12/30 Sheba amps 221 appy patchy but improving

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bron and Sheba (GA)

Member Since 2015
Yesterday http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...s-86-9-86-pmps-94-2-5-47.170385/#post-1855658

AMPS 221
I am not unhappy to see a higher amps after the last couple of days.
Even though it was higher I still decided to reduce the insulin dose by 0.25 to 4.25 this morning as I really have to try and get some sleep sometime. She has been getting so much honey just to keep her in higher greens.
This morning her appy is patchy but reasonable so far. She tends to eat ok then faulter about half way through the meal. At least with a higher amps I have the luxury of not having to worry about a low green number so early in the cycle. She still has cerenia aboard and I have given her a quarter of a bupe tablet sublingual....still have to give her the other quarter.....but doing it in stages as it has to sit there to dissolve and a quarter is easier to pop up under her top lip...I am doing it when she doesn't want to eat for a while.

Thank you Les, Wendy and Kathy for visiting yesterday's condo while I was asleep........I finally did manage to get 3 hours when she started to rise a bit. I did try and snooze inbetween the tests earlier but I couldn't settle.
@Wendy&Neko @Kathy and TiTi
Thank you both very much for the suggestions, information and sites to look up about the SubQ fluids and dehydration. I have a large L on my back as far as SubQ fluids are concerned and am very grateful for all the tips and help I can get. I checked out that site on dehydration Kathy...it is really good.
I didn't realise Marje had done a video about the fluids Wendy...thank you ..I will look at that before I do my next lot. Now that I have the equipment to give the fluids I will definitely split the amount and give twice a day when needed.
Vines to all in need. I'm sorry I haven't visited any condos the last few days but will try today.
Another very hot day here. It's 9.30am and already 28 degrees.
 
I'm glad Sheba is showing some improvement. I hope she keeps getting better. Don't worry about visiting condos. Take care of yourself and get some rest when you can. Sending prayers. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Thanks Paula, Sarah, Carla and Amanda for visiting and supporting us.

I gave Sheba 100 mls fluids this morning. It was easier today and I made fewer mistakes:rolleyes:

She was not interested in her second am meal at all. Tried several different options but she turned away.
She just wanted to curl up in bed and go to sleep.
So I decided to go to the local Petbarn and buy some completely different canned food for her. I checked which ones would be suitable carb and phosphorus wise and spent $50 ...........not at all hard to do.
When I got home I opened a can and she was interested so I gave her a small amount.....room service.....and she ate it all....She then watched me in the kitchen from her bed in the lounge room so I knew she was interested. A bit later she actually came out into the kitchen and asked for some more!!! Boy that made me feel much better. She has now gone back to sleep and I am going to have a much needed nap.
I think she was associating her canned food with feeling sick. I didn't have a great variety as she normally eats only raw....(she hasn't touched that for days.) and I think a new smell and flavour has helped.
Also she seems to get full quickly at the moment and just can't eat any more....very unsheba like!
 
Glad you've found some new meals for her to try, Bron - more vines that her appy improves and she feels much more like herself soon.
 
So glad Bron that you have found some new foods to tempt Sheba with and that for the moment at least she is liking them. You must be at your wits end trying to boost her appy. Glad you managed to get some much needed sleep, vines aplenty for continued improvement. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I'm glad Sheba is eating the new fuds. I think they can associate not feeling well with the food they were eating at the time. Sending prayers.
 
Thanks Sarah, Les, Suki and Carla for your support.
Sheba ate one of the new foods I bought for her first pm meal and seemed to enjoy it.........she slowed towards the end. Then refused her second meal again. Just would not look at it. It is now +5 and she has just had a small teaspoons of it. I have left some in a plate on the floor and hopefully she will eat it later.
It is certainly up and down. Just when you think things are looking good, they go backwards.
Her numbers are blue tonight so far, which is a relief as I really need to get some decent sleep.
 
Although not ideal since sure you prefer the raw my feeling is what ever they will eat when ill so be it. It's not food if they don't eat it. Sending continuous appy and feel better vines and loads of :bighug::bighug::bighug: for you.

Also don't blame you for reducing. Having to give a FD kitty honey constantly to keep them up during rough times is counter productive IMO. When this passes she'll get right back on track and you both needs rest in the meantime.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top