? 12/3 Belle, AMPS 377, +2 320, +4 197, +6 191, +8 243, +10 185, PMPS 165, +2 197, curve today

Status
Not open for further replies.
well, something different starting Tuesday was: I let Belle's sister back to garage to be with him again

Belle's sister, Baily had a limping leg, so i put her into a dog cage inside a room for her to rest, and restrict her activity, to let her heal. She was away from Belle for over 2 weeks. And just let her back with him since Tuesday.

Dunno if that has anything to do with his BG level or is it a coincidence ?! but it looks like since then, his BG had been rising...

but Baily didn't join him until after his AMPS and AM dose... and his AMPS was already high...
 
Last edited:
Happy to see you getting the curve in today!!

Looking more and more like Belle is going to need more juice, but let's see how the rest of the day goes
 
tested him again +6 @ 430pm, his BG 191

so, he would need dosage increase?
i wonder what caused his BG to go up all of a sudden?!

i wonder if the dog was barking (at him) while she was doing the BG test was stressing him out too?! dog was barking yesterday, but not today so far...
 
Last edited:
Am I remembering correctly that Belle was on 4 units twice a day when you first joined? (I talk to so many people, sometimes I get them confused)

I doubt if the dog had anything to do with it....looks like he just needs a higher dose
 
yes, he was on 4 units/dose twice daily (8 units/day) when i first join the forum...
he was originally on 2 units/dose, then vet had him up to 3, then up to 4
i just obtained his BG curve report from the vet, let me take a pic and show u in a min.

hmmm.. so, he will probably need a dosage increase ?

i wonder what caused this BG to go up these 3 days... he seems to be doing ok before...
 
IMG_6127.JPG
IMG_6129.JPG
IMG_6131.JPG
 
I wouldn't worry too much about the old dosages - it's pretty clear that the 2u is in the ballpark now.

The reason he's been high the past 3 days is from bouncing. It's very, very typical. Like basically every cat bounces, unless they get insulin very quickly after becoming diabetic before their body has had a chance to get used to the high blood sugar. Most cats have been high for a while before they get diagnosed. Here is a link about bouncing - it's in the second post in this thread.

Don't sweat the high numbers - you can't do anything about them except making dose changes that the numbers tell you to do.

I can't remember if you have a medical condition or something that keeps you from being able to get any tests in the pm cycle. I'm actually a bit suspicious that there may be some lower numbers there. If you have any way to get a pm cycle test in every night, I sure would. It can give a lot of information.

Since you're following SLGS you aren't going to increase the dose more than once a week anyway. See how he is after the 13th cycle at this dose and then we can see if he needs a dose increase or not.
 
Last edited:
@julie & punkin (ga) i do not have any medical condition (as i m aware of...touch wood... n keep my fingers crossed)... but he gets his PM dosage around 1030-11pm ... i would usually be asleep by the time of +2...
but i will stay up tonight to test PM +2 ... to get a better curve...
but to test the PM cycle every night, means having to stay up for the full night every night?!
 
oh gosh no - you don't have to stay up all night every night!

Do you sleep in til 10:30 am or could you shoot earlier?

Another option is to get some tests in the morning when you get up, if it's earlier than the shot time.

I shot punkin at 7am/pm so that I could get a before bed test at 11:30pm, +4, which was plenty late enough most nights to see what might be happening. It just looks to me like Belle is having a lot of blues and some greens on this dose - frequently enough that I'm thinking there might be something lower at night. I don't mean dangerously low, just that many cats have their lowest numbers at night and the fact that Belle isn't bouncing for 3 days in between every blue cycle makes me think he's fairly used to being in blue numbers.
 
i choose the 1030/11 time mainly becos sometimes i get home late after dinner (especially during the weekends)... n i live in the SF bay area, so traffic is crazy... i don't wanna miss or be late for his insulin dose if i schedule it too early...
 
Makes sense.

Then if you are home in the mornings before his shot - say you got up at 7am sometimes and could check him then - that would help fill out information.
 
Bounces change - did you read the post I linked above? Hopefully it will explain some.

In the beginning they will often last a full 3 days. As the cat gets used to normal range of blood sugar, the bounces will lessen in both intensity and duration. So instead of bouncing to 600, eventually the peak of the bounce might be just 200, or even just to 150. At first they last 3 days, eventually the bounce might run itself out in 6 hours. Just a little blip that says bouncing is almost done.

When a cat is bouncing they aren't just straight 400-400-400. the blood sugar can bobble around - the key is that it doesn't get back into the range that started the bounce in the first place. Like the past 2 days with 200's and 300's - I'd guess that's a bounce caused by all the blues on 11/30. And I think he cleared that bounce today with the blue numbers.

So it depends on the phase the cat's in what the cat's bounce looks like.

When a cat's body has gotten all used to normal numbers and the bouncing has stopped, the blood sugar might remain within 10-50 points for the entire day. Like for 24 hours, the cat might test in the 60's, for example.

We have a saying here "ECID" - every cat is different, and it really is true. There's no way to predict what Belle will do, but those are some examples that I've seen.
 
It is confusing - and different cats have different looking bounces. Oddly enough, some cats will even delay a bounce - so instead of starting right after lower numbers that can easily be spotted, they start a day or more later. It's annoyingly challenging!

But no worries, others can spot them for you. For now, just keep on til the week is up and ask if you think you might need to increase the dose. Someone experienced can look and let you know if it's a good idea or if you should hold a little longer. That's why so many of us with experience stick around - it's not intuitive at all to see what's going on with the diabetic cat. It's not rocket science either, so you'll get it, but it does take people explaining and pointing things out.
 
@julie & punkin (ga) thanks julie...
i hope Belle gets out of his bounce and back to more normal (blues & greens)... otherwise pls let me know if he needs a higher dose... he is in his 5th day during his current dose already.

@julie & punkin (ga) i am reading about your cat Anya, and my cat Charlene (who passed away 3 weeks ago, upper right corner in my profile photo) is also is small, around 7 lbs her whole life, and rarely meows as well.
and i am sorry about Punkin... he is beautiful, both him and Anya.
i hope Punkin can meet up with my Charlene and my Pepsi over at the rainbow bridge and play together
 
Punkin was such an amazing cat - I've had cats since I was a kid and I always loved them, but punkin was different. One of those once-in-a-lifetime soul kitties that we get when we're lucky. Anya is on my lap right now, all fluffy and snuggly.

thanks for your kind words!
 
Do you have anyone that can help you? Someone who might be able to test/shoot if you're not able to get home in time?

If you could back his times up even a little, it might help to get those PM tests in....but if not and you stay at the 10:30-11 shot times, getting some tests early in the morning (if you shot at 11, his 7am test would be PM+8) it would be helpful

Sure wish he'd agree to be an indoor kitty....would make it a lot easier to deal with him ;)
 
@julie & punkin (ga) Charlene was also one of those special kitties as well, she is way more than a cat, a "much more" soul in a cat's body. I was lucky to have her as part of my life. I raised Pepsi and Charlene since they were 2-3 weeks old, and bottle fed them as kittens. They were once smaller than my palm.

@julie & punkin (ga) I am sure Punkin loves you a lot. you have done a lot for him. You are as special to him, as he is special to you.

@Chris & China unfortunately, no one can help me, that was the reason i cancelled all my summer camping trip and winter ski trips... and no more vacation traveling...
yes, it would be a lot easier if he was an indoor... but even if i put him indoor, he sees the door open he will rush out...
it's weird, both my own cats who are indoor (Pepsi and Charlene) are sooooooo scare to go outside, and hates it outside, will only look out the window...
 
Last edited:
@julie & punkin (ga) I am sure Punkin loves you a lot. you have done a lot for him. You are as special to him, as he is special to you.

i m not sure if you believe in Animal communicators, i know this lady who can communicate with animals, and she helped me talked with Charlene before she passed, and she also talked with Pepsi (who passed 1.5 years ago).
here is her website: http://nancyschluntz.com/communication/
 
what do you mean, reflex?

Some kitties do what's called a "double dip" on Lantus. It means that their blood sugar drops a little bit at the end of the cycle - Belle might be a kitty that does that. Something to notice.

I know others who have used animal communicators and been very happy with them too. Thanks for the info!
 
o... must be "double dip" then... or maybe end of bounce?!

tested him PMPS @ 1030pm, his BG 165... even lower than +10
given 2.25U
 
That's not a huge jump to +2. It could be partly his dinner or he could be starting a little bounce in reaction to all those lovely blues today.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top