12/8 Myagi amps 144 - 0.5u shot, +2 98, +3.5 73, +4 72, +6 97, +8 198, +10 262, pmps 267, +2 333

Status
Not open for further replies.

Myagi (GA) and Heidi

Member Since 2017
Amps 144, 0.5 shot, ate well, good mood. I'll be staying home to run his curve. Keep 're reading everything in stickies and know thy cat and ecid definitely seems to apply here with Myagi (hence not holding the shot). So please keep an eye on us and hope mommy didn't screw up!
 
Good morning. I peeked at Myagi's spreadsheet and am happy to see that you've been getting some PM mid-cycle tests in.
Keep 're reading everything in stickies and know thy cat and ecid definitely seems to apply here with Myagi (hence not holding the shot)
Are you referring to the part in the SLGS sticky that says don't shoot if your cat is new to insulin and the pre-shot number is below 150?
 
Last edited:
I think you're good considering that 139 you shot on 12/03 (oops;)) , it's day 7 and you're staying home to do a curve.
You are doing the best thing for Myagi by taking the guidelines so seriously.
I'll be at work today but stopping by to see how the curve is going.
Glad you started the Zobaline :cat:
 
I think you're good considering that 139 you shot on 12/03 (oops;)) , it's day 7 and you're staying home to do a curve.
You are doing the best thing for Myagi by taking the guidelines so seriously.
I'll be at work today but stopping by to see how the curve is going.
Glad you started the Zobaline :cat:

Yeah. That was definitely an oops! Lol. Have a great day at work and thanks for watching out for us! Big hugs. So relieved to finally have the zobaline. Hope he sees the rapid improvements that seem to be prevalent! Does zobaline increase appetite? Cause he's voracious this am!
 
98 is not a number to freak about, but it's a +2 so it looks like you will have an active cycle and you need to keep a close watch. Do you have lots of test strips and some higher carb food?

Yes ma'am to all. Have the extra supplies and the hypo kit and will be watching and loving and testing him all day. My emoticons are not posting today for some reason so.... big hugs!
 
Okay, just saw the +2. If Myagi were my cat I would feed him a little wet food right now that is about 8-10% carbs. You will want to slow him down a bit because as Stacy said, this is very early in the cycle, the insulin isn't fully kicked in yet, so you gotta slow his roll.
 
Last edited:
Okay, just saw the +2. If Myagi were my cat I would feed him a little wet food right now that is about 8-10% carbs. You will want to slow him down a bit because as Stacy said, this is very early in the cycle, the insulin isn't fully kicked in yet, so you gotta slow his roll.

He's been eating low carb off and on all morning. So even though it's a greater quantity of food than normal should I still add some mid carb? Thanks!
 
I would just give him a tablespoon or so of mid to high carb food now to slow him down.
You DON'T want to over feed him with a lot of food right now because you may need to keep steering into the cycle with food to keep his numbers up today. We want to make sure he will have an appetite later on as well.
We want to take this early drop seriously as we don't know how easy it isto keep Myagi's numbers up with carbs is yet. AKA how carb sensitive he is.
 
I would just give him a tablespoon or so of mid to high carb food now to slow him down.
You DON'T want to over feed him with a lot of food right now because you may need to keep steering into the cycle with food to keep his numbers up today. We want to make sure he will have an appetite later on as well.
We want to take this early drop seriously as we don't know how easy it isto keep Myagi's numbers up with carbs is yet. AKA how carb sensitive he is.

Gave tbsp of 11 carb. Hugs
 
Probably a good idea to test again about a half an hour after Myagi ate the 11%. Would that be about 15 minutes from now?
Also, I keep forgetting to ask which meter you are using, I don't see it in your signature.
 
I love that it only needs the tiniest amount of blood. I don't like that out has no memory so you have to record number asap before it disappears. Early on i had a number couldn't remember if 287 or 278. Negligible of course but mattered to me. Lol
I have the same one, it does have a memory, check out the instructions how to access it. Off the top of my head, I think you hold down the orange arrow for a few seconds (without a strip interested).
 
If you get a chance, I found it extremely helpful to notate everything in the spreadsheet under "REMARKS" when I had to steer with food.
It was suggested to me in the beginning by others and I want to pass it on to you. It really helped me to be able go back and see what helped in the past so I could get the hang of it. You can check out Uncle's spreadsheet and see how I made notes on the days (mostly nights, FUN :blackeye:) that I had to steer.
 
Great! That 11% slowed him down without totally stopping him in his tracks. He sounds like such a sweetie :bighug::bighug::bighug:

This has turned him into the biggest love bug! Can't tell you how much I want to just eat him up! His whole life he hung with other kitties but didn't want anything touchy feely. Would make love eyes at you from across room if you talked to him or touch your heart and blow kiss. But don't invade his space. Now he's like wow mom so this is what Millie life is like! Hugs and kisses and cuddles and bed sleeping. I'm so happy for the change!
 
+4 72. Def slowing. Little more 11% but had to use the 8% evo to get him to come test - I think he's "over this" lol. Don't worry though I only gave him 5 little pieces. :)
 
Ok, so far so good.

Just a heads-up for tonight. Since Myagi has dipped below 90 already (even before his nadir and with higher carb food on board to keep him up), I believe the SLGS guidelines would recommend a .25 reduction. AND if he were my cat I would make sure his numbers are coming up on their own (not food influenced) before PMPS.

I DON'T GIVE DOSING ADVICE so please post for help as the afternoon wears on, so that you can feel confident about tonight's dose options.
 
Ok, so far so good.

Just a heads-up for tonight. Since Myagi has dipped below 90 already (even before his nadir and with higher carb food on board to keep him up), I believe the SLGS guidelines would recommend a .25 reduction. AND if he were my cat I would make sure his numbers are coming up on their own (not food influenced) before PMPS.

I DON'T GIVE DOSING ADVICE so please post for help as the afternoon wears on, so that you can feel confident about tonight's dose options.

Sounds good. @Chris & China will you be around later? Btw I am not panicking at all. Just dancing with my arm very tight around my partner's waist! But do want need and appreciate guidance! Xoxo
 
I agree, make sure he has no food 2 hours before PMPS (assuming you're not in a hypo situation, of course, then you need to be feeding him) and make sure he is on the rise, without food influence, before making your PM shot decision.

Definitely get some input from others who know/follow SLGS. Would not be a bad idea to ask now, that way you're not waiting for a response come shot time.
 
+8 198, ate little low carb. His poor ears! I can't wait to be done with curve!
If I'm honest, I don't really understand why +8 is that much higher. 11% and 6% small portions don't seem that extreme. And shouldn't nadir be around +6/+8. Not to be a total moron but I'm not sure what I'm supposed to intuit from his numbers today (except maybe to skip or stall the shot if he's under 150).
 
You are more than likely seeing a "bounce". Myagi has never been in such low numbers and his body simply isn't used to it yet. There are many people on the board who can give great explanations on what bouncing is and why it is etc.
Hopefully they'll chime in.

I know today you were going to do a curve to try to get a good idea of how the .5u dose of insulin is affecting Myagi. That is usually pretty uneventful. It turned into a day of testing and steering with food to keep him safe instead. Which is something to learn from as well.

It's good that you reached out to some folks about tonight's dose. I would give his little ears a break for awhile.
 
+10 262. Bouncy bouncy mommy's fault lesson learned.... can't rush things! I'm only being less hard on myself because he had such a great day. But I shouldn't have put his body through that. Hopefully he levels quickly.
 
Please don't be too hard on yourself, low numbers and bounces are part of the deal.

I have a couple of thoughts regarding today after looking at Myagi's spreadsheet again. His numbers MAY have still been falling (not rising) when you gave him insulin this morning. If you had stalled your AMPS (not fed and not shot) and retested in about a half an hour you may have been able to tell which way he was going, heading up or down. AND you probably would have wanted to wait and make sure he was headed up, especially because his AM test was under 150.

Also, perfect example of what a +2 can reveal about the coming cycle. It was very clear at that point Myagi's cycle was going to be ACTIVE and something to pay attention to ;)
 
Woo hoo!! Look at all those pretty green numbers!!:D:D:D

Just think, for at least 5 wonderful hours today, Myagi's pancreas was resting and healing!!

Do it again, Myagi!! (maybe not tonight...I'm sure the bean could use a little relaxation time after today!)

@Barbara & Uncle. Too right @Chris & China !! Those pretty numbers are the end game if at all possible but yeah I don't to put either him or me through more inn this particular time window. Lol. But soon is good for exactly what you said! Going to test in a couple minutes for pmps. Bummer just missed oppty to ketone test. Have never done yet. Should i be? How long before I try to a real curve again? Happy dancing because you didn't chew me a new one! Lol. But if there are some lessons you want to reinforce please don't hesitate. I can take it! Cause anything for my baby!
 
Pmps 267. Eating well. Shooting 0.5.

That's actually better than I thought it'd be!!

The +2 will tell us a lot about what might happen later in this cycle though, but it's nice that he hasn't bounced any higher (yet anyway)

I agree with Barbara though...you might want to stall the next time you get a Preshot under 150....don't feed and test again in 20-30 minutes.

We suggest that for everyone who doesn't have a lot of data on how their cats respond to both insulin and food, so it's just for safety. As you learn more about Myagi, you'll start to shoot lower and lower Pre-shots. I'll shoot China if she's 50 or above, but it took a long time for me to gradually work down to where I felt I knew her well enough to shoot those lower numbers.

All in all, you've had a good day! Here's hoping for a quiet night too!!
 
That's actually better than I thought it'd be!!

The +2 will tell us a lot about what might happen later in this cycle though, but it's nice that he hasn't bounced any higher (yet)

All in all, you've had a good day! Here's hoping for a quiet night too!!

Thank you! He's napping but after dinner he was bright eyed playful and smiley. He warms my heart! I promise to stall if happens again! If +2 is good I think we'll both rest well!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top