12/7 Blackie AMPS 127 +8 45 + 8.5 113

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Sherry and Blackie, Dec 7, 2019.

  1. Sherry and Blackie

    Sherry and Blackie Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2019
    Hi All,
    I think Blackie's looking good today. Did he earn a reduction with the 45? Would I take that this evening. Hope all kitties are safe and happy today!
     
  2. Christie & Maverick

    Christie & Maverick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2017
    Good catch Sherry! Yes, with a number under 90 and following SLGS Blackie has earned a reduction (and actually since he is under 50, that's a reduction with TR too). Congrats on the reducie. You don't want him hanging out here under 50, time to feed a little MC. Up you go Blackie. As a side note, you might want to think about some earlier tests, today a +2 or +3 might have shown you what Blackie had in mind. He had come down all night after your preshot of 307 last night.

    Yes, reduce at tonight's shot, but let's see where he is at for preshot. On that note, can you please test again in 30 mins? We want to see he is up.
     
  3. Sherry and Blackie

    Sherry and Blackie Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2019
    Hi! Thanks ! I meant to get an earlier test but we had the grandkids over and we're running around all day until just now . Tomorrow is day of rest , so I hope to test more. Yeah he can down a lot from last night. I'm thinking he's cleared where I skipped that shot. I think he's come a long way .
     
    Briere Fur Mom likes this.
  4. Sienne and Gabby (GA)

    Sienne and Gabby (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    I'm tagging on to Christie's info, this is the link on how to manage low numbers.

    One consideration is that with your AMPS, you might have wanted to grab an early test (e.g., a +2 or +3) so you have a sense of where Blackie's numbers might have been heading.
     
  5. Sherry and Blackie

    Sherry and Blackie Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2019
    I'll retest here in about 10 minutes. He's appetite has been good too.
     
  6. Sherry and Blackie

    Sherry and Blackie Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2019
    So +2 or +3 will tell where they are headed? Can you explain that more. Like if he was lower or didn't go up much that would mean a low day??? I haven't grasped that concept yet.
     
  7. Sherry and Blackie

    Sherry and Blackie Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2019
    He came up good after his late lunch.
     
  8. Sienne and Gabby (GA)

    Sienne and Gabby (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    For most cats, Lantus onset begins at around +2 or +3. Usually there's a bit of a food spike that influences these early numbers. However, if the early test numbers are at or below your pre-shot number, there's a good chance that numbers are going to keep dropping. Getting those numbers can be a bit of an early warning system. It's not a failsafe but it can be a useful tool in trying to figure out how your kitty may be responding.
     
  9. Sue and Luci

    Sue and Luci Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2017
    Nice job on catching that low number! You did great :)

    Have a great day Sherry!
     
    Sherry and Blackie likes this.
  10. Briere Fur Mom

    Briere Fur Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2019
    Congrats on the reducie!
    I hope you have a great day Sherry!
     
    Sherry and Blackie likes this.
  11. Sandra And Buddy (GA)

    Sandra And Buddy (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2019
    Yay! good luck with the reducie! have a great day!
     
    Sherry and Blackie likes this.
  12. Judy and Boomer

    Judy and Boomer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2014
    Congratulations on the reducie!
     
    Sherry and Blackie likes this.
  13. Bellasmom

    Bellasmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    Nice numbers today's
     
  14. carfurby (GA)

    carfurby (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    Congrats on the reducie. I hope Blackie surfs safely tonight.
     
  15. Jill & Scooter

    Jill & Scooter Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2018
    Congrats on the reducie!
     

Share This Page