12/23 Fritz +4.25 46 +4.75 68 +5.5 45+6 56+6.5 109+7.75 129 10.25 122 PMPS 191 +2 168+5 100+7.5 136

Status
Not open for further replies.

DebG

Member Since 2016
yesterdayhttp://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...1-5-68-pmps-121-2-5-102-5-83-77-10-83.170093/

Happy Friday beans in L&L land!!!!!
Hope your tree is up presents bought or made, stockings hung and cookies and milk made for Old Saint Nick those that celebrate Merry Christmas and those that don't Happy Holidays! Now there did I include everyone?
Fritz is responding well to the new plan except to the food part. I decided to slowly reduce his portions as I don't want to add another problem and put him at risk.
Knock on wood, Praise the Lord his breathing is better. (I say that with caution but optimism).

As we celebrate also remember all those who this time of year might not be a celebration or a time of joy!
Thank you L&L beans for all of your support and caring for Fritz and I this last year. I consider you all family!!!! We wouldn't be where we are today if it wasn't for each of you!!!!!!!
 
To answer your question on yesterday's post we generally count drops on separate days. The caveat is if you were having trouble keeping him up then a reducie should be considered. It's something you need to decided and seeing how he does today might help. I understand not wanting to go up and down in dose but it's a natural part of FD unfortunately especially with additional medical issues like Fritz and others have. Hope he gives you a nice safe surf today and glad to hear he's feeling better. Going slow on the reduced fuds is best and hope in the long run it helps shed a few pounds but that will take time too. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
The caveat is if you were having trouble keeping him up then a reducie should be considered
Either being off pred. and starting the three new holistic meds are pushing his #'s lower. If I have a hard time keeping him up today I'll reduce to 8.25 tonight.
I was just getting ready to head out to run errands with DH and Fritz let out a big MEOW I said hold on lets check his BG and wow +2.75 51. Not going anywhere for the time being
 
51 on AT is pretty low Deb. If it were me I'd reduce tonight especially with pred being out of the picture. When we don't take reductions when earned you run the risk of the depot getting ahead especially with such a large depot and you taking smaller reductions. Just my 2 cents.

Up now Fritz and surf buddy.
 
If it were me I'd reduce tonight especially with pred being out of the picture
Will do for sure I sure don't want that large depot catching us.... thanks +4 37 gave 2 tsp LC FF Chicken with Karo syrup drizzle a nice amount on food
 
Yikes on that 37!! That's too low Fritz...up now buddy. Definitely reduce Deb and I might think about taking him down to 8u. You're balancing taking out pred and a reduced diet which is a lot to manage. It's you're call of course.
 
This is not fun:arghh: Oh how brave I am when it's not your own kitty:eek::nailbiting: I'll feel better as soon as he's up about 68 and the cycle is wearing off. Thank goodness he's still wanting to eat:arghh:
I'll definitely take him down. I agree 8 u its it is tonight thanks for your HELP:bighug::kiss:
 
Good catch Deb! Guess the no pred and the holistic remedies are doing their thing for Fritz. Come on back up and glad he's eating. Do you think the reduction in fuds in contributing also to the lower numbers?
 
Do you think the reduction in fuds in contributing also to the lower numbers?
Bobbie I have not reduced his food intake. I was afraid giving him that much less would cause that liver thing. Can't remember what it's called. I have been giving him Coconut oil, for two times then switched to sardines just to add a tiny bit more fat to his diet. The only difference is off pred. and added the holistic meds. It is impossible to give less food on the days that his numbers are falling. It is a catch 22
 
I think dropping to 8u is a good idea. It's been four cycles since his last reduction and the are pretty low numbers for an AT. With all the changes, you might have some busy cycles until the dose catches up to his need for less insulin.
 
The holistic vet did mention a couple of times that his BG #'s would come down once I added a bit of fat to his diet as she felt he was storing all the fat once you give more fat the body uses fat instead of stores. She said to feed him only twice 2 ounces each time. I can't reduce that much he's 29lbs. On the days he's not low I will cut back some each week. Any way that's the way she explained it to me.
 
I agree, Marje his breathing is better he hasn't had one attack :) and he is also using the LB every day which he wasn't before. He is a bit more active and not afraid to jump up on his favorite chair which he had stooped until recent:D
Great news!!! I'm so glad!!!

The new year will be a good time to see if you can slowly get some weight off him. Don't tell him, though ;)
 
+4.75 68 should I hold off on the food for 1/2 and hour test and see where he's at?
 
He's at 68 at 4.75 should I hold off on the food and see where he is at in 1/2 hour?
 
He's at 68 at 4.75 should I hold off on the food and see where he is at in 1/2 hour?
IDK Deb, a 1/2 hour should be fine. Unfortunately he likely just hit onset so the cycle isn't wearing off anytime soon. Just don't fill him up but do keep him up.

ETA: he already earned the reduction so nothing wrong with a bit more karo or gravy to get him up so you don't have to poke every 20-30 min.
 
ETA: he already earned the reduction so nothing wrong with a bit more karo or gravy to get him up so you don't have to poke every 20-30 mi
Wow I am struggling I'll test him at +6 - 12:30 and yes I will give him a nice dose of Karo he will not eat any of the MC FF foods or that lickin chicken one either
 
I'll definitely take him down. I agree 8 u its it is tonight t
I agree on 8 units as the new dose, but not so much with giving that tonight. This baby has one FULL depot. Unless he skyrockets, or you want to repeat the hokey pokey tonight, I'd give him a BCS and carry on with 8 units tomorrow. Note for any lurkers, this is a tactic for higher dose kitties.

For weight loss, Dr. Lisa Pierson has a great page talking about what to feed, how much etc. when kitty is on a diet. It's hepatic lipidosis, or fatty liver disease you want to avoid.

Fritz, just one word - UP!!!
 
I agree on 8 units as the new dose, but not so much with giving that tonight. This baby has one FULL depot. Unless he skyrockets, or you want to repeat the hokey pokey tonight, I'd give him a BCS and carry on with 8 units tomorrow. Note for any lurkers, this is a tactic for higher dose kitties.

For weight loss, Dr. Lisa Pierson has a great page talking about what to feed, how much etc. when kitty is on a diet. It's hepatic lipidosis, or fatty liver disease you want to avoid.

Fritz, just one word - UP!!!
I'm thinking the same thing a BCS is in order. I really don't want to end up in the ER or filling him full of Karo Syrup.
I'm heading to the page right now for weight loss. Thanks Wendy:cat::):bighug:
 
+6 109
See what happens the rest of the cycle. If he doesn't start surfing without food you might be skipping.
K so glad someone other than myself is thinking. I'm so not use to him being low for this long. I have a feeling it has something to do with the holistic meds.
 
Love that 109 and sure you do too! Think you're OK to give him a break for 1 hour but you'll have to keep checking today for at least the next 3 IMO. Those syrup carbs will likely wear off and you know he could come back down. Luckily he doesn't typically nadir all the way to preshot but who knows today. Hope you can breath for a few now. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Love that 109 and sure you do too! Think you're OK to give him a break for 1 hour but you'll have to keep checking today for at least the next 3 IMO. Those syrup carbs will likely wear off and you know he could come back down. Luckily he doesn't typically nadir all the way to preshot but who knows today. Hope you can breath for a few now. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
I sure didn't expect this today:nailbiting::nailbiting::nailbiting: I don't know how you have done this sooooo many times with Doodles:cat::p
Just when you think I got this reality sets in:eek:
Yes DH is running to Chipotle for our lunch we were suppose to be off shopping and doing dinner together:rolleyes: Fritz had other plans. It's not so much the stres from the cat it's the stress from DH:banghead::arghh:
I'll take a breather and check him in an hour with no food or syrup:bighug:
 
I used just a small little dollop of honey and then increased
That is the ideal way to do it until they are this low for this long. The difference is the large depot and the most active part of the cycle for Levemir is usually +4/ +5 to preshot. When Doodles pulled days like this he's had tablespoons of honey/gravy etc. and still came back down. :arghh:
 
Karen is right, a skip if he's still low at shot time is indeed an option. I typically did a BCS of between 50-66% of the dose of the about 3 times I did it in 5 years. The 20's earned a 50% BCS. :nailbiting: I would BCS if I thought there was another reason creating downward pressure on the dose, such as you have going on.

Neko on the other hand, was thankfully fairly carb sensitive so I never had to fight the numbers as long as you have. For her, a drop of karo and she was good to go.
 
Neko on the other hand, was thankfully fairly carb sensitive so I never had to fight the numbers as long as you have. For her, a drop of karo and she was good to go.
That is what I am use to Fritz is really sensitive to carbs and most days I just gave LC FF. I really think it has something to do with Drenamin or the Asthma Nosode and or Kudzu Releasing Liquid. Those are the most recent changes. I didn't have him on pred. long enough.
I'd really like to know what is in that stuff:bookworm: I'll have to call the holistic vet and ask.
 
But the little bugger dips down at +10
The last two times...10/29 and again on 10/31 it was a nightmare I choose not to go through again. (too many times before that to count) Plus Doodles was circling, wobbly and disoriented. For Doodles at this point 50's are even too low.

Just keep an eye on him. Sometimes Doodles would be good for a few hours then drop again.
 
The last two times...10/29 and again on 10/31 it was a nightmare I choose not to go through again. (too many times before that to count) Plus Doodles was circling, wobbly and disoriented. For Doodles at this point 50's are even too low.

Just keep an eye on him. Sometimes Doodles would be good for a few hours then drop again.
Ok He has never shown any signs except when I said come on lets test you and he let out a Big MEOW his ears are always really cold when he's low.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top