? 12/12 Cassius AMPS 110 PMPS 310

Status
Not open for further replies.

JenniferF

Member Since 2014
last thread

Not sure if I should skip shot or give reduced and if reduced how much to give? I will be gone for a few hours today also so won't be home to monitor/test.
 
What few hours are your going to gone?
You could stall for 30 minutes without feeding to see if he's going up or down or staying flat, if you haven't fed yet.
 
Unless numbers are dropping, you can probably shoot and leave out HC if you need to before you leave. Do you have a timed feeder that Cassius can get food from if he needs to?
 
I couldn't retest. I couldnt get blood and he started to try to bite me. You can't imagine (well maybe you can) what's going on here this morning. I was supposed to get up and sanitize the room my current UNNEUTERED male foster is in and had to deal with my CH foster with vomit and diarrhea all over. I tried to feed her then Cassius smelled the food. It was crazy. Too many things going on.
I hate to skip so I will give a reduced dose. I will try to be out for the least amount of time possible
 
Even if you skip or give a reduced dose, he could still have a nice green cycle today, because of the depot of insulin he already has built up.

Since this is the lowest you've shot, I would try to at least get a +2 and +3 and an out the door test as well. And test as soon as you get home. Hopefully, he'll be nice an flat, recovery easily from the reduced shot.

I know what you mean about taking care of cats, sometimes it's like having a houseful of children. I hope things have calmed down now.
 
I don't know how it is, but they KNOW when you have to be gone. I work from home as does my husband and we are here all the time. Yet, Rosie waits to brew something up for us just about whenever we need to be someplace. I hope you get a better second half of the day. You have it coming after this morning!
 
I wasn't able to test him. He is a serious biter and I don't want to ruin the trust he has in me. I could not wait any longer and was not able to get any tests in. Until PMPS which was 310. Like Lydia I work from home and test him a fair amount during the day. I went away for 2 days last weekend and he had the lowest numbers. Now today the first day I am not home and not close enough to run home he's again at the lowest. Hopefully it didn't mess him up too much and he'll get back on track
 
I cannot even imagine testing a biter as much as we test on TR--kudos to you!!
I never imagined having a cat with diabetes but of my 2 the other one would have not let me test and at most would have been regulated -- you deserve a medal :)
My 1 with diabetes thankfully is very patient and sweet-even when he is annoyed… hang in there your doing awesome!
 
None of MY cats would never let me test them, lol. I have to find cats whose owners dumped them and then I can do it. I don't know why I have so much more confidence with them. Mikey was a horrible biter too. He is front paw declawed and I remember nights staying up with him crying not knowing what the heck I was going to do. I also know more now. I read the cats and I know when I can/can't push my luck. But Cassius is not as bad as others that's I've seen and his ear bleeds pretty good too.
 
I don't know how it is, but they KNOW when you have to be gone. I work from home as does my husband and we are here all the time. Yet, Rosie waits to brew something up for us just about whenever we need to be someplace. I hope you get a better second half of the day. You have it coming after this morning!
They always know!
 
None of MY cats would never let me test them, lol. I have to find cats whose owners dumped them and then I can do it. I don't know why I have so much more confidence with them. Mikey was a horrible biter too. He is front paw declawed and I remember nights staying up with him crying not knowing what the heck I was going to do. I also know more now. I read the cats and I know when I can/can't push my luck. But Cassius is not as bad as others that's I've seen and his ear bleeds pretty good too.
My diabetic guy is getting a but tired of me testing--he is a good boy but I can tell he is getting annoyed which means he is feeling better so I am ok with him being annoyed-and I am much better at testing than I was a month ago-
My other guy who I thought would be very naughty and will go a bit nuts at times … I tested him today out of curiosity and he was a perfect angel- who knew??? crazy!!
The shelter I work with /help out giving fluids etc… they don't test before injecting and until I had my own diabetic I didn't realize how dangerous that is--we will be having a sit down because I think they have no clue it can be so dangerous .
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top