12 JUN AMPS 392

4catsinashoe

Member Since 2020
392 seems to be holding steady in line with the rest of his numbers :( We'll call it flat...

I know this is a marathon and not a sprint, but its a downer every time i don't see a number in the 200's.

I'm really hoping the vet will be able to hear me out on potential low grade infection issue on Monday; though i recently added Rx Essentials Multivitamins, to his food each day, and i have seen an improvement in his appetite and alertness.

I also decided to take Saturday off of work, so i could do a 12 hour glucose curve on him, to see whats going on throughout the day.
 
Meepers is precious. I just looked at your spreadsheet, and yes those numbers aren't going down at preshot time, BUT are you giving 4 units once a day?
I believe you are giving twice daily (looked at previous thread). Your SS looks like just once daily! It's possible Meepers is going much lower a few hours after his shot, then going up high again . . .

Lantus will usually peak in a cat around 4-5-6 hours after injecting (the nadir) and THAT is the most important blood glucose reading you need in determining the correct dose. So, I'm happy you decided to take a day off to get a curve! Getting any infection taken care of should help your kitty too. Best of luck with that visit -

Here is your previous post for continuity:

Previous post on Meepers

Oh, and you can add Meepers name in your post - date, name, AMPS

Welcome!
 
Thank you :) he's loves his little bow tie, the only one in my bunch that will keep it on lol
i see what you mean about the spreadsheet; i made an update, hope that looks better; he does get 4 units, twice a day.
i'm guessing on the infection, because his ears are very hot, and he's normally a cold ear cat, and he had an episode of sacculitus that is till not completely healed; i havnt even gotten to meet this new vet, with the pandemic, we're still doing the wait in parking lot thing. i liked the old vet, but he was getting so expensive and he was an hour away, in emergencies, it was just to far i thought; plus, the money thing, i hate to break things down into cost... :( I took my old 18 yr old in and he wanted almost 200 for blood work, this new vet only charged me 40, thats a big difference and seems super odd.
 
Money and driving distance really do need consideration! My initial vet charged me $220 for bloodwork without urinalysis; a different vet at the SAME location, charges me $180 for the complete IDEXX bloodpanel and urinalysis, and she also charges less for dentals! Forty is amazing, especially if you are getting all the same tests included.

The parking lot waiting experience sure has it's downfalls. On the bright side, if there is an ongoing ear infection, and it gets cured, the insulin dose could go down.

That bow tie sure is a keeper - just love it - what a good Meepers for modeling so handsomely!
 
Back
Top