12/17 Ivana AMPS=371, +4=286, +7=292, PMPS=311, +2=331 update on the 'excitement' at the pet-sitters

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tara & Ivana (GA)

Member Since 2015
Last post from a few days ago which doesn't really explain much, so this one might be better.

I don't know why anything Ivana does surprises me. We had been planning to reduce her dose on the night before we took her to the pet-sitters, but she earned a reduction anyway so we double-reduced it from 1.25u to 0.75u. Very glad we did, because she ended up at 2.4 / 43 yesterday afternoon, at quite a late point in her cycle. I am so glad that the pet-sitter was accommodating, because we truly thought she'd run high while she was there due to the bounce from the previous day, the stress, and the reduced dose. Nope. Sigh. I mean, it's good and all, but I'd kinda convinced the pet-sitter that she was highly unlikely to have to worry about a low given all those factors, and she ended up having to pull out the honey and high carb anyway.

So anyway because of the 2.4 / 43, yesterday at +11 hubby and I made the call to have the pet-sitter skip her dose last night, because even though we would have shot if we were home, I really didn't want to leave someone else with the responsibility of monitoring through the night. Given that she was 5.8 / 104 at +13 (a bit late), I doubt she would have been high enough at +12 to shoot our temporarily increased no-shoot number of 5.5 / 100 anyway. Her shot this morning was reduced due to her earned reduction, so she got 0.5u this morning.

This morning when I picked her up, she was still rubbing and head-butting the pet-sitter, so glad to know that she has somewhere to go she feels comfortable with if ever we need to go away again. She had been eating ok, but a bit slower than usual I think.

I'd planned on increased her dose back up once we got home, but given yesterday I think I'll leave it at 0.5u for a bit longer to see what she does. Does that sound reasonable?
 
That's a tricky situation. I don't really know what the best thing to do is. I can see why you stuck with the 0.5 dose. Since you skipped last night, that may have drained her depot and you may need to go back up soon. Keep an eye on her numbers and if they start creeping back up, don't wait to increase back to the 0.75.

I'm glad she was so comfortable at the pet-sitters and things worked out with the testing.
 
I'm no dosing expert Tara but do what your gut says. Worse case she needs an increase in a few days back to the .75 which is better than her running low again on you so soon. Just my non-expert opinion :confused:
 
Since you skipped last night, that may have drained her depot and you may need to go back up soon.
I fully expect to need to go back up. I'm still so surprised that she went low on a 0.75 dose - she's never had a dose that low before, I have no idea how she wasn't running high as a kite. Full of surprises, this kitty!
 
I always had trouble with that dealing with Furball. If you can't see a lower number she's bouncing from, it's most likely a failed reduction. You can always post and ask here.
 
Welcome home! I wonder if the low is because she wasn't eating as much at petsitters? But at least you know you've got a good place to leave Ivana. That is golden! :)

Cat's numbers wobble around with a bounce. With a failed reduction, they tend to drift upwards. Wait 6 cycles for the depot to build after the skip (and bounce to finish), and if she's not in green by then, it's a failed reduction.
 
I just noticed Ivana's numbers from 9 Dec - after a day like that it would have been even harder to leave her at the pet sitter's place :)
Paws crossed she stays in more moderate territory for you, without the lows.
 
I wonder if the low is because she wasn't eating as much at petsitters?
Apparently she was still eating, just tiny tiny bits at a time. Same amount, but lots of smaller mouthfuls, whereas at home she will normally eat a good 3/4 of each of her meals at once - or chug the whole thing in one go if it's something she likes. But yeah the change could still have caused it I suppose, who knows.
 
This morning when I picked her up, she was still rubbing and head-butting the pet-sitter, so glad to know that she has somewhere to go she feels comfortable with if ever we need to go away again.

LOL Ivana too late to suck up to your pet sitter now, you must have nearly given her a heart attack!:eek:

Curve balls seem to be Ivanas specialty, looks like you got a +2 that will be conducive to a good night sleep;)

Well done on handling it all and a good call with that reduced pet sitter dose Could have been even more interesting for your pet sitter if you had stuck with the 0.25 reduction!

gill
 
Oy sweet cheeks Ivana I see ya like jerking the beans around I know how fun it is. I also understand how very easy they make it for us but dont always take the bait.. it might just be a trap those beans can be mighty sneaky and although not cat smart they do have a low sly cunning-Magellan
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top