12/3 Jenks AMPS 60 +4 38 +6 86 +10 62 PMPS 74 +3 84 +7 62 +10 97

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by AZJenks, Dec 3, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. AZJenks

    AZJenks Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2014
    12/2

    Today ought to be interesting. Jenks stepped up to the plate with a 60 this morning. That doesn't give him a lot of room to run for the rest of the day, which probably means sacrificing some sleep for me. If the current pattern holds, he'll be down a small amount in the first quarter, but then more in the second. My preemptive shark-avoidance strategy today is to give him some LC at that first quarter feeding plus some HC gravy to give his numbers a little bit of a buffer zone. If he ends up under 50 again, I might consider dropping to 7.5U for the PM. Now that I think of it, I probably should've done that this morning even though we're only four cycles in at the 8.0U dose.

    @Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey - OH returns tomorrow night.
     
  2. carfurby (GA)

    carfurby (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    Jenks sure is keeping you on your toes. I hope he surfs safely today and the HC gravy keeps him from going too low.
     
  3. AZJenks

    AZJenks Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2014
  4. Barbara & Uncle (GA)

    Barbara & Uncle (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2016
    Just checking in to see what kind of day Jenks is going to give you today :nailbiting:
    He sure has been working the juice!!!
     
  5. AZJenks

    AZJenks Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2014
    Sorry to keep you in suspense @Barbara & Uncle!

    It was another active day for Jenks. He went swimming with the sharks again, except this time earlier in the cycle. It was nothing that some food, gravy, and karo couldn't correct, but I'm kicking myself in retrospect for not dropping the dose this morning to avoid exactly what I figured would happen if I held it. I didn't make the same mistake this evening. As his numbers trended down through the afternoon, I got the distinct impression he's signalling the need for another reduction. So down we go to 7.5U, although I don't know how much good it's going to do considering OH is returning tomorrow....

    Jenks scarfed his dinner fuds and then zipped outta here on a supermoon beam to the party. Keep an eye out for him, he'll probably be wearing a lampshade on his head and asking everyone if they want to see the moon. Do not answer in the affirmative unless you like seeing cat butt.
     
  6. Barbara & Uncle (GA)

    Barbara & Uncle (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2016
    Too funny!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Glad you were all over it today, I was kid of nervous cause I saw that recent low number :eek:
    The main thing that your little guy is feeling great :cat::cat::cat::cat:
    Happy Super MOON :bighug:
     
  7. Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey

    Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011
    Congrats on the reducie. I hope OH's return doesn't cause the usual uptick in numbers. Maybe Jenks will decide to live up to that reputation for unpredictability and continue surfing green.... Maybe....;)
     
  8. AZJenks

    AZJenks Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2014
    Wow, Jenks continuing to impress overnight with a beautiful 62.

    @Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey - I would love for the vacation cycles to stick around and become the norm too. What they show is that he has a normal response to Lantus, and that the insulin can regulate him in ideal numbers at doses significantly less than what we're used to on a day-to-day basis. Right now, for instance, we're getting the best numbers of the year on a total daily dose 5U less than what we were at just a week ago. That's astonishing. There's no dispute now that OH's absence is causally related to these perfect cycles. Now I really need to go about figuring out why that is. A professional somewhere has to have some insight on what's going on, but I don't know where to start looking. Endocrinologist? Feline diabetes specialist? Cat whisperer? Mystic? :cat:
     
    Last edited: Dec 4, 2017
    Stacy & Asia likes this.
  9. Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey

    Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011
    Cat shrink...

    I hope OH's feelings aren't hurt by this phenomenon.
     
  10. AZJenks

    AZJenks Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2014
    @Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey - No matter how objectively and impersonally I try to explain the phenomenon, OH can't help feeling bad as if they're somehow responsible. That's one of the many reasons why I'd like some sort of empirical answer to the whole thing.

    Jenks is up to 97 at the moment. I know it's ridiculous, but it has me a little on edge. The rational side of me says he generally always does this on the cycle of a reduction, and that he'll smooth out as the body adjusts to the new dose. The irrational side is too busy ringing the "failed reduction go back up in dose!" alarm to listen to the rational side. Patience pants.....
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page