? 12/30 OSCAR'S 1st CURVE - what next??

Status
Not open for further replies.

Oscar & Mom Sheila

Member Since 2015
12/29 OSCAR Yellow & Fuchsia

Oscar was very patient today in spite of the cafuffel yesterday of 2 of his civvies going to the vet. It was his FIRST CURVE - good boy Oscar!

PSAM 326/ +2 175/ +4 130/+6 156/ +8 274/+ 10 284/PSPM 225/ +2 178

I really want to be sure of what I'm doing tomorrow. From what I can see from reading the notes under SLGS, I'd say it needs to be increased from .25 to .50.

* I really need the input of others in order to do the right thing. @Marje and Gracie @Tuxedo Mom @Critter Mom
 
Under SLGS, it states if nadirs are between 90 and 149, hold the dose. In the data that you do have, he has several nadirs in that range. Without evening data to show how low he's going, I'm not comfortable advising an increase especially in light of the pink AMPS.

The pink and yellow AMPS indicate to me he's bouncing so he's likely seeing lower numbers at night.
 
Does this change anything re tomorrow's dose?
No, I would stick with 0.25 units for now. Good job getting that later test tonight. When they do a big drop between their preshot and +2, it often signals an active cycle. But it looks like he's slowed down.

Good job on the first curve!:)
 
Sorry...just saw the tag. I agree with Marje and Wendy that you should hold the dose for now. You are still getting acceptable nadirs within the guidelines of the SLGS approach. Great job getting that curve. It is always so helpful to have a whole day's worth of readings to give a clearer picture.
 
I'm not one of the people you tagged but my tenure here is longer than Marje's. The reason we're urging you to get some PM tests is that many cats experience lower numbers during the PM cycle. If you're skipping getting tests, you may be missing those lower numbers or even miss numbers that indicate you need to reduce the dose. If you can get, at the minimum, a "before bed" test every night, you'll be sure Oscar's numbers are in a safe range and you'll have additional data to base your dosing decisions on.

 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top