heart of the family is the one with the different heart... sorry venting just good to get it all out and down
 
I can imagine your reaction to that 511 :arghh: but he will get over this and come back down to green, sooner than you think
just read the story of your brother - that is so special and so very glad you had a nice day with him :bighug:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top