12/9 Rosie AMPS 311 +5 170

Status
Not open for further replies.

Carol in Chicago

Member Since 2017
Argh. Day started off pink. Got Rosie's BW back. Not sure what to think. Still infection, still kidney issues, and now some strange WBC numbers. Hope it is OK to tag @Marje and Gracie for some additional guidance. Theory had been a kidney infection. C&S failed to grow. Rosie has completed 6 weeks on AB (amoxicillin). Need a different AB? I'm afraid of what the spike in basophils means. That seems to have suddenly come from left field.

In terms of other health issues, Rose has struggled with constipation. She takes Cisipride and Ranitidine and gets Miralax with every meal / snack. She gets extra water added to her food and 200ml SQ daily. She has gained 1 lb in the last month and seems to be feeling better so I'm discouraged by the BW results.
 
Yes, it is absolutely fine to tag me and I’m glad you did.

Still a huge red flag is that phosphorus number and her calcium. She is really, really at risk of tissue calcification and that high of a P should be making her feel bad. The P x Ca should be below 70. She is also at risk for secondary parahyperthyroidism which is different than hyperthyroidism.

It is really rare to see basophils elevated. If basophils and eosinophils are elevated, it’s likely an allergic response. Here is what Dr. Ron Hines (he has a great website which interprets labs) says about elevated basophils:

The basophil is one of your dog or cat ’s white blood cells. It is a very uncommon cell in most pets - often none are seen. An over abundance of basophils (basophilia) is quite rare. When your pet's basophil numbers are above normal, it is often in conjunction with an increased number of eosinophils, another of your pet’s white blood cells that is associated with allergies. Like their cousins ,the mast cells that are found scattered throughout your pet's body tissue, basophils contain histamine, a compound intimately involved in allergic reactions.

In the rare cases where too many basophils are present, and your pet's eosinophil count is normal, bone marrow problems involving the cells that give rise to basophils (hematopoietic stem cells) are sometimes involved. Those problems can be cancerous.

When increased basophil numbers are found in association with higher than normal eosinophils, internal parasites, fleas and allergies can be the cause. Basophil numbers occasionally go up in liver disease , as well as due to the things that cause persistently high triglyceride levels in pets.

Here is his analysis of high neutrophils:
High levels of neutrophils occur in many infections. But other forms of inflammation, such as wounds and surgery can elevate their numbers as well.

Sudden stress that stimulates your pet’s adrenal glands to liberate corticosteroid and epinephrine also raise neutrophil numbers (stress leukogram).

Autoimmune and allergic reactions can liberate chemicals (inflammatory cytokines) that cause high neutrophil numbers as well.

Corticosteroid medication (eg prednisone) can also elevate neutrophil numbers.

On rare occasion, a pet's continuing high neutrophil numbers are due to a tumor of the stem cells that produce them in the bone marrow (myelogenous leukemia).

The common thread in those two is an issue with the bone marrow and she has had an issue of continuing high neutrophils. I’m not a vet and so I can’t tell you what’s going on but it’s worthy of a discussion with your vet. I’d take her the above info and see what she has to say about it.

BTW, it is very common that kidney infections will not grow anything on a C&S. In fact, my CKD kitty, Gus (now GA), had two kidney infections and his cultures were clean as a whistle. Amoxicillin is not enough of an AB to address kidney infections if that is potentially what is going on. Her creatinine took a pretty good jump from Oct to now.

While you are talking to your vet about the basophils and the neutrophils, you absolutely must get the P down. It is directly correlated with longevity and a P of 9 is just way, way too high. Her P level should be more along the lines of 4-4.5. Are you using a phosphorus binder?
 
Thank you @Marje and Gracie for such detailed analysis!

I have aluminum hydroxide for p binder but vet d/n want me to use it bc it can cause constipation. Perhaps a more conservative dose would be good ?

Vey thinks inflammtion (IBD?) is the cause for high WBC. Am I correct that US is the way to DX kidney infection?

I panickd re: basophil / cancer, but vet d/ n think it was significant.
 
Thank you @Marje and Gracie for such detailed analysis!

I have aluminum hydroxide for p binder but vet d/n want me to use it bc it can cause constipation. Perhaps a more conservative dose would be good ?

Vey thinks inflammtion (IBD?) is the cause for high WBC. Am I correct that US is the way to DX kidney infection?

I panickd re: basophil / cancer, but vet d/ n think it was significant.
Aluminum hydroxide can cause constipation, yes. But you must get the P down and you can give her Miralax for the constipation. You actually have to be pretty aggressive with the P binder to get those numbers down. A middle of the road dose would be 40 mg/lb.

I’ve looked at a lot of cats with IBD, including my own who also had lymphoma, and the WBC was not elevated. Yes, ultrasound is the best way to dx a kidney infection. Because neither I nor the vet have any way of knowing definitively if she has a kidney infection, you could spend the money for an US and find she doesn’t have one but I’m just suggesting possibilities for you to mull over and decide. One tsp of aluminum hydroxide powder is approximately 600 mg.

You’re welcome!
 
Many thanks @Marje and Gracie. Your encyclopedic knowledge is a gift for all of us. Thank you for continuing to share it. I have re-introduced aluminum hydroxide as of dinner today.

She is already getting Miralax, Laculose, Cisipride and Ranitidine for constipation. I also do enemas at home as needed so if more are needed - at least I can do them. ;)

I'll update with next BW in a couple of weeks. Thank You!!!! :bighug:
 
Many thanks @Marje and Gracie. Your encyclopedic knowledge is a gift for all of us. Thank you for continuing to share it. I have re-introduced aluminum hydroxide as of dinner today.

She is already getting Miralax, Laculose, Cisipride and Ranitidine for constipation. I also do enemas at home as needed so if more are needed - at least I can do them. ;)

I'll update with next BW in a couple of weeks. Thank You!!!! :bighug:
You’re very welcome. I’m happy to help where I can :)

On the constipation and aluminum hydroxide, it’s ECID. My Gussie got the binder for four years as well as buprenorphine (also causes constipation) and he was never constipated. I’d just continue to stay on top of her constipation and if you need to increase the Miralax dose, so be it.

You might want to read this excellent discussion on Tanya’s CKD site regarding constipation. It is important because it discusses how lactulose can increase the calcium level and Rosie’s needs to come down as well....it’s a little too high. There is also a discussion regarding interactions between Miralax and cisapride. If you haven’t seen the site on Feline Constipation, it has a lot of excellent info as well. However, I like the way Helen has dealt with it on Tanya’s as it addresses constipation in light of CKD.

Just send me a PM when you get the labs. Sometimes I’m on every day and get my tags but with the holidays, I might miss a few days but I always get notification of my PMs. Then I can pop on the condo.

:bighug::bighug:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top