12/26 TAFFY-AMPS 356/+2.5 328/+6.5 59/+7.5 68/+9 66/PMPS 102/+2 163/+4.5 149/+6 188

Status
Not open for further replies.

Taffysmama

Member Since 2016
Yesterday (skipped shot last night): http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...-56-pmps-56-skip-2-14-82.170219/#post-1852898

Taffy is running high #s this morning, not surprising since I skipped last night. He is really having troubles with his tummy, though. He had a poop yesterday, but I still think he needs to go more. Appy is down due to this and he is wanting to eat fuzz and dust bunnies and looks generally bleh. Poor dude. I am wondering if the miralax is the right thing or not. Lactulose seemed to help him a few years back when he had some issues, and I still had some but it was old so I threw it out. He is not gung ho about the raw batch again and I am wondering if it is my vitamin completer mix. I used Alnutrin with eggshell in the last two batches. In the past he seemed to like it, but who knows. It has drieed egg yolk, maybe he has food allergy to eggs? He is not really wanting the canned foods much, either. Really wish I could afford the food intolerance testing, but with everything else, it is never in the budget. I am going to make some plain chicken today, see if he will eat that better. Also order the other vitamin mix completer that he has liked before. He might need a vet check if I can't figure it out. Visits are so stressful for him.
 
Or maybe it is litter. I have used different types. No clay ever, but all different clumping. Maybe he ingests a little when he is cleaning himself and it gums him up??? Not a big deal for younger cats, maybe, but no good for older dudes? I can try a non-clumping type.
 
Hi Julie.

I hope you finally got some sleep last night. Can't recall if I suggested this to you before, but I used to give Cinco 1/2 to 1 teaspoon of canola (or coconut) oil to get things moving. One dose usually did the trick, but sometimes he needed two. I put it in his food, but if Taffy isn't eating, syringing it might work. Some people here say their cat loves coconut oil and will like it from a spoon.
 
Ay, this cat!! He tends to be really sleepy when his #s get low, and he is curled up on the bed, so I had a feeling, but not this low!
59 @ +6.5
If he's had good results with lactulose before, you might see if your vet will give you some to try it
Trying the Miralax for another day and see if results. I do give up too quickly on some things when not results.
Can't recall if I suggested this to you before, but I used to give Cinco 1/2 to 1 teaspoon of canola (or coconut) oil to get things moving. One dose usually did the trick, but sometimes he needed two.
You did suggest this before. And I asked you why you choose canola? I assume (oils) would mainly help for hair impaction? I would like to ry, but I have reservations about oils and his pancreatitis. Did Cinco have any issues with panc?
 
Nice job Taffy! Going for a repeat of last night? :eek::D

I'd think safflower oil would be OK too. I have also heard of people using olive oil.
 
If he's had good results with lactulose before, you might see if your vet will give you some to try it
I think the lactulous is loaded with sugar and not ideal for diabetics. This is from internet:

Ingestion of lactulose does not cause a weight gain because it is a non-digestible, low calorie sugar that contains only about one calorie per millitre. Although lactulose has less potential to cause dental caries than sucrose, there is a minimal potential because it is a sugar.

I have really good luck with about 1 tsp of coconut oil, and just put it on a saucer and he laps it off. Most cats love it! One dose usually works.
 
I think the lactulous is loaded with sugar and not ideal for diabetics. This is from internet:

Ingestion of lactulose does not cause a weight gain because it is a non-digestible, low calorie sugar that contains only about one calorie per millitre. Although lactulose has less potential to cause dental caries than sucrose, there is a minimal potential because it is a sugar.

I have really good luck with about 1 tsp of coconut oil, and just put it on a saucer and he laps it off. Most cats love it! One dose usually works.
I have read conflicting info about whether or not lactulose affects blood sugar. So, I'm not sure what to think.
 
Since you only started the Miralax yesterday I think you are being a bit hasty to write it off. You didn't mention in your spreadsheet how much you're giving. For Purrdy we did it like this - first three days 1/8 tsp once a day, next three days 1/8 tsp twice a day, after that we increased to 1/4 tsp AM and 1/8 tsp PM and found that this was the right dose for him, no more poop problems (pumpkin and coconut oil did not work for him).

I think the lactulose might not be a problem either since it's indigestible sugar. If you give it and it is you will soon see from the numbers you're getting but I would give the Miralax a chance first.

I think I recall you're giving once daily massage too (sorry if I'm mixing you up with someone else) if so I would increase that to twice daily.

I made up my own nutrient mix for raw and I did find if there was too much b vitamin in there it would put Vyktor off - I'm not surprised given the smell! I think it's a smart idea to go back to one you know Taffy likes.
 
Since you only started the Miralax yesterday I think you are being a bit hasty to write it off. You didn't mention in your spreadsheet how much you're giving. For Purrdy we did it like this - first three days 1/8 tsp once a day, next three days 1/8 tsp twice a day, after that we increased to 1/4 tsp AM and 1/8 tsp PM and found that this was the right dose for him, no more poop problems (pumpkin and coconut oil did not work for him).

I think the lactulose might not be a problem either since it's indigestible sugar. If you give it and it is you will soon see from the numbers you're getting but I would give the Miralax a chance first.

I think I recall you're giving once daily massage too (sorry if I'm mixing you up with someone else) if so I would increase that to twice daily.

I made up my own nutrient mix for raw and I did find if there was too much b vitamin in there it would put Vyktor off - I'm not surprised given the smell! I think it's a smart idea to go back to one you know Taffy likes.
I agree with all! There was some soft poop in the box, pretty sure it was Taffy.
Right now he is being picky, eating only sparingly. He may be having some mild panc problems. Good thing he has a helicoptor mama!
 
I think the lactulous is loaded with sugar and not ideal for diabetics.

Lactulose is the best known medication for feline constipation and must be prescribed by the vet. It is syrup that's made up of a long chain of indigestible sugars that help to soften stools by increasing the amount of water present in the colon. It's a polysaccharide created from two separate sugars (galactose and fructose), and is not absorbed in the intestine, but instead passes into the colon. When lactulose is fermented, it produces organic acids that stimulate fluid secretion in the colon. This colonic fluid acts as a laxative and helps to increase motility and volume of the feces which is then propelled out of the cat's system. Organic acids also attract ammonia caused by protein metabolism, and help it to migrate to the colon where it's metabolized to ammonium and excreted.

We've had cats here on lactulose in the past without problems, but as with everything, ECID so let the numbers be your guide!!

I agree however that you haven't given the Miralax a chance yet....Constipation problems are tough and don't usually get fixed in a day or two.

Make sure he's getting extra water too....that's how Miralax works....by pulling water from the body into the intestine so it's best to have extra water on board when treating with Miralax
 
Yo Taffy...wrong way dude!!

Typical man....won't stop and ask for directions ;)

But seriously, I wouldn't be surprised if he bounces tonight....that was a pretty fast and deep drop today!!

Taffy....step away from the trampoline!!
Yes. And I'm feeling very frustrated and stressed. He is not eating much. Not nothing, but not much. I think I'm having a hormonal/emotional/irrational day, but I am barely keeping it together tonight. And civ Baby is being extra stubborn about eating any wet food the last few days, and all I can think is that he will end up with chronic panc or FD, too, if I can't get him switched over. Or in the very least, worsening potty problems. And I was trying to syringe him his miralax, and he just looked at me with the most pathetic, heart-wrenching, giant pupil eyes, like, "why are you doing this to me" and I just felt awful!
 
Hang in there...agree, give the miralax a chance I. I had to go up to 1/4 tsp twice a day with Gus and Jett.
What may be important to find out tho is if it is constipation vs colitis as according to my vet if it is colitis, constipation remedies like miralax aggravate rather than help the situation, the treatments aren't the same.
Sending big hang in there hugs:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
+4.5 = 149
What is good time for next test? I'll have to set alarms.
What may be important to find out tho is if it is constipation vs colitis as according to my vet if it is colitis,
I may need to try out your vet. The guy I went to last time with Taffy was ok, but I need more support! I also liked the local woman I took Baby to, but she is not integrative at all, I don't think. But maybe close to home is better. That is a huge part of my frustration...spending tons of money on disappointing vet care and still feeling out on a limb alone.
 
+4.5 = 149
What is good time for next test? I'll have to set alarms.

I may need to try out your vet. The guy I went to last time with Taffy was ok, but I need more support! I also liked the local woman I took Baby to, but she is not integrative at all, I don't think. But maybe close to home is better. That is a huge part of my frustration...spending tons of money on disappointing vet care and still feeling out on a limb alone.
What is typically when a Taffy takes his dives?
 
Gussie wants some attention so signing off. I was going to suggest a +6 as well. It's tough when there are no clear answers that fix things..I like my vet, we work well together..the process of elimination is tough to uncover what helps...and when you re tired it's even harder:bighug::bighug:
Hang in there Julie....
 
Gussie wants some attention so signing off. I was going to suggest a +6 as well. It's tough when there are no clear answers that fix things..I like my vet, we work well together..the process of elimination is tough to uncover what helps...and when you re tired it's even harder:bighug::bighug:
Hang in there Julie....
Thanks! Good nite to you and the kits!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top