12/29 Kay PMPS=86 +1=64 +1.50=46 +2=54 +2.3=70 +3=54 +4=56 +5=49 +5.5=58 +6=71 - 1st green shot

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mel&Kay

Member Since 2014
Previous condo

No bounce streak: 5 cycles!

Good morning, Lantus Land! Kay is being a diva and has decided that wet food over four hours old is simply unacceptable. :rolleyes: Her highness would now like to be served @amps +4 and @pmps +4, heated and mixed with water, natch. I will be looking into timed feeders soon. :p

WCR: No upset acid tummy this morning (perhaps the 1tsp snack @+21 helped?). All 5P's present, normal BMs and golf ball sized pee clumps. Who could ask for anything more?
 
Her PMPS is lower than her nadir, is it safe to shoot? :confused: I'm going to stall and retest in 30 minutes.
 
Yes, it's lower, but meters are allowed to have a 20% variance and still be considered accurate. She's not plummeting down into pmps - over the whole day she's only moved 65ish points. I think if you are ok staying up with her tonight, it's probably fine to go ahead. Experienced people will shoot most everything over 50ish as long as their cat is eating (ie, not sick) and they have supplies and can monitor.

Do you have plenty of test strips and high carbs? If you're up for testing, you could shoot and then get a +1 and a +2.

My only hesitation is that I can only stay up with you for about 3 hours, so if she heads into low numbers (under 50) you might be doing it on your own. I see on her ss that you've done that before. Are you ok with it on your own if no one else is online? Consider that before you shoot.
 
She got a couple bites of 5% before I took her bowl away. :oops:

I think I'm confident enough to shoot and will definitely monitor her and stay up if I need to. I have plenty of strips, karo, 20% HC and the number/address to the nearest 24hour vet hospital just in case. I'm going to feed her now. :)
 
Last edited:
Perfect! you are ready!

The rule of thumb is to get a +1 and a +2 anytime you shoot a number lower than you've shot before. Just to be on the safe side so you don't get any surprises.

I'll look for you in an hour.
 
What a great close to a great condo. Nice work. Ahhhhhh, enjoy.

Marilyn and Polly

♫ I got kitty in green pastures ♫

Thanks, Marilyn! I had that tune stuck in my head all morning. It's great when things work out in your favor (anti-jinx). :)
 
+1=64. :D She went straight for her bowl for a couple nibbles after her BG test. Back in another hour for +2!
 
Give her some food - a couple of teaspoons of low carb and retest in 1/2 hr, not at +2.

It would've been expected to see a food spike at the +1, in other words, usually the +1 is higher than the preshot because of eating.
 
1hour 30 minutes post-shot and she's at 46 - i'm giving her 1tsp of HC. should i give karo as well? starting to freak out now...
 
You're ok, but yes, 1-2 tsp of the gravy from HC or karo. You just want to bring her up over 50.

You're in control. You'll be able to steer her. I'll stay with you. Carb her and retest in 20 minutes. I'll see you then.
 
+2=54. Gave her 2tsp of 20% and she's begging for more. Will test again in 20 minutes.
 
Last edited:
we posted at the same time. look above.

when she's over 50 you can hold off or give her 1 tsp of low carb. you want her to remain hungry in case she dips below 50 again. cats can bobble around as the carbs wear off.

She came up very nicely. good job!
 
Don't you mean 0.50u? I thought we reduced by 0.25u. Starting to freak out less now. Gotta remember to breath lol
 
+2.33=70. Phew! :) I test again in 30 minutes, right? Will she still be dropping until her nadir?
 
Here are the directions from Sienne's post about handling low numbers:

If your cat is testing in low numbers and you are not getting a quick response to your post, there are several things you need to do. (Low numbers are under 50mg/dL or 2.8 mmol/L.)
  • Depending on how carbohydrate sensitive your cat is, feed approximately a teaspoon or less of food with high carb (HC) gravy or HC food only. (If you have a cat with GI issues, using syrup plus LC food is an alternative.)
  • Test again in 15 – 20 min. Depending on the numbers, give more HC food.
  • Repeat the above steps every 15 – 20 min. until your cat tests in the 50 mg/dL (2.8 mmol/L) or above range for 2 consecutive tests. Continue to feed in small amounts to keep numbers in a safe range.
  • Test in 30 - 40 min. and repeat the test and feed process until there are 2 consecutive tests where numbers are stable or rising.
  • Test in an hour and follow the same steps.
DO NOT become complacent. If number have risen after one or two tests, it’s important to continue testing. Numbers may bobble up and down as the HC food and/or Karo wear off. DO NOT get one test where your cat has risen from low numbers into the 50s and go to sleep or leave the house. You are putting your cat in a risky situation. When in doubt, leave HC food out.

In the case of an accidental overdose or should there be symptoms of hypoglycemia, even if you have caught this in the early stages, you may need to monitor for literally 16 or more hours. Lantus and Levemir are long acting types of insulin. This means if your cat is over dose, you will need to stay alert for hours in order to closely monitor and to keep your cat safe.

Please post your numbers. Those people who are helping you will not abandon you. In fact, they are staying up with you. The experienced people will even work in shifts to make sure your cat is safe and you have the support you need. Remember to refresh your browser to see new posts and keep posting so we know all is well.

With this test at 70, I'd test again in 30-40 minutes now. You're at the 4th bullet point above.

Are you doing ok?
 
Got it! Keep testing every 30-40 minutes until she's stable or rising. Sometimes nothing makes sense when I'm super anxious despite reading it over and over. I'm doing better; my heart isn't racing and pounding through my chest anymore. Meanwhile, Kay is happily snoring next to me on my bed completely oblivious.

Thanks so much for being here, Julie, I truly appreciate it! :bighug:

Oh yeah, don't I get a (Lady)Balls of Steel award or something? Teehee! :p
 
hehehe ABSOLUTELY! lady balls of steel coming your way - i'll just have to find them! hahahaha

Do you need me to stay longer with you tonight or are you ok? it's not so bad once you've gone through it a few times, but at first it definitely gets ya going!
 
well that didn't work. how about this?

balls_of_steel.gif
 
+3=54. I'm feeding her a tiny bit more 20% HC. She made a beeline for her bowl after and had a couple nibbles of her 5% too.

Haha, thanks! I've definitely earned it tonight! :smuggrin:
Sure, I think I can take it from here. I'll be watching her very closely.
 
Last edited:
I'm falling asleep, mel. I think you've got this, but if you need help, we've got 3 members in australia/New Zealand now that have been on at night. Look in Jack's condo for Serryn or Charlene (javasfambam) - they've both been checking in on Jack's mom, Merrin.

Great job this evening! congrats on the reduction. the right reduction, that is. ;-)

oh, i just saw your edit to your last post. ok, well nighty night. you've done great!
 
+4=56.

Hi, Sandy, thanks for stopping by! I gotta admit, I'm getting a bit frazzled, but I'm hanging in there. Her pasts 3 tests have been 50+ so hopefully she'll start to surf now. I left out the FF gravy lovers by accident and caught her licking it straight out of the can. Yikes! Thankfully she didn't hurt herself. I cut myself the first time she went under 50 a couple weeks ago. Ouch. :facepalm:

Looks like I've run out of space on the title, heh.
 
Son of a gun - it is your first time shooting green:D
Well done!

Remember, your goal is to keep her over 50. Numbers can wobble as the carbs wear off, so you have to be vigilant. You don't want to call it a night until she's past the nadir of the cycle and has 2 tests that are rising and at least an hour after getting any carbs.
 
Hi Mel. Where are you? I am in Australia. I have been following your posts but am new to this so couldn't offer any advice or suggestions.
 
Sandy, thanks for the clarification. Oh, I definitely won't stop poking her until I know she's out of the woods. Fortunately, she is a sweetie and let's me do anything to her.

She's nearly polished off an entire can of FF gravy lovers and, by the looks of it, I may have to pop open another (which happens to be the last can!).

Voula, I'm in the US, PST time. It's 1:15 in the morning right now. :coffee:
 
Hi Mel. I thought you might be in New Zealand or Australia given the time you are posting. But anyway I just wanted to say hi and to say it is early evening here and even though I can't really advise due to my inexperience I just want to let you know I am online if you need some moral support at any stage.
 
I realised I was reading the other thread on Jack and confused the two threads but that is okay it is nice to meet you in any case.
 
+5=49. Another teaspoon of HC coming up!

Voula, heh no worries and nice to meet you, too. I knew I was in for an all-nighter shooting my first green. :D
 
AMPS = 151
+5 = 105
PMPS = 86
+1 = 64
+1.50 = 46
+2 = 54
+2.3 = 70
+3 = 54
+3.5 = 54
+4 = 56
+4.5 = 50
+5 = 49
+5.5 = 58
+6 = 71

Looks like we're on the rise. I'll get in a couple more tests to be sure before I succumb to PillowLand. :pricey: < We need a sleepy emoticon!
 
I hope you can get some sleep soon but of course losing sleep is not important when it comes to keeping your Kay safe.
 
Serryn here

Good job Mel :D don't forget to take that reduction in the morning - sometimes when you're tired you can forget so maybe put a sticky note or something with your lantus or syringes - says the voice of experience :oops:

I assume you fed the +5, was that the last snack she's had?
 
+7=115

Hi, Serryn. Yep, I've already got my caliper set! ;)
Someone mentioned shooting the full dose IF she bounces (to clear the bounce faster?), then reduce the following dose. This makes me kind of nervous, but we'll see...

She finished of the last of the HC and her regular food @+5.5--about 1tsp 12%. I'm going to leave out a teeny bit of 5% for her to graze on while I sleep as she's prone to acid tummy when she hasn't eaten for a few hours.

Goodnight, LL! zzz
 
sleep well. tee hee I see you already prepared her spreadsheet for the reduction too :bighug: If she does bounce you can shoot the old dose (0.75) for one cycle only. I would do that if she's hit the pink floor or higher
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top