12/7 Sootie am110 pm135

Status
Not open for further replies.

HWright

Member Since 2016
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/12-6-sootie-am110-pm125.169215/

Good morning, yep it's still Wednesday. Prayers and hugs with Wendy, her family and always glorious now-spirit Neko.

Sootie's am 110. Skipped shot for reasons same of late. Appy pretty good this am and she was, bless her sweet self, at the top of the stairs in eager anticipation during my usual kurplumpity ascent up the stairs. When she is there, as in her feel-good times and routines, my heart sings. She even got up on the bed all gung ho for her remedies, ear poke and start on Breffis. Looked like she'd eaten some late night snack. And no signs of barfies.
And.....her breathing is almost normal this morning!!:bighug:
If I my creaky legs and back could still dance...(hmmm...is this a Ginger Rogers kind of day?!)

Azalea's trip to reg vet yesterday disconcerting (I wrote about it some when updating yesterday's condo this morning), not just bc his take on Azalea's eye, unlike OV last week, was back to not so good (yes, her eye looks different day to day and could be we need to resume original eye drop doses) but I'm really worn out by all these Bouncing around all over the place diagnoses. And above all else, not right or fair to kitties. It's all been like being on some kind of wild carnival ride that's gone mad (there's a horror b-movie visualization!) and just when ya think you're getting off the crazed rollercoaster and getting your bearings again, it speeds up and ya can't get off it. I'm sure this nightmare existence sounds all-too familiar to so many.

Also I got very upset...lost it ....yesterday when reg vet said in such a dire way, so sorry about Sootie's bad diagnoses. Grrr...(understatement). Gotta get past that...

Sootie now resting in winter south light sunbeams on her favorite bed. Hate to disturb her to do her morning fluids etc. but....

So, as the sayings go...we're trying to keep it simple and with "eyes on the prize" of Sootie contuining to feel better and a course of healing true to her. A few days seems like forever when you're waiting for biopsy results...crossing paws and knowing we're not alone in this and ever blessed and grateful for you all, this amazing LL family. ❤️❤️❤️❤️
 
I'm sorry the vet upset you. I hope he just meant well and wasn't thinking about how he sounded. I know it's not easy, but try to focus on the day at hand and the good memories you are making with them. We never know how long we have with our furbabies and there is always the chance they will heal. My civvie Callie (GA) was diagnosed with stomach cancer a couple of years ago. I was told there was nothing they could do and was given no hope. She lived almost two years with me treating her at home. I learned to take it one day at a time and not worry about what tomorrow will bring. There were still days that I cried, but it did help me to deal with things.

Sending prayers. :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I'm sorry the vet upset you. I hope he just meant well and wasn't thinking about how he sounded. I know it's not easy, but try to focus on the day at hand and the good memories you are making with them. We never know how long we have with our furbabies and there is always the chance they will heal. My civvie Callie (GA) was diagnosed with stomach cancer a couple of years ago. I was told there was nothing they could do and was given no hope. She lived almost two years with me treating her at home. I learned to take it one day at a time and not worry about what tomorrow will bring. There were still days that I cried, but it did help me to deal with things.

Sending prayers. :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
Thank you Carla you are magic. Yes absolutely and so true. Day by day moment by moment cherish each and every moment and memory, memories made and in the making.
Hugs and love and am interested in knowing more about your home care with your Callie (GA) if and whenever you feel comfortable about doing so. We don't know yet the biopsy results and I am keeping field open for any possibility, crossing paws and anti jinxing big time along the way.
 
Hugs and love and am interested in knowing more about your home care with your Callie (GA) if and whenever you feel comfortable about doing so.
Callie had a tumor in her stomach that sometimes caused an open wound on her belly. I would clean out the wound using a saline spray and then I found a wound cleaner (Symbiont Wound Cleaner I think. I'll double-check when I get home from work) that was a spray foam that I used after cleaning it. I cleaned it three times a day until it healed. It would periodically open back up and I had to keep cleaning it. A couple of times the vet had to give me an anitbiotic if I saw pus in the wound. I gave her pain medicine (Buprenorphine) 3 times a day, as close to 8 hours as I could get around my work schedule. I did not have access to any homeopathic treatments. I wish WV had homeopathic vets, but we don't seem to have any. I believe me keeping the wound clean and treating it helped her live so much longer. Most pet owner's would not go to that much trouble. The first time the wound opened up I took her to the vet and she thought I's bring her back in two weeks to be put to sleep. She was very surprised that I didn't and she was doing so well. When you love them, you find a way for as long as you can. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I can attest to the extraordinary care Carla gave to Callie, and how it extended her life. She gave us updates along the way, and we sent back vines and prayers.

I posted on yesterday's condo, not realizing you had started another. I'm so happy to read that Sootie is eating and keeping it down (anti-jinx).

Sorry about the vet's assessment of Azalea's eye. Let's hope the eye was just having a bad day and the OV's assessment is the correct one.

As I said in yesterday's condo, this is the perfect place to express your frustrations, with no fear of anyone taking offense. We've all had some kind of similar experience, and holding it in is not good for you. You certainly have plenty to vent about, so feel free to share it with us. A burden shared is a burden lightened. :bighug:
 
Callie had a tumor in her stomach that sometimes caused an open wound on her belly. I would clean out the wound using a saline spray and then I found a wound cleaner (Symbiont Wound Cleaner I think. I'll double-check when I get home from work) that was a spray foam that I used after cleaning it. I cleaned it three times a day until it healed. It would periodically open back up and I had to keep cleaning it. A couple of times the vet had to give me an anitbiotic if I saw pus in the wound. I gave her pain medicine (Buprenorphine) 3 times a day, as close to 8 hours as I could get around my work schedule. I did not have access to any homeopathic treatments. I wish WV had homeopathic vets, but we don't seem to have any. I believe me keeping the wound clean and treating it helped her live so much longer. Most pet owner's would not go to that much trouble. The first time the wound opened up I took her to the vet and she thought I's bring her back in two weeks to be put to sleep. She was very surprised that I didn't and she was doing so well. When you love them, you find a way for as long as you can. :bighug::bighug::bighug:

OH Carla, you are a saint among saints. So often when we find a way in the face of no other medical options, and that, whatever it is, is the magic for as long as it is meant to be. Like your Callie (GA), our Bo(GA) also demonstrated how much the simplest and gentlest of care with the full breadth of love made his life and ours with him, fulfilled. ❤️❤️❤️❤️

I can attest to the extraordinary care Carla gave to Callie, and how it extended her life. She gave us updates along the way, and we sent back vines and prayers.

I posted on yesterday's condo, not realizing you had started another. I'm so happy to read that Sootie is eating and keeping it down (anti-jinx).

Sorry about the vet's assessment of Azalea's eye. Let's hope the eye was just having a bad day and the OV's assessment is the correct one.

As I said in yesterday's condo, this is the perfect place to express your frustrations, with no fear of anyone taking offense. We've all had some kind of similar experience, and holding it in is not good for you. You certainly have plenty to vent about, so feel free to share it with us. A burden shared is a burden lightened. :bighug:
So much LOVE and TRUTH spoken between you all here. It is very healing, thank you everyone for letting me be a part of your journey with the kitties.

❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️ Absolutely and thank you! Yes, a burden shared is a burdened lightened. And am ever grateful for the understanding of everyone here. So easy to forget that we are not alone in the midst of all the 'jumbles' and worries. Bless you all and thank you❤️❤️❤️❤️

So much LOVE and TRUTH spoken between you all here. It is very healing, thank you everyone for letting me be a part of your journey with the kitties.
❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️ ❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️ Thank YOU, Barbara! ❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️
 
Good evening and thanks for your understanding and safe harbor, today being one for me venting.

Tonight was my turn for a silly human stupid trick ...never a good idea to shred Parmesan cheese without focusing on task at-hand (literally in this case!) and with one's thumb knuckle inadvertently against the hand held shredder while holding the cheese!
Not quite the "wash rinse repeat" cycle afterwards, but rinse,handy tube of animax nearby and a cute red band-aid (from an economical IKEA first aid kit I'd gotten some time ago) did the trick for the time being!

Sootie's pm Bg 135, her appy off and breathing not as good as was this morning. She did have fluids and a/b injection early afternoon, did eat a little supper, takes her cerenia tab voluntarily (with a couple of crumbled soft Orijen treats), and was even ok with the first dose of omeprazole...well, not quite at first...first I added some to her fud dish..no go...but when I syringed most of back up with some fud juice, she was ok with it being syringed. Might not be a full dose but it's a start...crossing paws no side effects.
DH just brought Sootie a little dish of fresh fud...Sootie likes eating with him and...

Remembering today Dec 7 the day that lives in infamy.

Wishing all a gentle night and especially those whose beloveds are now on the next journeys of the universe.

Love hugs and sweet dreams from us all here,
Sina

Ps photo of Sootie at breffis this morning amidst sunbeams.
 

Attachments

  • IMG_1032.JPG
    IMG_1032.JPG
    57.3 KB · Views: 71
Such a happy picture - Sootie eating! :) Her fur is so shiny - you'd never know she is ill. I hope the Omeprazole helps and doesn't cause any issues. Sending more appy vines for continued eating and hanging onto her fuds!

Remembering today Dec 7 the day that lives in infamy.
Indeed. A very sobering anniversary, and one that is not recognized enough for it's importance to us all. :(
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top