12/31 Kay AMPS=335 PMPS=103 +1=96 +2=52 +3=53 +4=59 +5=53 +6=86 +7=181

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mel&Kay

Member Since 2014
12/30 Recap:
amps=349
+6=166
pmps=190
+2=126
+5=73
+6=70

Boi-oing-oing! Sigh, I didn't see that coming. I wasn't expecting her to drop low enough for Mr L. to notice. :confused: What's still causing the low numbers? Is it her depot draining combined with the fact that her bounce was clearing? Gah, I need more sleep.
 
You're concerned about the lower numbers? They are a good thing! Usually people are more concerned about the bounces! The low numbers are caused by the Lantus doing it's job. It's likely that what you're seeing is the bounce from the other evening clearing out and what you saw last night may be closer to where the insulin is bringing Kay's numbers. However, she's still bouncing so it may be premature to draw that conclusion.
 
Bounces an be caused by lower numbers than the cat is used to, even if those numbers are normal range or even higher. It hasn't been normal for the cat for a while and the liver is reacting. Bounces can also be caused by a fast drop and the liver "panics".

those numbers last night were lovely, you just need to get Kay used to being in that range.
 
You're welcome for the heads-up last night, Mel. You can see why I like test results to go in the subject line. At a glance I could see kay's drop and I wasn't sure if you realized the implications of it.

Looks like it turned into a perfect surf though! The more she does that, the sooner she'll accept green numbers as normal. Great job getting her up on her surfboard!!!
 
I assumed she was getting used to dips into the lagoon hence my confusion over why she bounced today, unless she dipped much lower after +6 last night. I thought she already cleared yesterday's AM bounce? Let me get this straight, two things can cause a bounce: dropping too low and dropping too fast, right? If she didn't dip lower than she's used to last night, what happened yesterday that caused Mr. Liver to panic today? o_O Can she bounce/clear/bounce from something that happened two night ago? I just want to make sense of it all! :)
 
Ahh, that's not cool! :p But if last night's cycle indicate her true numbers then I'll be a very happy sugarmama indeed. Fingers crossed. Thanks, gals.
 
Stalling for a bit... Kay, it's too soon for another PJ party sweetie!! :eek:

UPDATE: Stalled for 30 minutes. Here's to a safe and Happy New Years surf! :bighug:
 
Last edited:
I assumed she was getting used to dips into the lagoon hence my confusion over why she bounced today, unless she dipped much lower after +6 last night. I thought she already cleared yesterday's AM bounce? Let me get this straight, two things can cause a bounce: dropping too low and dropping too fast, right? If she didn't dip lower than she's used to last night, what happened yesterday that caused Mr. Liver to panic today? o_O Can she bounce/clear/bounce from something that happened two night ago? I just want to make sense of it all! :)
Sometimes Mr. L "thinks" he's got the normal numbers down but then decides maybe he doesn't after all. She's likely bouncing off the 70s last night. She might have gotten a little lower but she was pretty flat so I doubt it.

Great opportunity here for me to point out something. If I'm reading your SS corerctly, she was 120 at PMPS and because she was clearing a bounce and dropping, you stalled. But she kept dropping as I would expect her to do. Once you get a few low number cycles under your belt and shooting a few green/blue PSs, then you realize that if you stall too much, she could just keep dropping until you are not able to shoot because the number is too low. But if you shoot, and then you feed, then you have a better chance of stopping the drop.

So much to learn!! :)
 
+2=52

Fed her 1tsp of LC and will test again in 30m, does this sound ok?

Marje, I've barely got the basics down and now I have to learn advanced tactics? :p Yeesh! I knew this wasn't going to be easy, but just yeesh lol.

Great now my internet pooped out on me so I have to post from my phone. :rolleyes:
 
+2.33=47

1tsp of HC down the hatch! Does this earn her another reduction? So soon?

Julie, I'm trying to keep my cool as best I can, but yikes! :nailbiting:
 
+2.6=47

Another 1tsp of that HC goodness. Right, one step at a time. How long does it take for carbs to kick in?
 
20-30 min to see action, depending on how carb sensitive the cat is.

Are you giving just the gravy? Some people alternate with giving gravy and the meat. You can add a drop of honey to increase the carbs if you want.
 
She gets the the gravy and meat which she happily gobbles up. She could stand to gain some weight anyway. If she's still under 50 next test, I'll add karo to the next spoonful.
 
+3=53

1tsp HC, no karo just yet. So glad she isn't fazed by fireworks. She came along on a 4th of July family vacation as a kitten and since the hotel was beachside, the fireworks were absolutely deafening! She was running around the room for a bit, but finally realized the loud sounds were harmless. She doesn't even bat an eye now. :D
 
since she's over 50 I think you can hold off on any high carbs now. Just recheck in another 30 minutes to see if she's staying up over 50.
 
I had pumpkin at the vets one time with a dog that was barking up a storm. I was testing his blood sugar in the waiting room because he had low numbers. He never showed any response to that dog that was barking. His blood sugar stayed low just like it was before we got to the vets. Some cats aren't fazed by much.
 
Great! I already had my timer set for 30m. ;) I think I may be getting the hang of this, after the initial freak out of course. I just need to tell myself that I'm in control. You being here helps a ton, too, so thanks, Julie. :bighug:
 
At some point, not tonight, check and see what the carb content is of your high carb food. I started out using something like 16% and one of the experienced people suggested I get one over 25%. It makes a difference in how much you need. You can also add honey to whatever you have if you want.
 
Yay! Happy new year to you too!

Are you doing ok if I call it a night? You just keep it up. ..lather, rinse and repeat.

Do you have the low numbers post from the other night that says how long to keep at it?
 
It's 20% fancy feast gravy lovers. Normally she'll only eat pate style food--absolutely hates chunks--but she can't get enough of this stuff. Should I have added karo early on to get her BG up faster?
 
No, it was fine. I was just sharing.

Elise is still up with Max and Serryn just told me she's going to be back in a couple of hours, but you've got the hang of this!

Nighty night!
 
Thanks. ..Wendy, Sandy and I all agree that even though it's just been 4 cycles since your last reduction, you should probably go ahead and take the reduction with your am shot. Kitties can sometimes go quickly down the dosing scale.

So you would reduce the dose by 0.25u to a new dose of 0.25u. Smiles from me!
 
Congrats on the reduction. At this rate you are getting a crash course in FD. I'm up and will check back to make sure you are doing okay.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top