12/29 Texas Gizmo AMPS=201, +2=209, +4=116, +5.5=124

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by LizzieInTexas, Dec 29, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. LizzieInTexas

    LizzieInTexas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2016
    12/28

    AMPS=211

    Seems to be ok, lazy/lethargic but it is cold and I am doing the same thing - lol. Eating good. Didn't eat his +6.5 overnight. He ran down the stairs this morning. I think that the cosequin is working - even hubby said something about his jumping/moving a couple of days ago. Still haven't tried the Omega-3 again yet.

    6 cycle on new feeding schedule - no change in numbers. No greens. Advise? @Sienne and Gabby (GA) and anyone else that has an opinion - please!

    http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...-1-5-217-3-5-177-4-5-165.188574/#post-2095806
     
  2. carfurby (GA)

    carfurby (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    I'm glad Gizmo is moving better. I'm not sure about his dose. He is tricky to figure out. :bighug:
     
  3. LizzieInTexas

    LizzieInTexas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2016
    He has become less predictable recently. And then he will throw in the lime green :banghead:. But he is spend little to no time in healing numbers. If I don't increase tonight I won't be able to for about 3 weeks.
     
  4. carfurby (GA)

    carfurby (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    As much as you monitor, I think you are okay to increase. Those lime greens do confuse things though.
     
    LizzieInTexas likes this.
  5. LizzieInTexas

    LizzieInTexas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2016
    I know. Really confusing to me especially when he doesn't come back down to any sort if good numbers. This is something new and scares me to death going back to work.
     
  6. Alicia & Maggie (GA)

    Alicia & Maggie (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2017
    Nice to hear the cosequin is working. I also think you should increase now, especially if waiting will make it harder on him and you.
     
    LizzieInTexas likes this.
  7. Sienne and Gabby (GA)

    Sienne and Gabby (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    One consideration is that AMPS numbers are often the last to drop. It looks like Gizmo may be experiencing "dawn phenomenon." I know when I changed feeding times with Gabby, it took a surprisingly long time before I saw results. There's no guarantee you'll see an immediate response. Like everything else, it's an ECID thing.

    I'm curious why you didn't reduce the dose with that 37 on 12/26.
     
    LizzieInTexas likes this.
  8. Bronx's dad (GA)

    Bronx's dad (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2016
    How much cosequin are you giving Gizmo?
     
    LizzieInTexas likes this.
  9. LizzieInTexas

    LizzieInTexas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2016
    Long term diabetic (over a year) - Since I am home (vacation time) and could monitor I was doing the 3 under 50. I have to be more conservative when I am working and cannot monitor as much.

    1 capsule 2x/day.

    https://smile.amazon.com/gp/product/B000F4W02M/ref=oh_aui_search_detailpage?ie=UTF8&psc=1
     
  10. Sienne and Gabby (GA)

    Sienne and Gabby (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Just be cautions! I assumed you were doing the "3 drops" method. I know you know that those accumulating drops into the 30s can easily get away from you.
     
    LizzieInTexas likes this.
  11. Bronx's dad (GA)

    Bronx's dad (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2016
    Yep, same one I am using. I am giving 2 capsules 1x/day along with a Zobaline equivalent. Bottle does say decrease Cosequin from 2 capsules to 1 over time if cat shows improvement, but I have kept it at 2.
     
  12. Stacy & Asia

    Stacy & Asia Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2017
    I'm glad the cosequin is working! I hope your food experiment works out. :bighug:
     
  13. LizzieInTexas

    LizzieInTexas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2016
    Yeah, would not have even considered holding the dose if I was working. He had also thrown up his AMPS food that day and I didn't discover it until +2 (well, the 1/2 chicken heart that he got after his shot/treat, that included his breakfast).

    He would pull this stuff early on in the diagnosis- low #'s and then no green again. I found that if I was more aggessive with 6-8 cycles and increase, I was able to get him semi-regulated but then he had pancreatitis flares and I would lose it and back/forth. That is where we are at now.

    ETA-I will leave the feeding schedule as-is unless he has issues with AM stomach acid.
     
  14. LizzieInTexas

    LizzieInTexas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2016
    PMPS=201
    Shot 1.25U (increase)

    History:
    AMPS=211, +2=199, +4=138, +6=134, =11=178
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page