12/31 Ming PMPS=356, +2 = 266, +4 = 153 Should a dose be held longer than 10 cycles?

+2 = 434

Gross but at least I can continue sleeping off the jet lag lol

And I'll make it my goal today to do a ketone test!
 
PMPS = 356
+2 = 266

I'm wondering if Ming would benefit from doses held longer than 10 cycles? His 6.5 dose was held for 24 cycles :eek: That's a long time so probably somewhere between 10 and that! I'm purely just wondering with no real justifications as to why we should hold it longer than TR says to.

Of course, I understand he has had DKA so it's important. I also have all the vets I've seen voices in my head saying, "Hold a dose for at least a week so his body gets used to it." Is that idea accepted with TR?
 
I'm wondering if Ming would benefit from doses held longer than 10 cycles?

Probably not....we sometimes hold the dose longer IF it's getting them into good numbers, but Ming is still running too high and may benefit from more frequent dose increases. On TR, we'll increase as often as every 3 days if it's not getting them where we want them.

If you hold a dose that's not working too long, it just allows the body to get used to being in those higher numbers even though you're giving insulin....we call it glucose toxicity.
 
we call it glucose toxicity

Oh riiiight riiight, I had forgotten about that! Even after Ming totally had that in hospital a couple of months ago.

we sometimes hold the dose longer IF it's getting them into good numbers,

Got it! Thanks for the reminder and the distinction. I remember Wendy advising me to hold a few doses longer than 3 cycles and to wait for Ming to clear a bounce and I see that in those instances, Ming did have good numbers but would bounce for 3-5 cycles afterwards.
 
Depending on the nadir values, we may hold doses longer, but not typically longer than 10 cycles if you aren’t getting the numbers you want. As for clearing a bounce, we don’t wait to increase for a bounce to clear, but we do try to avoid increasing on the cycle they clear the bounce, as those cycles can have extra downward momentum.
 
Back
Top