12/12 Osha PMPS 260 +3 145 +4 98 +5 91

Status
Not open for further replies.

Osha

Member Since 2016
12/11

Good morning

I was very surprised and happy by today's AMPS. I am not sure how long I should hold this dose. I haven't seen a green in forever. I hope Osha makes it to the lagoon soon.

Thank you all for the helpful information on the raw food yesterday. I am completely baffled as to why Osha was tolerating it before and now it makes her vomit. I may try to introduce a little bit of it again this weekend, but for now, I am just going to stick with the ff. I may also try another canned food that would be better. I just don't know. I also have NO idea where that black pmps came from last night. Yuck! I am so happy she came down. My girl keeps throwing me mysteries that I can't solve.

I hope everyone has a good Monday.

Amanda and Kitty Osha, The Empress
 
You see Amanda, what comes up goes down, eventually !
Hormones (what insulin is) is unpredictable. It's like us, a
comment that pass one time will blow us up in another context.

Now no panic : you girls are pretty aware of that kind of thing
Always walking on eggs at some time :nailbiting: and full happy the next day :)

So no worry, she will get back and be happy :cat:

For food check it up, data sheet is your best friend. Words you don't
understand in the ingredients has the potential of being crap or
any sort. Cat food manufacturers are good at finding cheap fillers
typical customer will not find tricky. Studying is the way to go.

Good day to you and your mother, hope she doing well.

Sébastien
 
I also have NO idea where that black pmps came from last night.
I wonder if she got a hold of something off the floor? Or a bug - lol. I had to go back and read the rest of yesterday's thread to see if you had any clue on that number. Very strange.

Glad she came down. Wish I could share a bit of Gizmo's low number and balance both of them out a bit. :p

On the raw - I would keep trying it - go a bit slower. Gizmo never had any issues with it as far as throw up, but he is like Mikey - he will eat anything. :eek:
 
I wonder if that PMPS was the start of a "high before the low" trick although that was a bit extreme Ohsa. Glad she's already at the beach and hopefully you'll see those greens. If she doesn't give you at least a blue or low yellow preshot at PMPS I think you should take her dose up. Maybe others will take a look too. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Empress Osha... we all understand you like being mysterious.... but you need to give your bean a break once in a while and let her in on some of your secrets..... she is trying really hard and sometimes all your mystery is making her feel a little crazy... not sure what is up with the raw but at least its not all food and you have something she is willing to eat Amanda.... here is hoping that today she drifts down a little more to the greens and that your mom continues to heal and feel better :bighug::bighug:
 
I agree if you don't see green today you should increase her dose to 3.75. That black last night is strange. I'm glad she's come back down already. Sending prayers for your mom. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
That's more like it, Osha! ...even though she could still work on her timing. This would have been the cycle that your bean would like to see on a Sunday when she's home.
 
+6 163. My mom got a test at +6. Doesn't look like she will see green this cycle. Should I increase tonight or hold the dose?

Thanks!
 
What a relief that your Mom could test. I know what I would do, but my judgment is clouded by my experience last night - I'll let others chime in on that
have a great day Amanda and a +6 of 163 isn't bad at all!!
 
+9.5 185

I get off from work at 3:45 and shoot at 4pm so I won't have much time to think about what to do.
 
She responded better to this dose last time and in fact hit the 30's on 3.5u. If you increase tonight can your mom continue to help out and get some spot checks? She is being stubborn but even on TR you can hold the dose 8-10 cycles if there is blue.
 
She responded better to this dose last time and in fact hit the 30's on 3.5u. If you increase tonight can your mom continue to help out and get some spot checks? She is being stubborn but even on TR you can hold the dose 8-10 cycles if there is blue.
She is driving me crazy. I don't get how she could hit the 30's and then not even hit green on the same dose. I think my mom is well enough to get spot checks in for me. Maybe if she is still blue when I get home I will hold it and if she is yellow I will increase. Does that sound good? She just hasn't seen green in so long!!
 
12/11

Good morning

I was very surprised and happy by today's AMPS. I am not sure how long I should hold this dose. I haven't seen a green in forever. I hope Osha makes it to the lagoon soon.

Thank you all for the helpful information on the raw food yesterday. I am completely baffled as to why Osha was tolerating it before and now it makes her vomit. I may try to introduce a little bit of it again this weekend, but for now, I am just going to stick with the ff. I may also try another canned food that would be better. I just don't know. I also have NO idea where that black pmps came from last night. Yuck! I am so happy she came down. My girl keeps throwing me mysteries that I can't solve.

I hope everyone has a good Monday.

Amanda and Kitty Osha, The Empress

Osha seems to break a lot of rules, but then she is an Empress:rolleyes:, and Empresses make rules rather than follow them.
Hugs-:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Should I increase tonight or hold the dose?
It's up to you but if external factors are influencing the rise (a sudden black seems to point
into this direction), you don't know what the source is and how long it will take
to fade out. If it's digestion related this should not take a long time. If it's infection
or anything like this it might take longer. I'd keep the dose the same and wait for
everything else to stabilize. If you can afford it, blood/urine test could answer questions
that are left to presumption.

But if you're hungry for green increase would be the way to go but the other aspects
would be left to the unknown. Personally, I would hold on it for now until you get
some bullet proof LC food.

I'm sure you will get good advise from all around here !

Best wish for improvement and good decision making.

Sébastien
.
 
I agree with an increase but, first, is it possible she is having a pancreatitis attack ? I ask that because of the vomiting or is it only to the raw food? Have you tried different flavor raw turkey or chicken? Sorry if I am asking questions that have bee addressed all ready. If it were the raw duck, maybe to rich for her and poultry would be better. Does she seem to be in pain?

Glad she is coming down.

Sending vines :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I am not sure how long I should hold this dose. I haven't seen a green in forever.
You've held this dose 8 cycles without green. I would increase. The goal is green, not blue.

Are you warming her raw food with some warm water added. Some kitties take a while to get used to cold raw. I would also keep track of what proteins you are feeding her when she vomits. Some proteins are better added after they have gotten used to raw in general. Chicken is usually a good first protein. Turkey should be added later.
 
I agree with an increase but, first, is it possible she is having a pancreatitis attack ? I ask that because of the vomiting or is it only to the raw food? Have you tried different flavor raw turkey or chicken? Sorry if I am asking questions that have bee addressed all ready. If it were the raw duck, maybe to rich for her and poultry would be better. Does she seem to be in pain?

Glad she is coming down.

Sending vines :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
I am also worried this may be a pancreatitis attack. The vomiting is only with the raw food. She did it on Darwins raw and turkey and stella and chewys chicken. She hasn't vomited any time I gave her FF. She doesn't seem to be in pain, but you know how well they can hide their pain. I have been a helicopter kitty momma, watching her every move. The whole thing doesn't make any sense.
 
You've held this dose 8 cycles without green. I would increase. The goal is green, not blue.

Are you warming her raw food with some warm water added. Some kitties take a while to get used to cold raw. I would also keep track of what proteins you are feeding her when she vomits. Some proteins are better added after they have gotten used to raw in general. Chicken is usually a good first protein. Turkey should be added later.

Thanks Wendy. I haven't warmed it before. She was doing so well on it without any issues, so I don't know what is happening. I will warm it the next time I try it. I have been updating the ss with the proteins, but I need to go back and update yesterday and today.
 
Thanks everyone! I went ahead and increased. I have some stupid mental block about getting back up to 4u. It is totally irrational. She went up to 4.5u and then raced down the dosing scale to .25u and now we are back at 3.75u. :stop:

I have a little buffer with my mom here and now able to test for me, but once she goes back home, the greens really scare me.
 
Is she getting any probiotics? Some kitties lose the natural ability to process raw and need a little kick start with probiotics helping them to digest the raw properly. I've also seen some people have to start with a lightly cooked raw (pan fry with a little water), then gradually cook less and less. But you only want to do that in a raw that does not have bone in it cause you can't feed cooked bones. Ground bone powder is OK.

Good luck with the increase. I hope when school break comes you can rearlly get Osha back on track again.
 
Is she getting any probiotics? Some kitties lose the natural ability to process raw and need a little kick start with probiotics helping them to digest the raw properly. I've also seen some people have to start with a lightly cooked raw (pan fry with a little water), then gradually cook less and less. But you only want to do that in a raw that does not have bone in it cause you can't feed cooked bones. Ground bone powder is OK.

Good luck with the increase. I hope when school break comes you can rearlly get Osha back on track again.
I haven't done any probiotics before. I guess I should start looking into that.

I could try to cook some, but i've been trying to avoid that just for my own personal disgust with the smell of any cooking meat. Maybe I should start with some probiotics and warming it a bit to see if that helps and then move to cooking it a little if I need to.

I hope I can get her back on track too! School is out for two weeks after this Friday.

Thanks Wendy!
 
I haven't done any probiotics before. I guess I should start looking into that.
I used the RenewLife Ultimate Flora 15 Billion. It was recommended on the IBD kitty page. There are many out there and human grade is better than those for pets. They cover more probiotic strains.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top