12-30 Small Kitty amps 275 +5 175 +10.5 49 pmps 137 +1.5 173 +5 121 +6 99 +95 +8 112 - Reduction

Status
Not open for further replies.

Photorecon

Member Since 2016
Good ''morning'' all,

Since this last heavy ketone test and who knows know liver damage possibility moral
is down falling here. I browse a little on the ''Where can I find'' post yesterday and started
reading ''Fix your expectation'' or something like that... This was not very encouraging..
Testimonies from Vets on remission possibilities were not that optimistic :(. With Ketone
I switched on another post ''GL higher then normal'' where Julie posted information on
Glucose toxicity, not very reassuring...

Was ready to close my eyes on bounces and hope the taste of lower numbers will stop
that pattern but ketone says it not as beautiful. Spending must of the time in the high
zone for little low flying is not without consequences.

Small Kitty is not fully responsible for this mood, other files are not going as planned.
Have two guys with Cappuccino machine I'm waiting for their replies before moving
on that are silent but that's no big concern.

We're at +5 here in the blue, Small Kitty seems to be feeling good. He stayed on my
laps for almost 1h. relaxing without running away like most of the time recently.

My father will pick me up in an hour to go get rid of my second job, that will give
me the full week-end off doing nothing. It will give me some time trying to complete
a ''Mission.. Impossible'' in my cell phone game Air Navy Strike fighter I've been
''working'' one for almost 6h if not more. There is SAM (surface to air missile)
all around + something like 10 battleships, helicopters, guns I need to shotdown
with only 6 missiles and gun. It's as had as Small Kitty GL control :)

Good day to all of you, health and whatever you need to be happy.

Sébastien
Yesterday
 
Nice bounce recovery for SK. I hope he surfs for you and doesn't bounce back up. I hope things work out with the cappuccino machine.
 
Hey Sebastien, I am catching up on yesterday's thread too and looking at your SS to see what the ketone test was and it says less than 2.4. According to the reading literature on testing ketones in cats with a human meter, they don't show up until 2.4 so just keep testing to make sure he doesn't cross that line.

Looks like he is clearing the bounce so that is a good thing. Just keep on keeping on and SK is making progress. If you scroll up the SS you can see that he has more blues and greens and less reds. Slowly but surely.

:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hey there Sebastien!
Looks like SK is giving you better numbers today!
Hope you were able to complete that level in your game!
And how nice that SK put some quality lap time in with you.
Remember, read to learn what to watch for, and when you get discouraged take a hard look at SK and say is he happy my cat? Remembering that he's waaay more than just the numbers and ECID even with the numbers the literature speaks of.
Just like us, for example, there is a lot of information that bacon will kill you..but especially in my case, that's more apt to happen not from the bacon itself but from lighting the house on fire cooking it!
 
Thanks of your encouragements, I'm glad you didn't run away because of my negativism.

Think I just cached a hit of luck. Was just over with a nap with both Big Brother and
Small Kitty sleeping as well on me when a flash came on to test to see if we were
going down. This is where I got the stroke of luck, Small Kitty was below the
safety zone. Lucky I always have FF with plenty of gravy, did the job, he's now safe.

He'll get his shot tonight, question is the dose. He's just processing a reduction that
has just 3 cycles in the meter would you girls go with another reduction ?

I've seen some SS with light green with no panic is dosage, or I might not
paid attention to the next dose.

Thanks again for being there, felt you were all tired of my complains...

.
 
Sorry no one was on line to respond. I think the +10 of 49 was the deptot talking and glad you gave the 1.75 again. We are never tired of complaints, that is what is so good about this forum, we can share good times and bad times.
 
On SLGS you would reduce the dose and a 49 on AT is quite low. I would reduce in the morning especially since SK had dental recently and his needs might be changing.
 
I think the +10 of 49 was the deptot talking

Think you are right Bobbie, the old lantus stick might have lost his effectiveness is now being taken over
by the fresh stick. (simplistic a bit but could make sens). Small Kitty might be over with repair on his
fresh dental.

You're also right Karen, he went pretty low, lucky I was there. He's going to bounce up now and who
knows if he's not going to feel at home back to his high number zone with a lower dose ?

Could be a new dose funkiness also and this low number is the exception to the rule ?
.
 
New Dose Wonkiness only happens on an increase, not a decrease in dose and if it's NDW it raises their BG's not lower them. You hold the syringe so it's your call....be careful though with testing.

Thanks making me less illiterate, didn't know it was just on increase that NDW was manifesting itself.

I'll carefully monitor Small Kitty this week-end... if he's not taking refuge in the red...
.
 
I would monitor very carefully tonight. Typically we don't want to feed two hours before the shot if they are low, to make sure the preshot wasn't influenced by food. You had to because of the low number. I would have waited an extra half hour after the gravy was given to give a full two hours so you would know that the number you shot was not a food influenced high. He may still come down lower tonight.

I agree with Karen on the reduction in the morning. That 49 on an AT is low, and today is day 10 after the dental - which often seems to be the magic day for things to start happening.
 
Woah...I somehow missed your condo today Sebastien.

SK, what shenanigans are you up to?! Please keep it safe sweet boy!
 
I would monitor very carefully tonight. Typically we don't want to feed two hours before the shot if they are low, to make sure the preshot wasn't influenced by food. You had to because of the low number. I would have waited an extra half hour after the gravy was given to give a full two hours so you would know that the number you shot was not a food influenced high. He may still come down lower tonight.

I agree with Karen on the reduction in the morning. That 49 on an AT is low, and today is day 10 after the dental - which often seems to be the magic day for things to start happening.
I missed the buck with this one. I didn't think another reduction unless under 40 and with it only being cycle # 3 after a reduction . However, I did not know about the 10 day rule after a dental. Good to know.
 
@Bobbie And Bubba - That's under 40 on a human meter. We don't have an equivalent number for the AT, but if 50 human meter = 68 AT, then 49 on the AT is pretty low. And Sebastian is following SLGS which says to do an immediate reduction if under 90. I've seen a few cats, including Neko, start needing less insulin on the 10th day after a dental. It's ECID though.
 
@Bobbie And Bubba - That's under 40 on a human meter. We don't have an equivalent number for the AT, but if 50 human meter = 68 AT, then 49 on the AT is pretty low. And Sebastian is following SLGS which says to do an immediate reduction if under 90. I've seen a few cats, including Neko, start needing less insulin on the 10th day after a dental. It's ECID though.
Ugh, yes, AT2 and SLGS, my mistake! Glad you and Karen weighed in!

ETA: Hopefully SK will bounce from that low of 49 and be safe and then tomorrow you can reduction to 1.50.
 
Think that if we were to be on a round table at a vet office we would be very good. Wendy, you've read my tough,
gave the shot but knew this preshot number was virtual :) but didn't want to disturb the depot. The 10 days dental
is new to me, didn't knew that but it does make sens. Small Kitty didn't receive any anti- pain nor antibiotic after dental,
his system might still have some workload he doesn't have anymore.

He's feeling good right now and rising, will keep an eye on him and will go with the reduction.

If you have a low ceiling (GL) in a room and you pitch a superball hard on the floor it will bounce back hard.
With a ceiling higher, it will bounce smoother. Could be the recipe that need to be tried.
.
 
Think that if we were to be on a round table at a vet office we would be very good. Wendy, you've read my tough,
gave the shot but knew this preshot number was virtual :) but didn't want to disturb the depot. The 10 days dental
is new to me, didn't knew that but it does make sens. Small Kitty didn't receive any anti- pain nor antibiotic after dental,
his system might still have some workload he doesn't have anymore.

He's feeling good right now and rising, will keep an eye on him and will go with the reduction.

If you have a low ceiling (GL) in a room and you pitch a superball hard on the floor it will bounce hard.
With a ceiling higher, it will bounce smoother. Could be the recipe that need to be tried.
.
Get a test in before you go to bed tonight to make sure he is safe and then take the reduction in the AM .
 
A lot of kitties have some inflammation after a dental if they have extractions, which can impact the BG. The 10 day thing isn't a rule but it does seem to take around that amount of time.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top